Header cover image

Singaporean (SGX) Hospitality Industry Analysis

UpdatedJul 25, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies32
  • 7D-1.7%
  • 3M-4.6%
  • 1Y-5.7%
  • YTD-8.8%

Over the last 7 days, the Hospitality industry has remained flat. Unfortunately though, the industry is down 5.4% over the past 12 months. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 8.7% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Singaporean Hospitality Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Thu, 25 Jul 2024S$18.6bS$6.2bS$958.9m24.5x19.3x3x
Sat, 22 Jun 2024S$19.1bS$6.2bS$958.9m25x19.9x3.1x
Mon, 20 May 2024S$19.3bS$6.2bS$1.1b17.8x17x3.1x
Wed, 17 Apr 2024S$19.1bS$6.2bS$1.1b16.2x16.8x3.1x
Fri, 15 Mar 2024S$18.9bS$6.2bS$1.1b16x16.7x3.1x
Sun, 11 Feb 2024S$20.3bS$5.7bS$775.8m18.5x26.2x3.5x
Tue, 09 Jan 2024S$20.3bS$5.7bS$763.5m19.7x26.6x3.5x
Thu, 07 Dec 2023S$19.3bS$5.7bS$763.5m19.9x25.2x3.4x
Sat, 04 Nov 2023S$18.7bS$5.7bS$740.6m19.3x25.2x3.3x
Mon, 02 Oct 2023S$18.6bS$5.7bS$740.7m18.9x25x3.3x
Wed, 30 Aug 2023S$19.3bS$5.7bS$739.4m19.6x26.1x3.4x
Fri, 28 Jul 2023S$19.8bS$5.0bS$570.8m19.1x34.7x4x
Sun, 25 Jun 2023S$19.8bS$5.0bS$570.7m17x34.7x4x
Tue, 23 May 2023S$20.8bS$4.9bS$394.1m15.3x52.7x4.2x
Thu, 20 Apr 2023S$22.2bS$4.9bS$381.6m18.8x58.1x4.6x
Sat, 18 Mar 2023S$21.3bS$4.9bS$383.4m20.3x55.5x4.4x
Mon, 13 Feb 2023S$20.6bS$4.0bS$187.7m14.3x109.9x5.2x
Wed, 11 Jan 2023S$20.3bS$3.9bS$180.1m14.7x112.8x5.1x
Fri, 09 Dec 2022S$18.8bS$3.9bS$168.0m15.7x112.1x4.8x
Sun, 06 Nov 2022S$17.6bS$3.8bS$211.1m22.9x83.5x4.6x
Tue, 04 Oct 2022S$17.8bS$3.8bS$233.5m22.7x76.2x4.7x
Thu, 01 Sep 2022S$18.1bS$3.8bS$235.2m20.6x76.8x4.7x
Sat, 30 Jul 2022S$18.3bS$3.5bS$180.7m23.7x101.1x5.2x
Mon, 27 Jun 2022S$17.2bS$3.4bS$44.1m22.6x390.5x5.1x
Wed, 25 May 2022S$18.1bS$3.4bS$37.2m25.9x486.1x5.4x
Fri, 22 Apr 2022S$19.2bS$3.6bS$46.1m26.6x417.6x5.4x
Sun, 20 Mar 2022S$18.3bS$3.6bS$40.1m25.7x457x5.1x
Tue, 15 Feb 2022S$18.4bS$3.4b-S$310,962,960.0019.9x-59.2x5.5x
Thu, 13 Jan 2022S$18.5bS$3.3b-S$302,539,609.0018.5x-61x5.5x
Sat, 11 Dec 2021S$18.8bS$3.3b-S$301,091,525.0017.8x-62.3x5.6x
Mon, 08 Nov 2021S$18.9bS$3.3b-S$319,840,592.0020.4x-59.2x5.8x
Wed, 06 Oct 2021S$17.8bS$3.3b-S$323,085,530.0019.9x-54.9x5.3x
Fri, 03 Sep 2021S$18.4bS$3.3b-S$324,508,377.2120.8x-56.8x5.6x
Sun, 01 Aug 2021S$18.7bS$3.3b-S$324,508,377.2120.5x-57.6x5.7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-57.6x


Total Market Cap: S$18.7bTotal Earnings: -S$324,508,377.21Total Revenue: S$3.3bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Singaporean Hospitality Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 82.1x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Singaporean Hospitality industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 19.4x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 82.1x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 4.5x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 3.0x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Hospitality industry have gone up over the last three years, and the industry is now profitable. Revenues have grown 24% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by the industry overall, and subsequently profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Singaporean Consumer Discretionary industry?

SG Market-0.68%
Consumer Discretionary-1.24%
Hospitality-1.70%
Leisure Facilities1.42%
Casinos and Gaming-1.73%
Hotels, Resorts and Cruise Lines-1.82%
Restaurants-2.35%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Hotels, Resorts and Cruise Lines industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 2.7x.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Leisure Facilities industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 160x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Restaurants industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 9.4% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 24% per year.
  • In contrast, the Casinos and Gaming industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 8.6% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
H15 Hotel PropertiesS$3.580.6%
+S$10.5m
-2.7%PE3.4x
S85 StracoS$0.472.2%
+S$8.6m
8.0%PE15.7x
H07 Stamford LandS$0.391.3%
+S$7.4m
-1.3%PE96x
B28 Bonvests HoldingsS$0.961.6%
+S$6.0m
-4.0%PE53.8x
B58 Banyan Tree HoldingsS$0.391.3%
+S$4.3m
-4.9%PE10.5x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

H18

S$0.74

Hotel Grand Central

7D

0.7%

1Y

-14.4%

540

S$0.11

Tung Lok Restaurants (2000)

7D

-6.0%

1Y

-22.5%

H07

S$0.39

Stamford Land

7D

1.3%

1Y

-1.3%

9I7

S$0.12

Bromat Holdings

7D

-13.7%

1Y

n/a

1D0

S$0.31

Kimly

7D

-1.6%

1Y

-6.1%

5EF

S$0.005

Adventus Holdings

7D

25.0%

1Y

-16.7%

1G1

S$0.35

RE&S Holdings

7D

-1.4%

1Y

22.8%

H15

S$3.58

Hotel Properties

7D

0.6%

1Y

-2.7%

42R

S$0.26

Jumbo Group

7D

2.0%

1Y

-13.3%

B28

S$0.96

Bonvests Holdings

7D

1.6%

1Y

-4.0%

S85

S$0.47

Straco

7D

2.2%

1Y

8.0%

B58

S$0.39

Banyan Tree Holdings

7D

1.3%

1Y

-4.9%

A34

S$0.59

Amara Holdings

7D

-0.8%

1Y

28.3%