Header cover image

Swiss (SMI) Banks Industry Analysis

UpdatedMar 01, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies16
  • 7D-0.3%
  • 3M4.5%
  • 1Y6.5%
  • YTD2.8%

Over the last 7 days, the Banks industry has remained flat. As for the the longer term, the industry is up 6.5% over the past 12 months. Earnings are forecast to grow by 1.3% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Swiss Banks Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Fri, 01 Mar 2024CHF39.8bCHF7.2bCHF2.6b14.5x15.3x5.5x
Sun, 28 Jan 2024CHF39.9bCHF7.2bCHF2.5b14x15.7x5.5x
Tue, 26 Dec 2023CHF39.1bCHF7.2bCHF2.5b14.1x15.4x5.4x
Thu, 23 Nov 2023CHF38.7bCHF7.2bCHF2.5b14.3x15.2x5.4x
Sat, 21 Oct 2023CHF38.3bCHF7.1bCHF2.5b14.9x15.3x5.4x
Mon, 18 Sep 2023CHF38.4bCHF7.1bCHF2.5b15.2x15.4x5.4x
Wed, 16 Aug 2023CHF38.7bCHF6.9bCHF2.4b15.4x16.2x5.6x
Fri, 14 Jul 2023CHF38.3bCHF6.6bCHF2.3b16.2x16.5x5.8x
Sun, 11 Jun 2023CHF37.7bCHF6.7bCHF2.3b15.7x16.1x5.6x
Tue, 09 May 2023CHF37.6bCHF6.7bCHF2.3b16x16.1x5.6x
Thu, 06 Apr 2023CHF37.5bCHF6.6bCHF2.3b16x16.1x5.7x
Sat, 04 Mar 2023CHF37.1bCHF6.5bCHF2.2b16.1x16.5x5.7x
Mon, 30 Jan 2023CHF37.2bCHF6.5bCHF2.2b16.2x16.8x5.7x
Wed, 28 Dec 2022CHF36.4bCHF6.5bCHF2.2b16x16.4x5.6x
Fri, 25 Nov 2022CHF36.6bCHF6.5bCHF2.2b16.1x16.5x5.6x
Sun, 23 Oct 2022CHF36.2bCHF6.5bCHF2.2b16x16.3x5.5x
Tue, 20 Sep 2022CHF37.0bCHF6.5bCHF2.2b16.1x16.7x5.7x
Thu, 18 Aug 2022CHF36.3bCHF6.5bCHF2.2b16.2x16.7x5.6x
Sat, 16 Jul 2022CHF34.8bCHF6.5bCHF2.2b15.8x16.1x5.4x
Mon, 13 Jun 2022CHF34.4bCHF6.4bCHF2.1b15.5x16x5.3x
Wed, 11 May 2022CHF34.9bCHF6.4bCHF2.1b15.6x16.3x5.4x
Fri, 08 Apr 2022CHF35.9bCHF6.3bCHF2.1b16.3x17x5.7x
Sun, 06 Mar 2022CHF34.0bCHF6.1bCHF2.1b15.5x16.2x5.6x
Tue, 01 Feb 2022CHF34.5bCHF6.1bCHF2.0b15.6x16.9x5.6x
Thu, 30 Dec 2021CHF33.1bCHF6.1bCHF2.0b14.9x16.2x5.4x
Sat, 27 Nov 2021CHF32.9bCHF6.1bCHF2.0b15.1x16.1x5.4x
Mon, 25 Oct 2021CHF33.3bCHF6.1bCHF2.0b15.1x16.3x5.5x
Wed, 22 Sep 2021CHF32.8bCHF6.1bCHF2.0b15.2x16.1x5.4x
Fri, 20 Aug 2021CHF34.2bCHF6.1bCHF2.0b15x16.8x5.6x
Fri, 04 Jun 2021CHF34.2bCHF6.0bCHF2.0b15.7x17.1x5.7x
Mon, 08 Mar 2021CHF35.4bCHF5.9bCHF2.0b15.9x18x6x
Price to Earnings Ratio

18x


Total Market Cap: CHF35.4bTotal Earnings: CHF2.0bTotal Revenue: CHF5.9bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Swiss Banks Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 16.3x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Swiss Banks industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 16.3x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 5.6x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Banks industry have grown 10.0% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 7.3% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Swiss Financials industry?

CH Market0.024%
Financials1.59%
Banks-0.25%
Diversified Banks1.14%
Regional Banks-0.33%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Regional Banks industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 16.5x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 1.3%, which is lower than the prior year's growth of 17.1% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Diversified Banks industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average of 14.2x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Regional Banks industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 1.3% over the next 5 years.
  • In contrast, the Regional Banks industry is expected to see its earnings growth to stay flat over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
LLBN Liechtensteinische LandesbankCHF71.101.6%
+CHF33.7m
16.6%PB1x
WKBN Walliser KantonalbankCHF112.000.9%
+CHF15.7m
4.2%PB1.2x
VATN Valiant HoldingCHF102.600.6%
+CHF9.5m
-2.1%PB0.6x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

GRKP

CHF1,780.00

Graubündner Kantonalbank

7D

-0.6%

1Y

0.3%

LLBN

CHF71.10

Liechtensteinische Landesbank

7D

1.6%

1Y

16.6%

BEKN

CHF240.00

Berner Kantonalbank

7D

-0.4%

1Y

4.6%

BCVN

CHF105.90

Banque Cantonale Vaudoise

7D

-2.6%

1Y

27.1%

WKBN

CHF112.00

Walliser Kantonalbank

7D

0.9%

1Y

4.2%

VATN

CHF102.60

Valiant Holding

7D

0.6%

1Y

-2.1%

LUKN

CHF70.80

Luzerner Kantonalbank

7D

-1.5%

1Y

-14.2%

BCJ

CHF60.50

Banque Cantonale du Jura

7D

-2.4%

1Y

10.0%

TKBP

CHF122.00

Thurgauer Kantonalbank

7D

-0.4%

1Y

4.3%