Header cover image

Swiss (SMI) Tech Sector Analysis

UpdatedFeb 29, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies19
  • 7D1.4%
  • 3M-0.5%
  • 1Y-5.7%
  • YTD-2.5%

Over the last 7 days, the Tech industry has risen 2.5%, driven by gains from Logitech International of 4.2%. During this same period, the LEM Holding underperformed, falling 5.5%. In the past year, the industry is down 4.6%. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 21% annually.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the Swiss Tech Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Thu, 29 Feb 2024CHF36.7bCHF24.2b-CHF569,072,711.7334.4x-64.5x1.5x
Sat, 27 Jan 2024CHF38.9bCHF25.0b-CHF558,469,152.0028.5x-69.6x1.6x
Mon, 25 Dec 2023CHF37.7bCHF25.1b-CHF650,964,824.0036.7x-57.9x1.5x
Wed, 22 Nov 2023CHF36.0bCHF25.7b-CHF669,107,059.0032.1x-53.8x1.4x
Fri, 20 Oct 2023CHF32.7bCHF25.7b-CHF868,039,825.0026.8x-37.7x1.3x
Sun, 17 Sep 2023CHF34.7bCHF25.8b-CHF885,559,602.0029.5x-39.2x1.3x
Tue, 15 Aug 2023CHF35.0bCHF25.6b-CHF939,685,195.0019.1x-37.3x1.4x
Thu, 13 Jul 2023CHF34.1bCHF26.8bCHF438.9m21.5x77.7x1.3x
Sat, 10 Jun 2023CHF35.5bCHF27.1bCHF464.1m23.7x76.4x1.3x
Mon, 08 May 2023CHF34.3bCHF27.2bCHF444.1m23.5x77.3x1.3x
Wed, 05 Apr 2023CHF33.4bCHF27.9bCHF653.7m23.7x51.1x1.2x
Fri, 03 Mar 2023CHF33.6bCHF28.0bCHF654.1m26.3x51.4x1.2x
Sun, 29 Jan 2023CHF34.4bCHF28.8bCHF1.0b26.8x34.1x1.2x
Tue, 27 Dec 2022CHF31.5bCHF29.0bCHF1.1b24.5x29.1x1.1x
Thu, 24 Nov 2022CHF32.5bCHF28.9bCHF1.1b26.5x30.2x1.1x
Sat, 22 Oct 2022CHF27.0bCHF29.7bCHF1.4b20.1x19.6x0.9x
Mon, 19 Sep 2022CHF29.1bCHF29.1bCHF1.3b21x21.7x1x
Wed, 17 Aug 2022CHF33.5bCHF28.8bCHF1.4b22.6x23.7x1.2x
Fri, 15 Jul 2022CHF30.9bCHF29.6bCHF1.3b19.8x23x1x
Sun, 12 Jun 2022CHF33.1bCHF30.5bCHF1.3b21.9x24.5x1.1x
Tue, 10 May 2022CHF34.5bCHF30.7bCHF1.4b21.6x25.3x1.1x
Thu, 07 Apr 2022CHF38.1bCHF29.9bCHF985.0m24.7x38.7x1.3x
Sat, 05 Mar 2022CHF36.8bCHF36.5bCHF991.8m21.2x37.1x1x
Mon, 31 Jan 2022CHF43.3bCHF37.5bCHF898.7m25.7x48.2x1.2x
Wed, 29 Dec 2021CHF48.8bCHF37.4bCHF1.0b32.1x46.6x1.3x
Fri, 26 Nov 2021CHF47.2bCHF37.7bCHF1.1b28.4x44x1.2x
Sun, 24 Oct 2021CHF48.9bCHF37.7bCHF1.1b29.7x45x1.3x
Tue, 21 Sep 2021CHF51.4bCHF38.1bCHF1.1b28.2x46.5x1.3x
Thu, 19 Aug 2021CHF52.4bCHF38.3bCHF1.1b26.7x48.1x1.4x
Thu, 03 Jun 2021CHF53.1bCHF36.6bCHF1.1b24.4x47.9x1.4x
Sun, 07 Mar 2021CHF50.3bCHF33.6bCHF1.1b33x45.1x1.5x
Price to Earnings Ratio

45.1x


Total Market Cap: CHF50.3bTotal Earnings: CHF1.1bTotal Revenue: CHF33.6bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Swiss Tech Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 24.2x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Swiss Information Technology industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.3x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.5x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Information Technology industry have declined over the last three years, with the industry now making a loss overall.
  • Revenues have also declined 10% per year, which is driving profits down.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Swiss Tech sector?

CH Market-0.33%
Tech1.44%
Software5.26%
Tech Hardware2.90%
Semiconductors1.44%
Communications0%
Electronic Equipment and Components-0.60%
IT-4.17%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Software industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 47.5x.
    • Analysts expect its future annual earnings growth (16.5%) to be largely in line with prior year's earnings growth.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Semiconductors industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 87% over the next 5 years.
  • This is roughly in line with its past earnings growth rate.
  • In contrast, the Tech Hardware industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 5.2% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
LOGN Logitech InternationalCHF78.642.9%
+CHF343.7m
57.5%PE28.5x
TEMN TemenosCHF64.745.4%
+CHF239.1m
-7.5%PE39.4x
AMS ams-OSRAMCHF2.206.6%
+CHF134.0m
-69.8%PS0.6x
IFCN INFICON HoldingCHF1.37k1.5%
+CHF48.9m
39.6%PE40.5x
COTN Comet HoldingCHF309.401.9%
+CHF45.1m
48.4%PE42.3x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

LOGN

CHF78.64

Logitech International

7D

2.9%

1Y

57.5%

KUD

CHF1.41

Kudelski

7D

-10.5%

1Y

-36.0%

TEMN

CHF64.74

Temenos

7D

5.4%

1Y

-7.5%

CLXN

CHF59.50

Crealogix Holding

7D

-2.5%

1Y

-2.5%

COTN

CHF309.40

Comet Holding

7D

1.9%

1Y

48.4%

ALSN

CHF234.50

ALSO Holding

7D

-3.9%

1Y

25.0%

SWON

CHF16.61

SoftwareONE Holding

7D

-0.5%

1Y

4.9%

LEHN

CHF1,680.00

LEM Holding

7D

-4.3%

1Y

-14.3%

MBTN

CHF0.077

Meyer Burger Technology

7D

-23.8%

1Y

-88.9%

SENS

CHF66.30

Sensirion Holding

7D

1.2%

1Y

-43.5%

WIHN

CHF4.21

WISeKey International Holding

7D

-13.3%

1Y

-66.0%

SAHN

CHF496.00

Schaffner Holding

7D

1.2%

1Y

73.4%