Header cover image

South African (JSE) Insurance Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 13, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies7
  • 7D-3.2%
  • 3M-10.3%
  • 1Y-0.3%
  • YTD-12.1%

Over the last 7 days, the Insurance industry has dropped 3.2%, driven by pullbacks from every company within the industry. As for the longer term, the industry's performance has been flat for the past year. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 14% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the South African Insurance Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 14 Apr 2024R376.9bR587.7bR34.6b11.3x10.9x0.6x
Tue, 12 Mar 2024R426.5bR598.6bR33.9b13.2x12.6x0.7x
Thu, 08 Feb 2024R430.0bR560.1bR33.8b12.4x12.7x0.8x
Sat, 06 Jan 2024R427.3bR560.1bR33.8b11.8x12.7x0.8x
Mon, 04 Dec 2023R411.2bR560.1bR33.8b11.7x12.2x0.7x
Wed, 01 Nov 2023R401.0bR560.1bR33.8b11.3x11.9x0.7x
Fri, 29 Sep 2023R419.3bR550.6bR34.2b12.4x12.2x0.8x
Sun, 27 Aug 2023R418.0bR386.2bR33.7b12.6x12.4x1.1x
Tue, 25 Jul 2023R412.7bR386.2bR33.7b12.3x12.3x1.1x
Thu, 22 Jun 2023R388.6bR386.2bR33.7b11.1x11.5x1x
Sat, 20 May 2023R352.1bR386.2bR33.7b9.6x10.5x0.9x
Mon, 17 Apr 2023R377.5bR386.2bR33.7b10.4x11.2x1x
Wed, 15 Mar 2023R381.3bR412.8bR34.2b10.4x11.1x0.9x
Fri, 10 Feb 2023R388.6bR463.2bR33.4b10.5x11.6x0.8x
Sun, 08 Jan 2023R351.4bR463.2bR33.4b9.2x10.5x0.8x
Tue, 06 Dec 2022R339.1bR463.2bR33.4b9.4x10.2x0.7x
Thu, 03 Nov 2022R335.9bR463.2bR33.4b9.6x10.1x0.7x
Sat, 01 Oct 2022R321.5bR463.2bR33.4b9.3x9.6x0.7x
Mon, 29 Aug 2022R355.5bR734.3bR26.3b12.2x13.5x0.5x
Wed, 27 Jul 2022R346.6bR734.3bR26.3b11.9x13.2x0.5x
Fri, 24 Jun 2022R348.2bR734.3bR26.3b11.6x13.2x0.5x
Sun, 22 May 2022R374.8bR734.3bR26.3b13.6x14.2x0.5x
Tue, 19 Apr 2022R442.9bR734.3bR26.3b14.8x16.8x0.6x
Thu, 17 Mar 2022R485.2bR779.3bR28.5b19.4x17x0.6x
Sat, 12 Feb 2022R478.4bR721.1bR22.8b23.5x21x0.7x
Mon, 10 Jan 2022R444.3bR721.1bR22.8b22.5x19.5x0.6x
Wed, 08 Dec 2021R412.2bR721.1bR22.8b21.3x18.1x0.6x
Fri, 05 Nov 2021R439.1bR721.1bR22.8b21.3x19.2x0.6x
Sun, 03 Oct 2021R446.6bR720.9bR22.7b21.4x19.7x0.6x
Tue, 31 Aug 2021R423.4bR719.9bR21.2b22.8x19.9x0.6x
Wed, 07 Jul 2021R398.4bR719.9bR21.2b19x18.8x0.6x
Price to Earnings Ratio

40.3x


Total Market Cap: R382.5bTotal Earnings: R9.5bTotal Revenue: R609.4bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
South African Insurance Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 15.5x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the South African Insurance industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 10.9x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 15.5x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.71x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Insurance industry have grown 54% per year over the last three years, while revenues have remained mostly flat.
  • This means that companies overall are more efficiently conducting business since profits are increasing while sales have been flat.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the South African Financials industry?

ZA Market0.60%
Financials-3.30%
Insurance-3.19%
Insurance Brokers0%
General Insurance0%
Reinsurance0%
Property and Casualty Insurance-2.11%
Life and Health Insurance-3.54%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Property and Casualty Insurance industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 16.7x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 11.2%, which is lower than the prior year's growth of 35.5% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Life and Health Insurance industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 15.2x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Life and Health Insurance industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 15% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 2.6% per year.
  • In contrast, the Property and Casualty Insurance industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 11% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
No data available
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.