Header cover image

South African (JSE) Industrials Sector Analysis

UpdatedJul 23, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies29
  • 7D-0.4%
  • 3M17.4%
  • 1Y9.8%
  • YTD11.7%

The Industrials is pretty flat in the last 7 days, but Hosken Consolidated Investments has stood out, gaining 4.8%. As for the the longer term, the industry is up 9.8% over the past 12 months. Earnings are forecast to grow by 13% annually.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the South African Industrials Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 24 Jul 2024R201.4bR452.4bR19.1b7.4x10.6x0.4x
Fri, 21 Jun 2024R199.2bR452.7bR19.1b7.7x10.5x0.4x
Sun, 19 May 2024R184.7bR441.1bR19.8b6.8x9.3x0.4x
Tue, 16 Apr 2024R170.0bR419.2bR20.8b5.3x8.2x0.4x
Thu, 14 Mar 2024R172.6bR417.2bR20.6b5.2x8.4x0.4x
Sat, 10 Feb 2024R166.1bR404.6bR20.7b5.5x8x0.4x
Mon, 08 Jan 2024R177.9bR423.0bR28.0b6.1x6.4x0.4x
Wed, 06 Dec 2023R175.9bR423.5bR28.0b6.1x6.3x0.4x
Fri, 03 Nov 2023R187.9bR409.3bR25.4b5.7x7.4x0.5x
Sun, 01 Oct 2023R189.1bR409.0bR25.5b5.5x7.4x0.5x
Tue, 29 Aug 2023R194.4bR413.0bR26.4b5.6x7.4x0.5x
Thu, 27 Jul 2023R188.8bR410.6bR27.5b5.7x6.9x0.5x
Sat, 24 Jun 2023R182.9bR410.4bR27.6b5.7x6.6x0.4x
Mon, 22 May 2023R173.5bR404.1bR25.6b6.1x6.8x0.4x
Wed, 19 Apr 2023R181.4bR401.0bR25.5b5.8x7.1x0.5x
Fri, 17 Mar 2023R183.5bR398.7bR25.4b5.4x7.2x0.5x
Sun, 12 Feb 2023R181.7bR389.7bR25.3b5.5x7.2x0.5x
Tue, 10 Jan 2023R173.5bR389.0bR25.2b6.1x6.9x0.4x
Thu, 08 Dec 2022R174.5bR380.8bR24.8b5.9x7x0.5x
Sat, 05 Nov 2022R172.2bR372.3bR24.9b6.6x6.9x0.5x
Mon, 03 Oct 2022R160.3bR372.2bR24.8b6.1x6.5x0.4x
Wed, 31 Aug 2022R188.1bR377.0bR22.6b6.9x8.3x0.5x
Fri, 29 Jul 2022R182.3bR368.1bR20.5b7.6x8.9x0.5x
Sun, 26 Jun 2022R183.8bR366.2bR20.4b8.2x9x0.5x
Tue, 24 May 2022R181.9bR363.9bR20.9b8.3x8.7x0.5x
Thu, 21 Apr 2022R192.7bR363.8bR20.4b8.4x9.4x0.5x
Sat, 19 Mar 2022R206.0bR433.9bR21.5b8.1x9.6x0.5x
Mon, 14 Feb 2022R278.6bR428.5bR21.8b9.4x12.8x0.7x
Wed, 12 Jan 2022R266.1bR428.0bR21.8b9.2x12.2x0.6x
Fri, 10 Dec 2021R264.1bR427.0bR21.6b8.2x12.2x0.6x
Sun, 07 Nov 2021R196.3bR435.1bR17.5b7.9x11.2x0.5x
Tue, 05 Oct 2021R192.0bR429.8bR17.4b8.1x11x0.4x
Thu, 02 Sep 2021R188.1bR426.8bR16.3b8x11.6x0.4x
Sat, 31 Jul 2021R183.4bR426.8bR16.3b7.5x11.3x0.4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

11.3x


Total Market Cap: R183.4bTotal Earnings: R16.3bTotal Revenue: R426.8bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
South African Industrials Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 8.5x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the South African Industrials industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 10.6x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 8.5x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.46x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Industrials industry have grown 5.4% per year over the last three years, while revenues have remained mostly flat.
  • This means that companies overall are more efficiently conducting business since profits are increasing while sales have been flat.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the South African Industrials sector?

ZA Market-1.98%
Industrials-0.41%
Commercial Services4.89%
Electrical4.49%
Transportation4.48%
Building2.40%
Logistics1.02%
Machinery0.87%
Construction0.34%
Aerospace & Defense0%
Airlines0%
Marine and Shipping0%
Professional Services-0.20%
Trade Distributors-0.25%
Infrastructure-0.32%
Industrials-0.94%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Construction industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 13.9x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 23.9%, which is higher than its past year's earnings growth of 18.9% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Construction industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 24% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings growth rate of 19% per year.
  • In contrast, the Transportation industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 4.5% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
HCI Hosken Consolidated InvestmentsR191.804.8%
+R711.7m
-15.9%PE23.8x
IVT Invicta HoldingsR32.508.3%
+R242.1m
16.1%PE6.5x
WBO Wilson Bayly Holmes-OvconR180.732.5%
+R228.1m
65.4%PE10.2x
KAP KAPR2.982.1%
+R149.6m
8.8%PE73.6x
HDC Hudaco IndustriesR176.962.9%
+R140.8m
11.3%PE8.8x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

IVT

R32.50

Invicta Holdings

7D

8.3%

1Y

16.1%

ISB

R0.78

Insimbi Industrial Holdings

7D

-2.5%

1Y

-27.8%

SSK

R2.94

Stefanutti Stocks Holdings

7D

-4.2%

1Y

121.1%

HCI

R191.80

Hosken Consolidated Investments

7D

4.8%

1Y

-15.9%

NVS

R6.15

Novus Holdings

7D

6.2%

1Y

111.3%

RBX

R44.00

Raubex Group

7D

-2.2%

1Y

56.6%

RLO

R71.67

Reunert

7D

-1.9%

1Y

23.2%

BVT

R270.00

Bidvest Group

7D

-3.2%

1Y

1.3%

HDC

R176.96

Hudaco Industries

7D

2.9%

1Y

11.3%

MTU

R1.25

Mantengu Mining

7D

-16.1%

1Y

-34.6%

GND

R15.59

Grindrod

7D

-0.3%

1Y

61.9%

KAP

R2.98

KAP

7D

2.1%

1Y

8.8%

WBO

R180.73

Wilson Bayly Holmes-Ovcon

7D

2.5%

1Y

65.4%

MUR

R2.63

Murray & Roberts Holdings

7D

6.5%

1Y

185.9%

AEG

R8.30

Aveng

7D

14.5%

1Y

3.4%