Header cover image

South African (JSE) Capital Markets Industry Analysis

UpdatedMay 26, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies18
  • 7D0.9%
  • 3M3.7%
  • 1Y15.4%
  • YTD1.8%

The Capital Markets is pretty flat in the last 7 days, but Coronation Fund Managers has stood out, gaining 6.2%. As for the the longer term, the industry is up 15% over the past 12 months. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 6.4% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the South African Capital Markets Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 26 May 2024R179.7bR69.8bR19.9b9.5x9x2.6x
Tue, 23 Apr 2024R166.8bR78.2bR20.2b9.8x8.3x2.1x
Thu, 21 Mar 2024R170.2bR78.6bR19.1b9.6x8.9x2.2x
Sat, 17 Feb 2024R174.8bR77.6bR15.4b10.8x11.3x2.3x
Mon, 15 Jan 2024R183.1bR81.6bR15.8b10.2x11.6x2.2x
Wed, 13 Dec 2023R175.1bR83.5bR16.7b10.1x10.5x2.1x
Fri, 10 Nov 2023R171.5bR78.7bR17.2b10.6x10x2.2x
Sun, 08 Oct 2023R169.5bR80.6bR18.0b10x9.4x2.1x
Tue, 05 Sep 2023R166.1bR79.6bR17.1b10.3x9.7x2.1x
Thu, 03 Aug 2023R164.0bR78.6bR16.4b11.7x10x2.1x
Sat, 01 Jul 2023R152.7bR79.3bR16.7b12.8x9.2x1.9x
Mon, 29 May 2023R152.9bR80.1bR18.5b13.1x8.3x1.9x
Wed, 26 Apr 2023R150.0bR74.3bR16.6b9.5x9x2x
Fri, 24 Mar 2023R151.0bR73.0bR18.9b9.9x8x2.1x
Sun, 19 Feb 2023R179.4bR74.1bR20.4b9x8.8x2.4x
Tue, 17 Jan 2023R176.1bR72.1bR19.8b9.6x8.9x2.4x
Thu, 15 Dec 2022R166.6bR73.2bR20.2b9.4x8.3x2.3x
Sat, 12 Nov 2022R164.0bR68.9bR21.0b8.9x7.8x2.4x
Mon, 10 Oct 2022R145.8bR68.2bR20.9b8.2x7x2.1x
Wed, 07 Sep 2022R151.2bR68.1bR21.2b7.8x7.1x2.2x
Fri, 05 Aug 2022R161.0bR68.4bR21.1b8.1x7.6x2.4x
Sun, 03 Jul 2022R157.8bR67.4bR19.4b9.6x8.1x2.3x
Tue, 31 May 2022R166.7bR68.0bR20.0b9.6x8.3x2.5x
Thu, 28 Apr 2022R172.9bR66.1bR18.2b10.4x9.5x2.6x
Sat, 26 Mar 2022R176.2bR64.4bR19.1b10x9.2x2.7x
Mon, 21 Feb 2022R174.5bR65.8bR18.5b10.3x9.5x2.7x
Wed, 19 Jan 2022R178.1bR66.8bR18.7b10.7x9.5x2.7x
Fri, 17 Dec 2021R166.3bR68.2bR17.8b10.5x9.4x2.4x
Sun, 14 Nov 2021R158.1bR60.3bR13.6b12.1x11.6x2.6x
Tue, 12 Oct 2021R142.6bR59.7bR13.4b11.6x10.6x2.4x
Thu, 09 Sep 2021R128.8bR59.0bR12.8b10.8x10.1x2.2x
Sat, 07 Aug 2021R129.0bR61.3bR12.8b11x10.1x2.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

10.6x


Total Market Cap: R135.7bTotal Earnings: R12.8bTotal Revenue: R61.1bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
South African Capital Markets Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 9.5x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the South African Capital Markets industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 9.5x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 2.3x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Capital Markets industry have grown 16% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 4.5% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the South African Financials industry?

ZA Market-0.52%
Financials0.11%
Capital Markets0.93%
Asset Management2.72%
Diversified Capital Markets0.075%
Investment Banking and Brokerage0%
Financial Exchanges and Data-0.23%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Asset Management industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Diversified Capital Markets industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average of 8.8x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Diversified Capital Markets industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 6.5% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 19% per year.
  • In contrast, the Financial Exchanges and Data industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 4.5% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
CML Coronation Fund ManagersR34.776.2%
+R709.7m
9.2%PE9.2x
KST PSG Financial ServicesR15.972.8%
+R545.2m
35.9%PE19.6x
AFH Alexander Forbes Group HoldingsR6.603.9%
+R308.6m
20.0%PE12.1x
BAT BraitR1.193.5%
+R52.8m
-62.2%PB0.2x
SYG SygniaR21.341.6%
+R51.3m
21.6%PE10.7x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

KST

R15.97

PSG Financial Services

7D

2.8%

1Y

35.9%

AFH

R6.60

Alexander Forbes Group Holdings

7D

3.9%

1Y

20.0%

BAT

R1.19

Brait

7D

3.5%

1Y

-62.2%

CML

R34.77

Coronation Fund Managers

7D

6.2%

1Y

9.2%

PPE

R0.76

Purple Group

7D

-1.3%

1Y

-26.2%

VUN

R2.55

Vunani

7D

10.9%

1Y

-5.6%

AIL

R5.60

African Rainbow Capital Investments

7D

-0.4%

1Y

-10.4%

EPE

R3.82

EPE Capital Partners

7D

0.5%

1Y

-29.3%

RHB

R2.50

RH Bophelo

7D

-3.8%

1Y

-7.4%

SYG

R21.34

Sygnia

7D

1.6%

1Y

21.6%

YYLBEE

R20.00

YeboYethu (RF)

7D

-2.4%

1Y

-41.2%