Header cover image

Swiss (SMI) Chemicals Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 22, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies6
  • 7D-0.9%
  • 3M12.8%
  • 1Y5.2%
  • YTD5.8%

The Chemicals industry has stayed flat over the last week. As for the the longer term, the industry is up 5.2% over the past 12 months. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 10% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Swiss Chemicals Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 23 Apr 2024CHF98.2bCHF25.2bCHF2.5b37.1x39.5x3.9x
Thu, 21 Mar 2024CHF100.6bCHF25.2bCHF2.5b40.3x40.3x4x
Sat, 17 Feb 2024CHF93.2bCHF25.5bCHF2.2b37.9x42.9x3.7x
Mon, 15 Jan 2024CHF92.3bCHF26.1bCHF2.3b35.3x40.8x3.5x
Wed, 13 Dec 2023CHF94.9bCHF26.1bCHF2.3b36.1x41.9x3.6x
Fri, 10 Nov 2023CHF87.4bCHF26.1bCHF2.3b32.8x38.6x3.4x
Sun, 08 Oct 2023CHF85.9bCHF25.7bCHF2.2b31.8x38.6x3.3x
Tue, 05 Sep 2023CHF89.0bCHF25.7bCHF2.2b33.1x40x3.5x
Thu, 03 Aug 2023CHF93.4bCHF25.7bCHF2.5b35.8x37.1x3.6x
Sat, 01 Jul 2023CHF90.6bCHF26.1bCHF2.5b33.9x36.7x3.5x
Mon, 29 May 2023CHF91.7bCHF26.1bCHF2.5b33.3x37.3x3.5x
Wed, 26 Apr 2023CHF93.4bCHF26.1bCHF2.5b34.7x38x3.6x
Fri, 24 Mar 2023CHF92.4bCHF26.0bCHF2.5b33.7x37.5x3.5x
Sun, 19 Feb 2023CHF95.1bCHF25.6bCHF3.0b31x32.2x3.7x
Tue, 17 Jan 2023CHF92.5bCHF25.4bCHF2.9b32.5x31.9x3.6x
Thu, 15 Dec 2022CHF89.2bCHF25.4bCHF2.9b29.5x30.7x3.5x
Sat, 12 Nov 2022CHF97.5bCHF25.4bCHF2.9b32.2x33.8x3.8x
Mon, 10 Oct 2022CHF82.6bCHF25.0bCHF2.9b27.1x28.8x3.3x
Wed, 07 Sep 2022CHF87.3bCHF25.0bCHF2.9b28.6x30.4x3.5x
Fri, 05 Aug 2022CHF96.0bCHF24.9bCHF2.9b36.1x33.6x3.9x
Sun, 03 Jul 2022CHF91.0bCHF23.3bCHF2.7b35.2x33.5x3.9x
Tue, 31 May 2022CHF105.1bCHF23.3bCHF2.7b40.4x38.8x4.5x
Thu, 28 Apr 2022CHF111.4bCHF22.9bCHF2.6b46.1x43.7x4.9x
Sat, 26 Mar 2022CHF111.4bCHF22.8bCHF2.6b47.4x43.6x4.9x
Mon, 21 Feb 2022CHF109.4bCHF22.9bCHF2.6b41.9x42.4x4.8x
Wed, 19 Jan 2022CHF118.2bCHF22.3bCHF2.5b46.4x47x5.3x
Fri, 17 Dec 2021CHF133.7bCHF22.3bCHF2.5b54x53.1x6x
Sun, 14 Nov 2021CHF125.4bCHF22.3bCHF2.5b50.1x49.9x5.6x
Tue, 12 Oct 2021CHF113.8bCHF22.1bCHF2.5b44.8x45x5.2x
Thu, 09 Sep 2021CHF122.6bCHF22.1bCHF2.5b47.9x48.5x5.6x
Sat, 07 Aug 2021CHF122.8bCHF22.1bCHF2.5b48.7x48.6x5.6x
Fri, 30 Apr 2021CHF103.9bCHF21.4bCHF2.3b43.5x44.4x4.9x
Price to Earnings Ratio

44.4x


Total Market Cap: CHF103.9bTotal Earnings: CHF2.3bTotal Revenue: CHF21.4bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Swiss Chemicals Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 39.6x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Swiss Chemicals industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 39.6x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 4.2x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Chemicals industry have grown 2.1% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 5.6% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Swiss Materials industry?

CH Market-0.88%
Materials-1.29%
Chemicals-0.91%
Commodity Chemicals0%
Diversified Chemicals0%
Fertilizers and Agricultural Chemicals0%
Industrial Gases0%
Specialty Chemicals-0.91%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Specialty Chemicals industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 39.6x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 10.3%, which is higher than its past year's earnings decline of 11.3% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Specialty Chemicals industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average of 39.6x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Specialty Chemicals industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 10% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 11% per year.
  • In contrast, the Specialty Chemicals industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 10% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
GIVN GivaudanCHF3.95k1.3%
+CHF461.4m
23.9%PE40.8x
EMSN EMS-CHEMIE HOLDINGCHF701.500.6%
+CHF105.3m
-12.4%PE35.9x
CLN ClariantCHF13.331.4%
+CHF62.5m
-9.7%PE26.1x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.