Header cover image

Swiss (SMI) Specialty Chemicals Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 28, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies6
  • 7D0.1%
  • 3M8.7%
  • 1Y4.0%
  • YTDn/a

The Specialty Chemicals industry is up 2.4% in the last week, with Givaudan up 2.3%. In the same time, Evolva Holding was down 5.6%. This means that the industry has gained 4.7% over the past year. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 12% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Swiss Specialty Chemicals Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 28 Feb 2024CHF94.5bCHF25.8bCHF2.2b38.7x42.5x3.7x
Fri, 26 Jan 2024CHF93.4bCHF26.0bCHF2.3b35.8x40.8x3.6x
Sun, 24 Dec 2023CHF99.5bCHF26.1bCHF2.3b37x44x3.8x
Tue, 21 Nov 2023CHF89.8bCHF26.1bCHF2.3b33.8x39.7x3.4x
Thu, 19 Oct 2023CHF83.1bCHF25.7bCHF2.2b31.8x37.3x3.2x
Sat, 16 Sep 2023CHF86.5bCHF25.7bCHF2.2b33.1x38.8x3.4x
Mon, 14 Aug 2023CHF91.4bCHF25.8bCHF2.3b36.5x39.3x3.5x
Wed, 12 Jul 2023CHF90.7bCHF26.1bCHF2.5b33.7x36.7x3.5x
Fri, 09 Jun 2023CHF90.9bCHF26.1bCHF2.5b33.6x36.8x3.5x
Sun, 07 May 2023CHF93.2bCHF26.1bCHF2.5b34.2x37.9x3.6x
Tue, 04 Apr 2023CHF93.3bCHF26.1bCHF2.5b33.7x38x3.6x
Thu, 02 Mar 2023CHF92.3bCHF25.7bCHF2.9b30.9x31.3x3.6x
Sat, 28 Jan 2023CHF93.1bCHF25.5bCHF3.0b30.3x31.3x3.6x
Mon, 26 Dec 2022CHF83.9bCHF25.4bCHF2.9b27.9x28.9x3.3x
Wed, 23 Nov 2022CHF91.0bCHF25.4bCHF2.9b30x31.5x3.6x
Fri, 21 Oct 2022CHF85.6bCHF25.0bCHF2.9b29.1x29.8x3.4x
Sun, 18 Sep 2022CHF81.4bCHF25.0bCHF2.9b26.4x28.4x3.3x
Tue, 16 Aug 2022CHF97.6bCHF24.9bCHF2.9b36.8x34.1x3.9x
Thu, 14 Jul 2022CHF90.4bCHF23.3bCHF2.7b35x33.3x3.9x
Sat, 11 Jun 2022CHF96.6bCHF23.3bCHF2.7b36.8x35.6x4.1x
Mon, 09 May 2022CHF104.7bCHF22.9bCHF2.6b43.4x41.1x4.6x
Wed, 06 Apr 2022CHF115.2bCHF22.9bCHF2.6b48.1x45.2x5x
Fri, 04 Mar 2022CHF111.5bCHF22.8bCHF2.6b46.9x43.7x4.9x
Sun, 30 Jan 2022CHF111.2bCHF22.3bCHF2.5b43.3x44.2x5x
Tue, 28 Dec 2021CHF132.1bCHF22.3bCHF2.5b53.1x52.5x5.9x
Thu, 25 Nov 2021CHF124.8bCHF22.3bCHF2.5b50.5x49.6x5.6x
Sat, 23 Oct 2021CHF117.3bCHF22.1bCHF2.5b45.8x46.4x5.3x
Mon, 20 Sep 2021CHF121.0bCHF22.1bCHF2.5b47.5x47.8x5.5x
Wed, 18 Aug 2021CHF124.9bCHF22.1bCHF2.5b49.5x49.4x5.7x
Wed, 02 Jun 2021CHF108.0bCHF21.4bCHF2.3b45.8x46.2x5.1x
Sat, 06 Mar 2021CHF94.4bCHF20.7bCHF2.1b42.9x44.1x4.6x
Price to Earnings Ratio

44.1x


Total Market Cap: CHF94.4bTotal Earnings: CHF2.1bTotal Revenue: CHF20.7bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Swiss Specialty Chemicals Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 39.7x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Swiss Specialty Chemicals industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 42.9x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 39.9x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 4.2x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 3.7x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Specialty Chemicals industry have remained mostly flat over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 7.6% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased and as a result, profits have held steady.

Industry Comparison

How does Swiss Specialty Chemicals compare with similar industries?

CH Market-0.20%
Materials1.13%
Chemicals0.13%
Specialty Chemicals0.13%
Commodity Chemicals0%
Diversified Chemicals0%
Fertilizers and Agricultural Chemicals0%
Industrial Gases0%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
SIKA SikaCHF256.400.4%
+CHF160.4m
-2.8%PE38.7x
CLN ClariantCHF11.271.8%
+CHF65.8m
-26.1%PS0.8x
GIVN GivaudanCHF3.75k0.05%
+CHF18.5m
31.9%PE38.7x
EVE Evolva HoldingCHF0.664.8%
+CHF216.4k
-97.1%PS0.4x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News