Header cover image

Swiss (SMI) Healthcare Sector Analysis

UpdatedMay 24, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies35
  • 7D-0.4%
  • 3M2.2%
  • 1Y-5.3%
  • YTD4.1%

Last week, the Healthcare industry hasn't moved much but Alcon is up 3.3% in that time. Unfortunately though, the industry is down 5.3% over the past 12 months. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 13% annually.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the Swiss Healthcare Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 25 May 2024CHF562.1bCHF150.2bCHF22.9b34.1x24.5x3.7x
Mon, 22 Apr 2024CHF539.2bCHF145.0bCHF22.3b35.3x24.2x3.7x
Wed, 20 Mar 2024CHF532.7bCHF143.6bCHF22.2b37.3x24x3.7x
Fri, 16 Feb 2024CHF518.3bCHF142.7bCHF22.4b32.9x23.2x3.6x
Sun, 14 Jan 2024CHF544.6bCHF151.4bCHF21.8b27.5x25x3.6x
Tue, 12 Dec 2023CHF524.2bCHF153.4bCHF22.0b25.5x23.8x3.4x
Thu, 09 Nov 2023CHF506.0bCHF154.7bCHF22.1b23.8x22.9x3.3x
Sat, 07 Oct 2023CHF532.1bCHF145.7bCHF21.2b31.9x25.1x3.7x
Mon, 04 Sep 2023CHF545.5bCHF144.3bCHF21.1b29.8x25.8x3.8x
Wed, 02 Aug 2023CHF561.4bCHF146.7bCHF22.5b36.5x24.9x3.8x
Fri, 30 Jun 2023CHF560.7bCHF147.4bCHF22.3b35x25.2x3.8x
Sun, 28 May 2023CHF579.0bCHF147.7bCHF22.3b35x26x3.9x
Tue, 25 Apr 2023CHF590.1bCHF146.2bCHF22.3b34.2x26.5x4x
Thu, 23 Mar 2023CHF532.8bCHF148.2bCHF22.5b30.8x23.6x3.6x
Sat, 18 Feb 2023CHF547.3bCHF148.1bCHF22.8b32.2x24x3.7x
Mon, 16 Jan 2023CHF567.5bCHF148.6bCHF38.1b30.7x14.9x3.8x
Wed, 14 Dec 2022CHF578.8bCHF148.6bCHF38.1b31.7x15.2x3.9x
Fri, 11 Nov 2022CHF591.9bCHF150.8bCHF38.9b29x15.2x3.9x
Sun, 09 Oct 2022CHF565.5bCHF152.8bCHF40.6b27.3x13.9x3.7x
Tue, 06 Sep 2022CHF580.7bCHF152.0bCHF40.3b25.4x14.4x3.8x
Thu, 04 Aug 2022CHF605.7bCHF150.2bCHF39.8b32.5x15.2x4x
Sat, 02 Jul 2022CHF585.4bCHF148.8bCHF40.4b29.9x14.5x3.9x
Mon, 30 May 2022CHF617.9bCHF148.4bCHF40.2b32.8x15.4x4.2x
Wed, 27 Apr 2022CHF643.3bCHF147.8bCHF39.9b36x16.1x4.4x
Fri, 25 Mar 2022CHF656.3bCHF145.7bCHF39.2b39.7x16.8x4.5x
Sun, 20 Feb 2022CHF624.5bCHF144.5bCHF38.9b40.6x16x4.3x
Tue, 18 Jan 2022CHF667.7bCHF138.9bCHF25.1b46.9x26.6x4.8x
Thu, 16 Dec 2021CHF669.5bCHF139.5bCHF25.2b44.7x26.5x4.8x
Sat, 13 Nov 2021CHF694.5bCHF138.3bCHF25.1b49.6x27.7x5x
Mon, 11 Oct 2021CHF672.9bCHF137.7bCHF24.3b44.3x27.7x4.9x
Wed, 08 Sep 2021CHF695.8bCHF137.5bCHF24.3b48.4x28.7x5.1x
Fri, 06 Aug 2021CHF695.6bCHF137.4bCHF24.2b54.8x28.7x5.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

26.7x


Total Market Cap: CHF610.8bTotal Earnings: CHF22.9bTotal Revenue: CHF134.7bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Swiss Healthcare Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 22.1x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Swiss Healthcare industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 24.5x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 22.1x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 4.1x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Healthcare industry have remained mostly flat over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 3.7% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased and as a result, profits have held steady.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Swiss Healthcare sector?

CH Market0.23%
Healthcare-0.38%
Healthcare Services2.03%
Healthtech1.65%
Medical Equipment1.25%
Pharma-0.42%
Biotech-0.60%
Life Sciences-2.87%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Life Sciences industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 50.9x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 18.3%, which is higher than its past year's earnings growth of 6.5% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Life Sciences industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 18% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings growth rate of 6.5% per year.
  • In contrast, the Healthcare Services industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 7.3% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
ALC AlconCHF82.022.4%
+CHF959.1m
14.4%PE42.3x
YPSN Ypsomed HoldingCHF387.0017.8%
+CHF798.5m
64.0%PE67.4x
SOON Sonova HoldingCHF294.201.0%
+CHF178.8m
23.3%PE29.2x
DESN Dottikon ES HoldingCHF263.504.6%
+CHF158.5m
6.5%PE42.1x
GALE GalenicaCHF71.801.3%
+CHF44.8m
-0.6%PE21.7x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

ROG

CHF230.40

Roche Holding

7D

-2.8%

1Y

-20.7%

YPSN

CHF387.00

Ypsomed Holding

7D

17.8%

1Y

64.0%

MEDX

CHF16.74

medmix

7D

2.3%

1Y

-16.7%

MOVE

CHF122.40

Medacta Group

7D

1.0%

1Y

9.1%

SOON

CHF294.20

Sonova Holding

7D

1.0%

1Y

23.3%

ALC

CHF82.02

Alcon

7D

2.4%

1Y

14.4%

PPGN

CHF31.95

PolyPeptide Group

7D

-3.8%

1Y

33.2%

STMN

CHF118.00

Straumann Holding

7D

-2.8%

1Y

-13.8%

NOVN

CHF91.74

Novartis

7D

-1.7%

1Y

3.2%

BANB

CHF86.45

Bachem Holding

7D

-4.6%

1Y

-7.5%

GALD

CHF73.47

Galderma Group

7D

-0.6%

1Y

n/a