Header cover image

Singaporean (SGX) Metals and Mining Industry Analysis

UpdatedMar 02, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies8
  • 7D-3.2%
  • 3M-14.5%
  • 1Y-25.2%
  • YTD-12.2%

Over the last 7 days, the Metals and Mining industry has dropped 3.6%, driven by a pullback from Straits Trading of 6.9%. The industry has fallen 26% in the last year. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 32% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Singaporean Metals and Mining Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 02 Mar 2024S$1.3bS$838.6m-S$25,151,975.7213x-52.1x1.6x
Mon, 29 Jan 2024S$1.6bS$919.4m-S$99,728,936.0013.5x-16.3x1.8x
Wed, 27 Dec 2023S$1.7bS$918.0m-S$96,604,524.0013.5x-17.2x1.8x
Fri, 24 Nov 2023S$1.7bS$919.6m-S$96,447,142.0013.5x-17.9x1.9x
Sun, 22 Oct 2023S$1.7bS$921.0m-S$97,798,144.0013.5x-17.4x1.8x
Tue, 19 Sep 2023S$1.8bS$923.0m-S$98,941,810.0013.5x-18x1.9x
Thu, 17 Aug 2023S$1.8bS$1.6b-S$99,010,607.0013.5x-18x1.1x
Sat, 15 Jul 2023S$1.8bS$1.6bS$558.8m11.8x3.3x1.1x
Mon, 12 Jun 2023S$1.9bS$1.6bS$556.5m12.3x3.5x1.2x
Wed, 10 May 2023S$2.0bS$1.6bS$552.5m12.1x3.6x1.2x
Fri, 07 Apr 2023S$2.1bS$1.6bS$552.6m13x3.9x1.3x
Sun, 05 Mar 2023S$1.9bS$1.6bS$561.1m13.5x3.4x1.2x
Tue, 31 Jan 2023S$2.0bS$1.0bS$811.8m18.1x2.5x2x
Thu, 29 Dec 2022S$2.1bS$1.0bS$810.3m20.1x2.5x2x
Sat, 26 Nov 2022S$1.9bS$1.0bS$812.5m17.4x2.3x1.9x
Mon, 24 Oct 2022S$1.8bS$1.0bS$822.4m13x2.2x1.8x
Wed, 21 Sep 2022S$2.3bS$1.1bS$851.6m11.4x2.8x2.2x
Fri, 19 Aug 2022S$2.4bS$1.1bS$828.6m11.6x2.9x2.3x
Sun, 17 Jul 2022S$2.3bS$975.3mS$289.9m12.5x7.8x2.3x
Tue, 14 Jun 2022S$2.4bS$978.2mS$294.0m12.9x8.2x2.5x
Thu, 12 May 2022S$2.5bS$983.6mS$296.6m13.2x8.4x2.5x
Sat, 09 Apr 2022S$2.7bS$998.5mS$303.2m11.2x8.8x2.7x
Mon, 07 Mar 2022S$2.6bS$1.0bS$313.1m11.4x8.4x2.5x
Wed, 02 Feb 2022S$2.5bS$879.8mS$230.5m8.2x11x2.9x
Fri, 31 Dec 2021S$2.5bS$879.0mS$232.5m7.6x10.8x2.9x
Sun, 28 Nov 2021S$2.5bS$880.7mS$232.8m7.7x10.9x2.9x
Tue, 26 Oct 2021S$2.8bS$877.9mS$245.5m8.7x11.3x3.2x
Thu, 23 Sep 2021S$2.6bS$842.6mS$226.2m11.2x11.7x3.1x
Sat, 21 Aug 2021S$2.8bS$865.8mS$184.6m10.5x15.4x3.3x
Sat, 05 Jun 2021S$3.0bS$791.2mS$102.4m17x29.2x3.8x
Tue, 09 Mar 2021S$2.2bS$711.9mS$35.6m22x61.5x3.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

61.5x


Total Market Cap: S$2.2bTotal Earnings: S$35.6mTotal Revenue: S$711.9mTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Singaporean Metals and Mining Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 4.3x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Singaporean Metals and Mining industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 2.3x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.6x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Metals and Mining industry have declined over the last three years, with the industry now making a loss overall.
  • Meanwhile revenues have grown 5.6% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Singaporean Materials industry?

SG Market-1.62%
Materials-1.05%
Metals and Mining-3.19%
Aluminum25.00%
Steel0.93%
Copper0%
Precious Metals and Minerals0%
Silver0%
Gold-1.83%
Diversified Metals and Mining-6.59%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Steel industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 17.4x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 31.6%, which is higher than its past year's earnings decline of 15.9% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Steel industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 32% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 16% per year.
  • In contrast, the Steel industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 32% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
OAJ Fortress MineralsS$0.283.7%
+S$5.2m
-25.3%PE11.4x
AWG Ascent BridgeS$0.2525.0%
+S$4.4m
-55.4%PS4.5x
A52 AnnAikS$0.0678.1%
+S$1.4m
-15.2%PE6.1x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

A52

S$0.067

AnnAik

7D

8.1%

1Y

-15.2%

S20

S$1.49

Straits Trading

7D

-6.9%

1Y

-33.5%

5TP

S$0.20

CNMC Goldmine Holdings

7D

-2.9%

1Y

10.6%

AWG

S$0.25

Ascent Bridge

7D

25.0%

1Y

-55.4%

OAJ

S$0.28

Fortress Minerals

7D

3.7%

1Y

-25.3%

QNS

S$0.60

Southern Alliance Mining

7D

-0.8%

1Y

-1.6%