Header cover image

Swiss (SMI) Industrials Sector Analysis

UpdatedFeb 21, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies49
  • 7D3.4%
  • 3M11.7%
  • 1Y10.9%
  • YTD5.5%

In the last week, the Industrials industry is up 2.6%, with ABB up 5.3%. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 9.9%. Earnings are forecast to grow by 6.5% annually.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the Swiss Industrials Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 21 Feb 2024CHF247.3bCHF160.9bCHF10.8b18.6x22.9x1.5x
Fri, 19 Jan 2024CHF219.3bCHF154.0bCHF10.4b17.4x21.2x1.4x
Sun, 17 Dec 2023CHF227.9bCHF154.2bCHF10.4b18.1x22x1.5x
Tue, 14 Nov 2023CHF200.3bCHF155.7bCHF10.5b16.3x19.1x1.3x
Thu, 12 Oct 2023CHF204.6bCHF159.8bCHF10.3b16x19.9x1.3x
Sat, 09 Sep 2023CHF206.4bCHF159.4bCHF10.3b17.2x20.1x1.3x
Mon, 07 Aug 2023CHF216.5bCHF158.8bCHF10.2b18.7x21.3x1.4x
Wed, 05 Jul 2023CHF230.1bCHF169.2bCHF10.5b19.7x22x1.4x
Fri, 02 Jun 2023CHF228.5bCHF169.3bCHF10.5b19.2x21.8x1.3x
Sun, 30 Apr 2023CHF228.1bCHF168.7bCHF10.5b20.1x21.8x1.4x
Tue, 28 Mar 2023CHF218.6bCHF170.8bCHF10.2b23.2x21.4x1.3x
Thu, 23 Feb 2023CHF226.4bCHF170.5bCHF10.4b24x21.8x1.3x
Sat, 21 Jan 2023CHF221.3bCHF171.7bCHF12.0b20.1x18.4x1.3x
Mon, 19 Dec 2022CHF202.6bCHF171.8bCHF12.1b19x16.8x1.2x
Wed, 16 Nov 2022CHF216.2bCHF171.7bCHF12.1b19.1x17.8x1.3x
Fri, 14 Oct 2022CHF184.6bCHF169.1bCHF12.5b17.7x14.8x1.1x
Sun, 11 Sep 2022CHF198.0bCHF167.0bCHF12.4b20.3x16x1.2x
Tue, 09 Aug 2022CHF213.4bCHF166.4bCHF12.3b18.8x17.3x1.3x
Thu, 07 Jul 2022CHF196.7bCHF163.0bCHF12.6b16.8x15.6x1.2x
Sat, 04 Jun 2022CHF223.4bCHF163.8bCHF12.6b18.7x17.8x1.4x
Mon, 02 May 2022CHF232.1bCHF163.3bCHF12.7b18.6x18.3x1.4x
Wed, 30 Mar 2022CHF245.1bCHF157.8bCHF12.0b19.8x20.5x1.6x
Fri, 25 Feb 2022CHF235.9bCHF150.7bCHF10.9b20.6x21.6x1.6x
Sun, 23 Jan 2022CHF262.7bCHF149.8bCHF8.5b22.2x30.9x1.8x
Tue, 21 Dec 2021CHF270.0bCHF150.2bCHF8.6b23.7x31.6x1.8x
Thu, 18 Nov 2021CHF278.8bCHF150.7bCHF8.6b25.9x32.5x1.8x
Sat, 16 Oct 2021CHF270.1bCHF146.6bCHF7.1b26.5x37.9x1.8x
Mon, 13 Sep 2021CHF287.0bCHF146.5bCHF7.0b27.7x41x2x
Wed, 11 Aug 2021CHF284.0bCHF146.5bCHF7.0b28.2x40.6x1.9x
Sun, 06 Jun 2021CHF262.5bCHF140.4bCHF5.7b30.2x46.3x1.9x
Wed, 10 Mar 2021CHF227.2bCHF134.4bCHF4.3b33x53.4x1.7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

53.4x


Total Market Cap: CHF227.2bTotal Earnings: CHF4.3bTotal Revenue: CHF134.4bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Swiss Industrials Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 25.8x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Swiss Industrials industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 22.8x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 25.8x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 1.5x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Industrials industry have grown 36% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 6.2% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Swiss Industrials sector?

CH Market2.46%
Industrials3.44%
Electrical5.01%
Machinery4.23%
Infrastructure2.74%
Building2.26%
Construction2.24%
Professional Services1.67%
Trade Distributors1.54%
Marine and Shipping1.21%
Transportation0.75%
Commercial Services0.27%
Industrials0%
Logistics0%
Airlines0%
Aerospace & Defense-2.50%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Building industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 27.1x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 7.9%, which is higher than its past year's earnings growth of 1.2% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Aerospace & Defense industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 121% over the next 5 years.
  • In contrast, the Marine and Shipping industry is expected to see its earnings decline by 3.9% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
ABBN ABBCHF40.155.3%
+CHF3.7b
28.7%PE22.2x
SCHN Schindler HoldingCHF223.407.1%
+CHF1.6b
18.1%PE27.7x
GEBN GeberitCHF511.802.5%
+CHF422.5m
0.2%PE25.2x
KNIN Kuehne + Nagel InternationalCHF284.801.2%
+CHF406.7m
18.8%PE21x
VACN VAT GroupCHF428.502.8%
+CHF347.8m
52.1%PE52.8x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

ABBN

CHF40.15

ABB

7D

5.3%

1Y

28.7%

MIKN

CHF16.80

Mikron Holding

7D

-1.2%

1Y

48.0%

PMN

CHF444.00

Phoenix Mecano

7D

-0.7%

1Y

29.4%

ADVN

CHF105.00

Adval Tech Holding

7D

-5.4%

1Y

-22.2%

AERO

CHF15.60

Montana Aerospace

7D

-2.5%

1Y

-5.2%

BYS

CHF448.50

Bystronic

7D

-0.8%

1Y

-40.2%

KOMN

CHF159.80

Komax Holding

7D

-0.5%

1Y

-44.3%