Header cover image

Norwegian (OSEAX) Banks Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 27, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies39
  • 7D-0.3%
  • 3M2.7%
  • 1Y-0.3%
  • YTD-1.6%

In the last week, Banks has been flat. In line with that, the industry has also been flat over the past 12 months. Looking forward, earnings are expected to remain mostly flat in the next few years.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Norwegian Banks Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 27 Feb 2024kr456.2bkr133.9bkr55.2b8.7x8.3x3.4x
Thu, 25 Jan 2024kr469.2bkr130.3bkr53.9b9.2x8.7x3.6x
Sat, 23 Dec 2023kr461.4bkr130.3bkr53.9b9.1x8.6x3.5x
Mon, 20 Nov 2023kr443.7bkr130.2bkr53.9b8.7x8.2x3.4x
Wed, 18 Oct 2023kr473.8bkr124.2bkr50.8b9.5x9.3x3.8x
Fri, 15 Sep 2023kr471.1bkr124.1bkr50.8b9.3x9.3x3.8x
Sun, 13 Aug 2023kr464.5bkr122.4bkr50.9b9.7x9.1x3.8x
Tue, 11 Jul 2023kr438.1bkr118.6bkr48.3b9.8x9.1x3.7x
Thu, 08 Jun 2023kr430.1bkr118.5bkr48.3b9.9x8.9x3.6x
Sat, 06 May 2023kr416.4bkr116.6bkr47.5b10.7x8.8x3.6x
Mon, 03 Apr 2023kr417.0bkr111.5bkr44.8b10x9.3x3.7x
Wed, 01 Mar 2023kr458.2bkr110.8bkr45.2b10.1x10.1x4.1x
Fri, 27 Jan 2023kr413.1bkr106.7bkr40.0b10.9x10.3x3.9x
Sun, 25 Dec 2022kr425.7bkr106.7bkr40.0b10.8x10.7x4x
Tue, 22 Nov 2022kr404.4bkr106.6bkr40.2b9.7x10.1x3.8x
Thu, 20 Oct 2022kr407.2bkr104.1bkr38.8b10.2x10.5x3.9x
Sat, 17 Sep 2022kr402.5bkr104.1bkr38.9b10.5x10.4x3.9x
Mon, 15 Aug 2022kr432.9bkr103.6bkr40.2b11.7x10.8x4.2x
Wed, 13 Jul 2022kr411.7bkr101.7bkr37.7b11.1x10.9x4x
Fri, 10 Jun 2022kr419.1bkr99.4bkr36.2b11.3x11.6x4.2x
Sun, 08 May 2022kr421.6bkr100.8bkr36.9b11.4x11.4x4.2x
Tue, 05 Apr 2022kr455.2bkr100.6bkr36.7b12.7x12.4x4.5x
Thu, 03 Mar 2022kr464.7bkr103.4bkr38.4b12x12.1x4.5x
Sat, 29 Jan 2022kr504.4bkr99.8bkr37.3b12.4x13.5x5.1x
Mon, 27 Dec 2021kr163.3bkr45.5bkr13.9b11.8x11.7x3.6x
Wed, 24 Nov 2021kr492.1bkr96.6bkr36.2b12x13.6x5.1x
Fri, 22 Oct 2021kr494.7bkr93.1bkr34.5b11.6x14.3x5.3x
Sun, 19 Sep 2021kr436.7bkr93.1bkr34.5b11.2x12.7x4.7x
Tue, 17 Aug 2021kr442.0bkr93.0bkr34.5b11.1x12.8x4.8x
Tue, 01 Jun 2021kr140.1bkr42.9bkr12.9b10.4x10.8x3.3x
Fri, 05 Mar 2021kr120.7bkr40.1bkr11.4b11x10.6x3x
Price to Earnings Ratio

10.6x


Total Market Cap: kr120.7bTotal Earnings: kr11.4bTotal Revenue: kr40.1bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Norwegian Banks Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 10.5x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Norwegian Banks industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 8.3x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 10.5x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 3.9x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 3.4x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Banks industry have grown 69% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 49% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Norwegian Financials industry?

NO Market-0.64%
Financials-0.25%
Banks-0.31%
Diversified Banks-0.022%
Regional Banks-1.32%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Regional Banks industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 10.5x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 9.7%, which is lower than the prior year's growth of 30.6% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Diversified Banks industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 10.5x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Regional Banks industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 9.7% over the next 5 years.
  • However this is lower than its past earnings growth rate of 31% per year.
  • In contrast, the Diversified Banks industry is expected to see its earnings decline by 2.2% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
DNB DNB Bankkr207.000.1%
+kr143.0m
-0.9%PB1.2x
SOAG SpareBank 1 Østfold Akershuskr330.002.5%
+kr99.1m
0.6%PB0.9x
APRILA Aprila Bankkr7.256.6%
+kr29.7m
11.5%PB2.2x
HELG SpareBank 1 Helgelandkr136.000.7%
+kr27.0m
2.3%PB0.7x
NONG SpareBank 1 Nord-Norgekr101.400.2%
+kr20.1m
-0.4%PB0.6x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

SOAG

kr330.00

SpareBank 1 Østfold Akershus

7D

2.5%

1Y

0.6%

SRBNK

kr126.50

SpareBank 1 SR-Bank

7D

-2.5%

1Y

-2.2%

SADG

kr99.00

Sandnes Sparebank

7D

0.8%

1Y

2.3%

LEA

kr7.50

Lea Bank

7D

-4.8%

1Y

-26.1%

MOBA

kr4.05

Morrow Bank

7D

1.3%

1Y

-28.9%

HELG

kr136.00

SpareBank 1 Helgeland

7D

0.7%

1Y

2.3%

SPOL

kr123.60

SpareBank 1 Østlandet

7D

-0.5%

1Y

-1.1%

MING

kr140.40

SpareBank 1 SMN

7D

-2.4%

1Y

2.3%

INSTA

kr1.78

Instabank

7D

2.6%

1Y

-1.1%

SOON

kr63.00

SpareBank 1 Sørøst-Norge

7D

-1.9%

1Y

12.9%

SOR

kr143.00

Sparebanken Sør

7D

-1.0%

1Y

6.7%

DNB

kr207.00

DNB Bank

7D

0.1%

1Y

-0.9%

APRILA

kr7.25

Aprila Bank

7D

6.6%

1Y

11.5%

PARB

kr54.80

Pareto Bank

7D

-1.4%

1Y

-6.5%