Header cover image

Norwegian (OSEAX) Renewable Energy Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 22, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies7
  • 7D-4.8%
  • 3M-8.2%
  • 1Y-9.2%
  • YTD-16.5%

Over the last 7 days, the Renewable Energy industry has dropped 4.8%, driven by a pullback from Scatec of 5.6%. However, the industry is down 9.2% over the past year. As for the next few years, earnings are forecast to decline by 7.1% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Norwegian Renewable Energy Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 23 Apr 2024kr13.8bkr4.0bkr683.0m13.2x20.2x3.5x
Thu, 21 Mar 2024kr14.5bkr3.9bkr721.8m13.8x20.1x3.7x
Sat, 17 Feb 2024kr14.8bkr4.2bkr729.4m14.1x20.3x3.5x
Mon, 15 Jan 2024kr15.7bkr4.0bkr95.1m7x165.4x3.9x
Wed, 13 Dec 2023kr15.2bkr4.0bkr88.2m6.3x172.6x3.8x
Fri, 10 Nov 2023kr13.7bkr4.0bkr89.1m6.7x153.9x3.4x
Sun, 08 Oct 2023kr11.9bkr3.7bkr399.7m122.7x29.8x3.2x
Tue, 05 Sep 2023kr14.6bkr3.7bkr401.6m160.5x36.5x3.9x
Thu, 03 Aug 2023kr17.3bkr3.6b-kr276,855,920.0014.4x-62.5x4.9x
Sat, 01 Jul 2023kr15.6bkr3.5b-kr263,735,759.0015.8x-59.1x4.5x
Mon, 29 May 2023kr15.9bkr3.5b-kr273,654,892.0015.8x-58.3x4.6x
Wed, 26 Apr 2023kr14.5bkr3.3b-kr1,372,630,333.0025.4x-10.6x4.4x
Fri, 24 Mar 2023kr14.4bkr3.7b-kr1,435,008,565.0026x-10x3.9x
Sun, 19 Feb 2023kr16.2bkr3.7b-kr1,433,872,621.0028.1x-11.3x4.4x
Tue, 17 Jan 2023kr18.8bkr3.6b-kr985,194,332.0058.1x-19.1x5.2x
Thu, 15 Dec 2022kr19.6bkr3.6b-kr980,756,779.0066x-20x5.4x
Sat, 12 Nov 2022kr19.6bkr3.6b-kr964,358,957.0066.9x-20.3x5.5x
Mon, 10 Oct 2022kr16.8bkr3.6b-kr1,148,249,452.00n/a-14.6x4.7x
Wed, 07 Sep 2022kr21.8bkr3.5b-kr1,140,527,675.00n/a-19.1x6.1x
Fri, 05 Aug 2022kr24.0bkr3.4b-kr1,111,733,566.0016.1x-21.6x7x
Sun, 03 Jul 2022kr19.3bkr3.5b-kr922,964,031.0014.9x-21x5.6x
Tue, 31 May 2022kr20.9bkr3.4b-kr896,868,275.0018.2x-23.3x6.1x
Thu, 28 Apr 2022kr24.2bkr3.3bkr319.8m27.5x75.7x7.3x
Sat, 26 Mar 2022kr41.7bkr3.3bkr319.8m30x130.4x12.6x
Mon, 21 Feb 2022kr33.9bkr3.3bkr355.4m28.4x95.3x10.2x
Wed, 19 Jan 2022kr41.7bkr3.1b-kr331,816,780.006.7x-125.7x13.4x
Fri, 17 Dec 2021kr47.8bkr3.1b-kr309,911,639.006.7x-154.3x15.4x
Sun, 14 Nov 2021kr54.5bkr3.0b-kr397,095,180.0037.3x-137.3x18.1x
Tue, 12 Oct 2021kr44.8bkr2.9b-kr624,618,135.0032.7x-71.7x15.3x
Thu, 09 Sep 2021kr51.1bkr2.9b-kr578,818,153.3536.7x-88.4x17.8x
Sat, 07 Aug 2021kr49.5bkr2.9b-kr578,818,153.3536.5x-85.5x17.2x
Fri, 30 Apr 2021kr57.3bkr2.9b-kr781,686,358.92n/a-73.3x20x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-73.3x


Total Market Cap: kr57.3bTotal Earnings: -kr781,686,358.92Total Revenue: kr2.9bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Norwegian Renewable Energy Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average -2.4x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Norwegian Renewable Energy industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 20.2x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of -2.4x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 8.4x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 3.5x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Renewable Energy industry have gone up over the last three years, and the industry is now profitable. Revenues have grown 12% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by the industry overall, and subsequently profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Norwegian Utilities industry?

NO Market-1.67%
Utilities-3.76%
Renewable Energy-4.83%
Independent Power Producers and Energy Traders0%
Renewable Energy-4.83%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Renewable Energy industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings decline of 7.1%, which is lower than the prior year's growth of 130.5% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Renewable Energy industry, although it looks like investor sentiment has improved given that it's trading above its 3-year average.
Forecasted Growth
  • Despite it being negative, analysts are least pessimistic on the Renewable Energy industry since they expect its earnings to decline by only 7.1% per year over the next 5 years, which isn't as bad as the other industries.
  • This is a reversal from its past annual earnings growth rate of 131% per year.
  • In contrast, the Renewable Energy industry is expected to see its earnings decline by 7.1% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
CLOUD Cloudberry Clean Energykr8.900.7%
+kr17.3m
-13.8%PE9.4x
ENERG Energeiakr1.160.9%
+kr1.2m
-38.9%PS2x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

SCATC

kr67.30

Scatec

7D

-5.6%

1Y

-3.3%

CLOUD

kr8.90

Cloudberry Clean Energy

7D

0.7%

1Y

-13.8%

ALT

kr5.50

Alternus Energy Group

7D

-10.6%

1Y

10.4%

MPCES

kr11.55

MPC Energy Solutions

7D

-1.3%

1Y

-9.8%

ENERG

kr1.16

Energeia

7D

0.9%

1Y

-38.9%

NSOL

kr0.32

Norsk Renewables

7D

-0.6%

1Y

-88.5%

EAM

kr12.50

EAM Solar

7D

-4.9%

1Y

155.1%