Header cover image

Swiss (SMI) Medical Equipment Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 22, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies10
  • 7D-1.8%
  • 3M-3.0%
  • 1Y2.8%
  • YTD6.2%

Over the last 7 days, the Medical Equipment industry has dropped 1.8%, driven by a pullback from Alcon of 1.3%. As for the longer term, the industry's performance has been flat for the past year. Earnings are forecast to grow by 15% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Swiss Medical Equipment Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 23 Jun 2024CHF83.2bCHF17.2bCHF2.0b48.5x42.5x4.8x
Tue, 21 May 2024CHF86.1bCHF17.3bCHF2.0b46.6x43.7x5x
Thu, 18 Apr 2024CHF82.2bCHF17.3bCHF1.9b44.5x43.2x4.8x
Sat, 16 Mar 2024CHF86.4bCHF17.0bCHF1.9b48.6x46.1x5.1x
Mon, 12 Feb 2024CHF82.3bCHF16.7bCHF1.7b57x49.8x4.9x
Wed, 10 Jan 2024CHF79.7bCHF16.5bCHF1.6b52.8x48.5x4.8x
Fri, 08 Dec 2023CHF74.2bCHF16.7bCHF1.7b48.2x44.9x4.4x
Sun, 05 Nov 2023CHF72.9bCHF16.9bCHF1.6b47.1x45.2x4.3x
Tue, 03 Oct 2023CHF75.9bCHF17.0bCHF1.6b47.7x46.9x4.5x
Thu, 31 Aug 2023CHF81.6bCHF16.6bCHF1.6b55.8x51x4.9x
Sat, 29 Jul 2023CHF83.1bCHF16.4bCHF1.6b52.6x50.5x5.1x
Mon, 26 Jun 2023CHF80.7bCHF16.7bCHF1.7b50.5x48.7x4.8x
Wed, 24 May 2023CHF81.1bCHF16.7bCHF1.6b50.6x49.5x4.9x
Fri, 21 Apr 2023CHF78.6bCHF16.4bCHF1.6b49.1x48.2x4.8x
Sun, 19 Mar 2023CHF72.7bCHF16.6bCHF1.6b45.5x44.3x4.4x
Tue, 14 Feb 2023CHF75.2bCHF16.5bCHF1.9b36.6x40.5x4.6x
Thu, 12 Jan 2023CHF73.5bCHF16.5bCHF1.9b37.7x39.4x4.4x
Sat, 10 Dec 2022CHF71.4bCHF16.6bCHF1.9b35.6x38.3x4.3x
Mon, 07 Nov 2022CHF64.5bCHF16.8bCHF1.8b31x36.2x3.8x
Wed, 05 Oct 2022CHF66.0bCHF16.7bCHF1.8b31.5x37.2x4x
Fri, 02 Sep 2022CHF70.5bCHF16.7bCHF1.8b33.5x39.6x4.2x
Sun, 31 Jul 2022CHF85.0bCHF16.1bCHF1.7b38.8x50.2x5.3x
Tue, 28 Jun 2022CHF76.2bCHF16.1bCHF1.7b38.1x44.9x4.7x
Thu, 26 May 2022CHF79.3bCHF16.1bCHF1.7b40.6x47.1x4.9x
Sat, 23 Apr 2022CHF87.2bCHF15.6bCHF1.6b41.8x53.7x5.6x
Mon, 21 Mar 2022CHF90.2bCHF15.4bCHF1.6b46.7x55.8x5.9x
Wed, 16 Feb 2022CHF88.0bCHF14.8bCHF1.5b46x57.7x5.9x
Fri, 14 Jan 2022CHF92.5bCHF14.7bCHF1.5b52.6x60.8x6.3x
Sun, 12 Dec 2021CHF101.6bCHF14.4bCHF1.5b44.1x68x7.1x
Tue, 09 Nov 2021CHF106.2bCHF13.5bCHF1.3b54.3x83.8x7.8x
Thu, 07 Oct 2021CHF93.2bCHF13.6bCHF1.3b45.7x73.4x6.8x
Sat, 04 Sep 2021CHF97.2bCHF13.6bCHF1.2b71.3x77.9x7.2x
Mon, 02 Aug 2021CHF90.3bCHF13.6bCHF1.2b63.5x72.4x6.7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

67.7x


Total Market Cap: CHF84.5bTotal Earnings: CHF1.2bTotal Revenue: CHF13.6bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Swiss Medical Equipment Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 51x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Swiss Medical Equipment industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 42.5x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 51.0x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 5.2x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Medical Equipment industry have grown 16% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 8.2% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Swiss Healthcare industry?

CH Market-0.088%
Healthcare0.10%
Medical Equipment-1.78%
Medical Supplies-1.64%
Medical Equipment-1.94%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Medical Supplies industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 93.2x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 12.3%, which is lower than the prior year's growth of 43.9% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Medical Equipment industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average of 37.8x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Medical Equipment industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 18% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 43% per year.
  • In contrast, the Medical Supplies industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 12% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
MED Medartis HoldingCHF71.000.4%
+CHF4.1m
-0.1%PE1557.7x
IGPH IGEA PharmaCHF0.0015200.0%
+CHF337.0k
-96.9%PE-0.05x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.