Header cover image

South African (JSE) Packaged Foods and Meats Industry Analysis

UpdatedMay 25, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies12
  • 7D-0.8%
  • 3M3.1%
  • 1Y15.0%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Packaged Foods and Meats industry has remained flat, although notably Quantum Foods Holdings declined by 28%. As for the the longer term, the industry is up 16% over the past 12 months. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 13% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the South African Packaged Foods and Meats Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 25 May 2024R104.7bR180.6bR8.4b9.4x12.5x0.6x
Mon, 22 Apr 2024R101.8bR180.2bR8.1b9.5x12.6x0.6x
Wed, 20 Mar 2024R104.2bR180.2bR8.1b9.1x12.9x0.6x
Fri, 16 Feb 2024R102.7bR178.0bR7.3b10.2x14.1x0.6x
Sun, 14 Jan 2024R98.8bR193.9bR6.0b10.5x16.4x0.5x
Tue, 12 Dec 2023R97.8bR193.9bR6.0b10.6x16.2x0.5x
Thu, 09 Nov 2023R90.8bR192.1bR7.2b9.7x12.6x0.5x
Sat, 07 Oct 2023R88.4bR192.1bR7.2b9.6x12.3x0.5x
Mon, 04 Sep 2023R93.5bR190.5bR7.4b9.4x12.6x0.5x
Wed, 02 Aug 2023R91.7bR190.5bR7.4b9.3x12.3x0.5x
Fri, 30 Jun 2023R89.8bR190.5bR7.4b9.5x12.1x0.5x
Sun, 28 May 2023R91.2bR168.5bR6.5b10x14.1x0.5x
Tue, 25 Apr 2023R96.7bR167.0bR6.9b10.5x14x0.6x
Thu, 23 Mar 2023R86.7bR167.0bR6.9b10.4x12.5x0.5x
Sat, 18 Feb 2023R94.9bR160.8bR7.7b10.7x12.4x0.6x
Mon, 16 Jan 2023R97.4bR160.8bR7.7b10.1x12.7x0.6x
Wed, 14 Dec 2022R96.4bR160.2bR7.7b9.8x12.5x0.6x
Fri, 11 Nov 2022R90.8bR154.0bR6.0b10.5x15.2x0.6x
Sun, 09 Oct 2022R88.4bR154.0bR6.0b10.3x14.7x0.6x
Tue, 06 Sep 2022R87.2bR151.4bR6.0b10.5x14.5x0.6x
Thu, 04 Aug 2022R83.6bR150.8bR6.2b10.4x13.4x0.6x
Sat, 02 Jul 2022R79.0bR150.8bR6.2b10.6x12.6x0.5x
Mon, 30 May 2022R81.3bR150.9bR6.5b9.9x12.6x0.5x
Wed, 27 Apr 2022R83.1bR148.2bR6.1b9.8x13.6x0.6x
Fri, 25 Mar 2022R85.6bR148.0bR5.8b10.3x14.8x0.6x
Sun, 20 Feb 2022R94.9bR147.5bR5.5b13.2x17.3x0.6x
Tue, 18 Jan 2022R96.8bR147.5bR5.5b11.9x17.6x0.7x
Thu, 16 Dec 2021R93.2bR132.1bR6.8b11x13.8x0.7x
Sat, 13 Nov 2021R99.5bR130.7bR7.2b10.2x13.8x0.8x
Mon, 11 Oct 2021R99.2bR130.7bR7.2b10.4x13.8x0.8x
Wed, 08 Sep 2021R91.3bR130.7bR7.2b9.9x12.7x0.7x
Fri, 06 Aug 2021R90.1bR130.7bR7.2b9.6x12.5x0.7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

16.5x


Total Market Cap: R98.9bTotal Earnings: R6.0bTotal Revenue: R129.2bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
South African Packaged Foods and Meats Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 14.6x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the South African Packaged Foods and Meats industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 12.4x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 14.6x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.62x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Packaged Foods and Meats industry have grown 12% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 12% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does South African Packaged Foods and Meats compare with similar industries?

ZA Market-0.52%
Consumer Staples-0.54%
Food-0.77%
Packaged Foods and Meats-0.77%
Agricultural Products-0.31%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
TBS Tiger BrandsR207.000.7%
+R234.6m
9.4%PE12x
RFG RFG HoldingsR13.995.7%
+R197.7m
31.4%PE7.6x
ARL Astral FoodsR153.353.1%
+R179.2m
-1.4%PS0.3x
SHG Sea Harvest GroupR7.901.9%
+R41.3m
-16.8%PE7.7x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

QFH

R10.30

Quantum Foods Holdings

7D

-27.7%

1Y

139.5%

AVI

R89.00

AVI

7D

-0.6%

1Y

36.9%

RFG

R13.99

RFG Holdings

7D

5.7%

1Y

31.4%

TBS

R207.00

Tiger Brands

7D

0.7%

1Y

9.4%

ARL

R153.35

Astral Foods

7D

3.1%

1Y

-1.4%

LBR

R3.70

Libstar Holdings

7D

-2.6%

1Y

-9.3%

OCE

R72.70

Oceana Group

7D

-1.1%

1Y

4.2%

PMR

R61.80

Premier Group

7D

-1.1%

1Y

10.9%

RCL

R10.21

RCL Foods

7D

-2.8%

1Y

8.0%