Header cover image

South African (JSE) Hospitality Industry Analysis

UpdatedJul 13, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies7
  • 7D-0.6%
  • 3M4.4%
  • 1Y7.2%
  • YTD-2.7%

Over the last 7 days, the Hospitality industry has remained flat. The past year has been better, since the industry has gained 7.2% in that time.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the South African Hospitality Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 13 Jul 2024R40.8bR42.8bR4.3b11.7x9.5x1x
Mon, 10 Jun 2024R38.5bR42.8bR4.3b10.3x8.9x0.9x
Wed, 08 May 2024R38.7bR42.4bR4.6b10.6x8.5x0.9x
Fri, 05 Apr 2024R39.3bR42.4bR4.6b10.5x8.6x0.9x
Sun, 03 Mar 2024R41.0bR42.2bR4.3b12.3x9.6x1x
Tue, 30 Jan 2024R41.8bR42.2bR4.2b12.3x9.9x1x
Thu, 28 Dec 2023R43.2bR42.2bR4.2b12.5x10.2x1x
Sat, 25 Nov 2023R42.6bR41.8bR4.0b12.9x10.7x1x
Mon, 23 Oct 2023R41.5bR40.8bR4.1b11.3x10x1x
Wed, 20 Sep 2023R42.8bR40.8bR4.1b10.7x10.5x1x
Fri, 18 Aug 2023R40.5bR39.7bR3.9b11.2x10.3x1x
Sun, 16 Jul 2023R38.7bR39.5bR3.9b10.5x9.8x1x
Tue, 13 Jun 2023R41.8bR39.5bR3.9b10.9x10.6x1.1x
Thu, 11 May 2023R40.6bR37.7bR3.5b12.7x11.6x1.1x
Sat, 08 Apr 2023R43.1bR37.7bR3.5b12.4x12.3x1.1x
Mon, 06 Mar 2023R40.6bR35.7bR3.5b13x11.6x1.1x
Wed, 01 Feb 2023R40.1bR34.9bR3.3b14.7x12.2x1.1x
Fri, 30 Dec 2022R40.0bR34.9bR3.3b15.1x12.2x1.1x
Sun, 27 Nov 2022R41.9bR33.3bR2.8b14.7x15x1.3x
Tue, 25 Oct 2022R36.0bR31.1bR2.3b14x15.7x1.2x
Thu, 22 Sep 2022R37.7bR32.3bR1.9b14.1x19.6x1.2x
Sat, 20 Aug 2022R36.5bR29.4bR1.6b16.7x22.4x1.2x
Mon, 18 Jul 2022R35.0bR29.5bR1.6b16.5x21.5x1.2x
Wed, 15 Jun 2022R34.8bR29.2bR2.5b10.8x13.7x1.2x
Fri, 13 May 2022R34.4bR27.2bR1.3b13.5x26.5x1.3x
Sun, 10 Apr 2022R37.6bR27.2bR1.3b14.1x28.4x1.4x
Tue, 08 Mar 2022R33.7bR27.0bR1.2b14x28.6x1.2x
Thu, 03 Feb 2022R36.8bR26.7bR628.7m16.6x58.5x1.4x
Sat, 01 Jan 2022R38.7bR24.4b-R257,134,415.0035.1x-150.7x1.6x
Mon, 29 Nov 2021R33.3bR24.3b-R274,188,227.0029.4x-121.3x1.4x
Wed, 27 Oct 2021R38.4bR22.6b-R1,771,073,675.0052.4x-21.7x1.7x
Fri, 24 Sep 2021R31.0bR22.1b-R1,975,744,709.00253.4x-15.7x1.4x
Sun, 22 Aug 2021R30.4bR22.2b-R2,253,889,993.44255.5x-13.5x1.4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-12.7x


Total Market Cap: R28.7bTotal Earnings: -R2,253,889,993.44Total Revenue: R22.2bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
South African Hospitality Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 3.2x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the South African Hospitality industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 9.5x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 3.2x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.2x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 0.95x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Hospitality industry have gone up over the last three years, and the industry is now profitable. Revenues have grown 25% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by the industry overall, and subsequently profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the South African Consumer Discretionary industry?

ZA Market0.59%
Consumer Discretionary2.71%
Hospitality-0.57%
Restaurants0.45%
Leisure Facilities0%
Casinos and Gaming-0.19%
Hotels, Resorts and Cruise Lines-2.28%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Restaurants industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 8.2x.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Casinos and Gaming industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 24.4x.
Forecasted GrowthThere is insufficient data on the sub-industries of this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
TSG Tsogo SunR11.410.7%
+R83.1m
-4.9%PE7.7x
SUR SpurR34.201.5%
+R40.5m
44.9%PE12.1x
GPL Grand Parade InvestmentsR3.401.8%
+R25.8m
25.5%PE49.6x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

FBR

R53.50

Famous Brands

7D

-0.4%

1Y

-7.6%

SUR

R34.20

Spur

7D

1.5%

1Y

44.9%

CLH

R4.45

City Lodge Hotels

7D

-0.9%

1Y

-11.0%

SUI

R37.50

Sun International

7D

-1.3%

1Y

12.4%

SSU

R5.62

Southern Sun

7D

-2.8%

1Y

35.4%

GPL

R3.40

Grand Parade Investments

7D

1.8%

1Y

25.5%