Header cover image

South African (JSE) Retail REITs Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 18, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies8
  • 7D1.2%
  • 3M-1.4%
  • 1Y3.1%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Retail REITs industry has risen 1.2%, driven by gains in Hyprop Investments and Resilient REIT of 3.4% and 2.4%, respectively. This means that the industry has gained 3.1% over the past year.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the South African Retail REITs Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 18 Jun 2024R60.2bR20.0bR8.6b5.4x7x3x
Thu, 16 May 2024R59.6bR19.8bR9.3b4.7x6.4x3x
Sat, 13 Apr 2024R57.7bR19.7bR9.4b4.7x6.1x2.9x
Mon, 11 Mar 2024R61.5bR17.3bR9.2b5.6x6.7x3.6x
Wed, 07 Feb 2024R61.6bR17.3bR9.2b5.6x6.7x3.6x
Fri, 05 Jan 2024R67.0bR19.7bR10.0b6.1x6.7x3.4x
Sun, 03 Dec 2023R63.1bR19.7bR10.2b6.1x6.2x3.2x
Tue, 31 Oct 2023R60.8bR19.4bR10.5b4.7x5.8x3.1x
Thu, 28 Sep 2023R66.0bR20.1bR11.5b4.7x5.7x3.3x
Sat, 26 Aug 2023R66.2bR19.6bR11.2b4.7x5.9x3.4x
Mon, 24 Jul 2023R63.5bR19.5bR11.1b5.1x5.7x3.3x
Wed, 21 Jun 2023R63.7bR19.4bR12.0b4.9x5.3x3.3x
Fri, 19 May 2023R63.3bR17.8bR10.5b5.4x6x3.5x
Sun, 16 Apr 2023R65.7bR17.8bR10.5b5.7x6.2x3.7x
Tue, 14 Mar 2023R60.2bR16.3bR10.7b5x5.6x3.7x
Thu, 09 Feb 2023R61.0bR16.3bR10.6b4.8x5.8x3.7x
Sat, 07 Jan 2023R60.7bR16.3bR10.6b5.2x5.7x3.7x
Mon, 05 Dec 2022R60.5bR16.3bR10.4b5.8x5.8x3.7x
Wed, 02 Nov 2022R60.7bR16.0bR9.3b8.1x6.5x3.8x
Fri, 30 Sep 2022R58.0bR16.4bR7.9b8.7x7.3x3.5x
Sun, 28 Aug 2022R62.9bR16.4bR7.9b9x7.9x3.8x
Tue, 26 Jul 2022R62.7bR15.1bR7.4b9.2x8.4x4.2x
Thu, 23 Jun 2022R61.0bR15.1bR6.8b7.1x8.9x4x
Sat, 21 May 2022R56.5bR13.6bR5.6b9.7x10.1x4.1x
Mon, 18 Apr 2022R55.8bR12.3bR5.1b9.4x10.9x4.5x
Wed, 16 Mar 2022R61.0bR11.3bR2.0b11.2x29.7x5.4x
Fri, 11 Feb 2022R56.8bR10.7bR1.6b9.4x36.6x5.3x
Sun, 09 Jan 2022R59.1bR10.7bR1.6b9.4x38.1x5.5x
Tue, 07 Dec 2021R56.6bR10.7bR1.6b9.4x36.5x5.3x
Thu, 04 Nov 2021R54.5bR10.1bR278.0m16.8x196.1x5.4x
Sat, 02 Oct 2021R53.0bR10.1bR278.0m16.7x190.5x5.2x
Mon, 30 Aug 2021R51.0bR10.2b-R2,281,703,833.0016.3x-22.3x5x
Tue, 06 Jul 2021R49.3bR10.2b-R2,281,703,833.0016.3x-21.6x4.8x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-21.6x


Total Market Cap: R49.3bTotal Earnings: -R2,281,703,833.00Total Revenue: R10.2bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
South African Retail REITs Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 21.1x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the South African Retail REITs industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 7.0x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 21.2x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 4.0x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 3.0x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Retail REITs industry have gone up over the last three years, and the industry is now profitable. Revenues have grown 25% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by the industry overall, and subsequently profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does South African Retail REITs compare with similar industries?

ZA Market2.62%
Real Estate1.30%
REITS3.48%
Retail REITs1.24%
Diversified REITs3.48%
Industrial REITs1.10%
Residential REITs0%
Specialized REITs0%
Hotel and Resort REITs0%
Healthcare REITs0%
Office REITs-3.29%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
RES Resilient REITR48.4211.6%
+R1.7b
12.6%PB0.7x
HYP Hyprop InvestmentsR31.009.5%
+R1.0b
-1.6%PB0.5x
SAR Safari Investments RSAR5.596.5%
+R87.4m
0%PB0.6x
DIB Dipula Income FundR3.801.3%
+R45.6m
10.1%PB0.6x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

VKE

R15.01

Vukile Property Fund

7D

-0.7%

1Y

9.6%

SAR

R5.59

Safari Investments RSA

7D

6.5%

1Y

0%

DIB

R3.80

Dipula Income Fund

7D

1.3%

1Y

10.1%

RES

R48.42

Resilient REIT

7D

11.6%

1Y

12.6%