Header cover image

Swiss (SMI) Life Sciences Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 20, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies7
  • 7D3.0%
  • 3M20.9%
  • 1Y-15.5%
  • YTD21.7%

In the last week, the Life Sciences industry is up 3.8%, with all of the companies up. However, the industry is down 14% over the past year. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 17% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Swiss Life Sciences Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 20 Feb 2024CHF50.0bCHF10.2bCHF1.0b46.3x49x4.9x
Thu, 18 Jan 2024CHF41.1bCHF9.8bCHF1.5b30.9x27.5x4.2x
Sat, 16 Dec 2023CHF41.2bCHF9.8bCHF1.5b32.6x27.6x4.2x
Mon, 13 Nov 2023CHF39.6bCHF9.8bCHF1.5b27.5x26.5x4x
Wed, 11 Oct 2023CHF47.1bCHF9.8bCHF1.5b32.2x31.5x4.8x
Fri, 08 Sep 2023CHF52.7bCHF9.8bCHF1.5b36.3x35.4x5.4x
Sun, 06 Aug 2023CHF52.9bCHF9.8bCHF1.5b35.3x34.2x5.4x
Tue, 04 Jul 2023CHF54.8bCHF9.7bCHF1.6b35.7x33.6x5.7x
Thu, 01 Jun 2023CHF59.7bCHF9.7bCHF1.6b36.8x36.6x6.2x
Sat, 29 Apr 2023CHF59.1bCHF9.7bCHF1.6b40.9x36.2x6.1x
Mon, 27 Mar 2023CHF55.6bCHF9.7bCHF1.7b40.3x33.6x5.8x
Wed, 22 Feb 2023CHF58.8bCHF9.6bCHF1.6b34.2x35.9x6.2x
Fri, 20 Jan 2023CHF52.7bCHF9.2bCHF1.3b40x39.7x5.7x
Sun, 18 Dec 2022CHF49.9bCHF9.2bCHF1.3b36.7x37.6x5.4x
Tue, 15 Nov 2022CHF54.6bCHF9.2bCHF1.3b41.5x41.1x5.9x
Thu, 13 Oct 2022CHF49.9bCHF9.2bCHF1.3b39.3x37.5x5.4x
Sat, 10 Sep 2022CHF54.6bCHF9.2bCHF1.3b43.3x42.2x6x
Mon, 08 Aug 2022CHF56.2bCHF8.9bCHF1.3b34.8x42.9x6.3x
Wed, 06 Jul 2022CHF54.6bCHF8.5bCHF1.1b44.1x50.7x6.4x
Fri, 03 Jun 2022CHF57.6bCHF8.5bCHF1.1b47.3x53.4x6.8x
Sun, 01 May 2022CHF60.5bCHF8.5bCHF1.1b55.2x56.1x7.1x
Tue, 29 Mar 2022CHF68.0bCHF8.3bCHF1.1b49.8x62.9x8.2x
Thu, 24 Feb 2022CHF64.8bCHF8.0bCHF1.1b51.1x60.7x8.1x
Sat, 22 Jan 2022CHF69.1bCHF7.4bCHF929.0m70.8x74.4x9.4x
Mon, 20 Dec 2021CHF80.0bCHF7.4bCHF918.1m92.7x87.1x10.9x
Wed, 17 Nov 2021CHF79.6bCHF7.4bCHF918.7m75.2x86.6x10.8x
Fri, 15 Oct 2021CHF79.3bCHF7.4bCHF919.6m77.7x86.2x10.8x
Sun, 12 Sep 2021CHF82.8bCHF7.4bCHF920.8m85.4x89.9x11.2x
Tue, 10 Aug 2021CHF75.4bCHF7.4bCHF920.8m61.2x81.9x10.2x
Mon, 03 May 2021CHF61.1bCHF7.1bCHF964.3m60.5x63.4x8.7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

56.5x


Total Market Cap: CHF55.0bTotal Earnings: CHF972.6mTotal Revenue: CHF6.5bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Swiss Life Sciences Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 51.3x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Swiss Life Sciences industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 51.3x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 7.1x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 4.9x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Life Sciences industry have remained mostly flat over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 16% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased and as a result, profits have held steady.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Swiss Healthcare industry?

CH Market1.80%
Healthcare2.11%
Life Sciences3.03%
Clinical Research and Equipment3.03%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
LONN Lonza GroupCHF456.002.1%
+CHF683.4m
-19.1%PE51.8x
BANB Bachem HoldingCHF66.008.7%
+CHF397.3m
-25.5%PE50.2x
TECN Tecan GroupCHF359.404.6%
+CHF202.0m
-8.9%PE42.3x
SFZN Siegfried HoldingCHF913.502.5%
+CHF93.4m
28.7%PE26x
SKAN SKAN GroupCHF81.402.8%
+CHF49.5m
20.1%PE66.9x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.