Header cover image

Swiss (SMI) Insurance Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 24, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies6
  • 7D4.1%
  • 3M6.8%
  • 1Y6.4%
  • YTD7.5%

In the last week, the Insurance industry is up 4.1%, with Zurich Insurance Group up 4.9%. This means that the industry has gained 6.4% over the past year. Earnings are forecast to grow by 5.5% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Swiss Insurance Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 24 Feb 2024CHF131.4bCHF123.9bCHF9.7b11.5x13.6x1.1x
Mon, 22 Jan 2024CHF122.1bCHF122.3bCHF9.6b10.7x12.7x1x
Wed, 20 Dec 2023CHF122.7bCHF121.6bCHF9.5b10.6x12.9x1x
Fri, 17 Nov 2023CHF122.1bCHF124.2bCHF9.7b10.9x12.5x1x
Sun, 15 Oct 2023CHF120.8bCHF124.5bCHF8.5b11.4x14.2x1x
Tue, 12 Sep 2023CHF117.7bCHF123.0bCHF8.4b12.2x14x1x
Thu, 10 Aug 2023CHF117.3bCHF118.1bCHF8.3b11.8x14.2x1x
Sat, 08 Jul 2023CHF114.4bCHF118.3bCHF8.0b11.1x14.3x1x
Mon, 05 Jun 2023CHF121.0bCHF120.1bCHF8.1b11.8x14.9x1x
Wed, 03 May 2023CHF120.2bCHF117.8bCHF7.2b12.2x16.6x1x
Fri, 31 Mar 2023CHF122.4bCHF119.6bCHF7.3b11.8x16.7x1x
Sun, 26 Feb 2023CHF125.3bCHF124.2bCHF7.2b13.8x17.4x1x
Tue, 24 Jan 2023CHF123.6bCHF127.9bCHF7.1b13x17.3x1x
Thu, 22 Dec 2022CHF119.0bCHF128.3bCHF7.2b11.6x16.6x0.9x
Sat, 19 Nov 2022CHF117.1bCHF130.8bCHF7.9b12.2x14.8x0.9x
Mon, 17 Oct 2022CHF105.8bCHF135.7bCHF8.2b11.1x12.9x0.8x
Wed, 14 Sep 2022CHF116.7bCHF130.8bCHF7.9b12.5x14.8x0.9x
Fri, 12 Aug 2022CHF117.9bCHF155.4bCHF7.9b12.6x15x0.8x
Sun, 10 Jul 2022CHF113.2bCHF160.0bCHF8.4b12.1x13.5x0.7x
Tue, 07 Jun 2022CHF119.2bCHF159.0bCHF8.3b12.8x14.3x0.7x
Thu, 05 May 2022CHF122.2bCHF160.8bCHF9.0b13x13.6x0.8x
Sat, 02 Apr 2022CHF128.0bCHF154.3bCHF8.6b13.8x14.9x0.8x
Mon, 28 Feb 2022CHF120.2bCHF154.2bCHF8.4b12.8x14.4x0.8x
Wed, 26 Jan 2022CHF125.1bCHF154.5bCHF8.0b13.6x15.7x0.8x
Fri, 24 Dec 2021CHF116.1bCHF154.5bCHF8.0b12.6x14.6x0.8x
Sun, 21 Nov 2021CHF112.8bCHF155.3bCHF8.0b12.3x14.1x0.7x
Tue, 19 Oct 2021CHF109.6bCHF155.0bCHF8.0b12.3x13.7x0.7x
Thu, 16 Sep 2021CHF110.8bCHF155.1bCHF8.0b12.4x13.8x0.7x
Sat, 14 Aug 2021CHF115.0bCHF153.1bCHF7.7b13.6x14.9x0.8x
Wed, 09 Jun 2021CHF109.0bCHF146.7bCHF6.2b13.6x17.5x0.7x
Tue, 02 Mar 2021CHF107.3bCHF132.3bCHF4.5b16.3x24.1x0.8x
Price to Earnings Ratio

24.1x


Total Market Cap: CHF107.3bTotal Earnings: CHF4.5bTotal Revenue: CHF132.3bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Swiss Insurance Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 15.1x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Swiss Insurance industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 15.1x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 0.86x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.1x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Insurance industry have grown 29% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have declined 2.2% per year.
  • This means that less sales are being generated overall, but since cost of doing business is lower, profits have been increasing.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Swiss Financials industry?

CH Market1.27%
Financials2.23%
Insurance4.10%
Reinsurance5.50%
General Insurance4.13%
Life and Health Insurance1.69%
Insurance Brokers0%
Property and Casualty Insurance0%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the General Insurance industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 13.5x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 6.0%, which is higher than its past year's earnings growth of 3.2% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Reinsurance industry, although it looks like investor sentiment has improved given that it's trading above its 3-year average of 8.9x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Reinsurance industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 7.1% over the next 5 years.
  • In contrast, the Life and Health Insurance industry is expected to see its earnings growth to stay flat over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
ZURN Zurich Insurance GroupCHF463.004.9%
+CHF3.2b
4.2%PE16.2x
SREN Swiss ReCHF106.505.5%
+CHF1.6b
9.7%PE10.9x
SLHN Swiss Life HoldingCHF648.801.7%
+CHF305.2m
15.8%PE13.4x
HELN Helvetia HoldingCHF125.401.8%
+CHF116.4m
6.1%PE10.6x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

SREN

CHF106.50

Swiss Re

7D

5.5%

1Y

9.7%

ZURN

CHF463.00

Zurich Insurance Group

7D

4.9%

1Y

4.2%

HELN

CHF125.40

Helvetia Holding

7D

1.8%

1Y

6.1%

SLHN

CHF648.80

Swiss Life Holding

7D

1.7%

1Y

15.8%

VAHN

CHF445.00

Vaudoise Assurances Holding

7D

-1.3%

1Y

1.6%