Header cover image

South African (JSE) Asset Management Industry Analysis

UpdatedMay 24, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies15
  • 7D0.8%
  • 3M3.5%
  • 1Y5.1%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Asset Management industry has risen 2.4%, driven by gains from Coronation Fund Managers of 5.3%. During this same period, the African Rainbow Capital Investments underperformed, falling 5.4%. In the last 12 months, the industry was up 5.1%.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the South African Asset Management Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Fri, 24 May 2024R57.5bR21.4bR4.9b10.3x11.7x2.7x
Sun, 21 Apr 2024R54.6bR21.3bR4.3b11x12.7x2.6x
Tue, 19 Mar 2024R52.6bR21.0bR3.0b11x17.3x2.5x
Thu, 15 Feb 2024R58.4bR20.4b-R520,631,000.0014.5x-112.1x2.9x
Sat, 13 Jan 2024R62.5bR24.4b-R147,838,000.0012.1x-423x2.6x
Mon, 11 Dec 2023R61.3bR26.1bR727.8m10.9x84.2x2.4x
Wed, 08 Nov 2023R61.0bR25.8b-R1,126,450,977.0016.1x-54.2x2.4x
Fri, 06 Oct 2023R62.0bR25.9b-R910,857,977.0014.7x-68x2.4x
Sun, 03 Sep 2023R56.7bR23.8b-R2,187,724,977.0015.6x-25.9x2.4x
Tue, 01 Aug 2023R57.1bR24.1b-R2,400,034,977.0018.3x-23.8x2.4x
Thu, 29 Jun 2023R54.7bR24.1b-R2,400,034,977.0017.6x-22.8x2.3x
Sat, 27 May 2023R58.5bR24.0b-R860,855,786.0015.9x-68x2.4x
Mon, 24 Apr 2023R58.0bR24.1b-R224,539,786.009.9x-258.3x2.4x
Wed, 22 Mar 2023R57.3bR23.8bR2.4b10.1x24.2x2.4x
Fri, 17 Feb 2023R68.6bR26.0bR4.2b9.5x16.2x2.6x
Sun, 15 Jan 2023R69.5bR26.0bR4.2b9.6x16.4x2.7x
Tue, 13 Dec 2022R66.4bR26.0bR4.3b9.7x15.6x2.6x
Thu, 10 Nov 2022R66.3bR27.2bR10.4b8.7x6.4x2.4x
Sat, 08 Oct 2022R65.2bR27.0bR10.4b8.1x6.3x2.4x
Mon, 05 Sep 2022R65.4bR27.2bR10.1b7.4x6.4x2.4x
Wed, 03 Aug 2022R68.3bR27.0bR10.6b7.8x6.5x2.5x
Fri, 01 Jul 2022R69.4bR27.0bR9.3b9.3x7.5x2.6x
Sun, 29 May 2022R71.2bR28.0bR9.9b8.8x7.2x2.5x
Tue, 26 Apr 2022R76.0bR28.2bR10.1b8.1x7.5x2.7x
Thu, 24 Mar 2022R80.4bR28.0bR11.4b8x7.1x2.9x
Sat, 19 Feb 2022R83.5bR27.2bR10.3b10.1x8.1x3.1x
Mon, 17 Jan 2022R87.7bR27.3bR10.3b10.7x8.5x3.2x
Wed, 15 Dec 2021R79.3bR27.9bR9.2b9.6x8.6x2.8x
Fri, 12 Nov 2021R81.4bR26.8bR8.3b11.8x9.8x3x
Sun, 10 Oct 2021R74.4bR26.9bR8.1b11.2x9.1x2.8x
Tue, 07 Sep 2021R69.1bR25.9bR7.5b10.4x9.2x2.7x
Thu, 05 Aug 2021R66.6bR28.2bR7.6b10.7x8.8x2.4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

9.4x


Total Market Cap: R69.6bTotal Earnings: R7.4bTotal Revenue: R28.0bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
South African Asset Management Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average -34.6x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the South African Asset Management and Custody Banks industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 13.7x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of -34.6x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 2.6x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Asset Management and Custody Banks industry have declined 17% per year over the last three years,
  • Revenues have also declined 8.7% per year.
  • This means overall sales from these companies are declining and profits are subsequently falling as well.

Industry Comparison

How does South African Asset Management compare with similar industries?

ZA Market-1.07%
Financials-0.46%
Capital Markets-1.78%
Asset Management0.78%
Financial Exchanges and Data2.40%
Investment Banking and Brokerage0%
Diversified Capital Markets-3.40%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
CML Coronation Fund ManagersR34.776.2%
+R709.7m
9.2%PE9.2x
KST PSG Financial ServicesR15.972.8%
+R545.2m
35.9%PE19.6x
AFH Alexander Forbes Group HoldingsR6.603.9%
+R308.6m
20.0%PE12.1x
BAT BraitR1.193.5%
+R52.8m
-62.2%PB0.2x
SYG SygniaR21.341.6%
+R51.3m
21.6%PE10.7x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

AFH

R6.60

Alexander Forbes Group Holdings

7D

3.9%

1Y

20.0%

BAT

R1.19

Brait

7D

3.5%

1Y

-62.2%

KST

R15.97

PSG Financial Services

7D

2.8%

1Y

35.9%

CML

R34.77

Coronation Fund Managers

7D

6.2%

1Y

9.2%

PPE

R0.76

Purple Group

7D

-1.3%

1Y

-26.2%

AIL

R5.60

African Rainbow Capital Investments

7D

-0.4%

1Y

-10.4%

EPE

R3.82

EPE Capital Partners

7D

0.5%

1Y

-29.3%

RHB

R2.50

RH Bophelo

7D

-3.8%

1Y

-7.4%

SYG

R21.34

Sygnia

7D

1.6%

1Y

21.6%

YYLBEE

R20.00

YeboYethu (RF)

7D

-2.4%

1Y

-41.2%