Header cover image

Sri Lankan (CSE) Diversified Financial Industry Analysis

UpdatedJul 20, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies4
  • 7D0.8%
  • 3M2.4%
  • 1Y-13.9%
  • YTD6.9%

In the last week, the Diversified Financial industry is up 2.2%, with all of the companies up. In the past year, the industry is down 10%.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Sri Lankan Diversified Financial Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 21 Jul 2024LK₨12.4bLK₨10.9bLK₨2.0b19.9x6.3x1.1x
Tue, 18 Jun 2024LK₨11.9bLK₨10.9bLK₨2.0b20.5x6x1.1x
Thu, 16 May 2024LK₨13.2bLK₨10.0bLK₨1.5b29.3x8.7x1.3x
Sat, 13 Apr 2024LK₨12.2bLK₨10.0bLK₨1.5b25.2x8x1.2x
Mon, 11 Mar 2024LK₨11.0bLK₨10.0bLK₨1.6b21.9x7.1x1.1x
Wed, 07 Feb 2024LK₨10.4bLK₨9.1bLK₨1.3b25.5x7.7x1.1x
Fri, 05 Jan 2024LK₨13.3bLK₨9.8bLK₨1.5b17.4x8.9x1.4x
Sun, 03 Dec 2023LK₨13.9bLK₨9.8bLK₨1.5b17.4x9.4x1.4x
Tue, 31 Oct 2023LK₨13.7bLK₨6.5b-LK₨207,061,153.0049.7x-66.3x2.1x
Thu, 28 Sep 2023LK₨14.6bLK₨6.4b-LK₨240,385,153.0081.5x-60.8x2.3x
Sat, 26 Aug 2023LK₨15.6bLK₨6.4b-LK₨240,385,153.0081.5x-65x2.4x
Mon, 24 Jul 2023LK₨16.0bLK₨6.2b-LK₨414,524,553.0017.4x-38.5x2.6x
Wed, 21 Jun 2023LK₨12.8bLK₨6.2b-LK₨459,578,553.0017.4x-27.8x2.1x
Fri, 19 May 2023LK₨12.2bLK₨6.5bLK₨34.6m27.3x351.1x1.9x
Sun, 16 Apr 2023LK₨13.5bLK₨6.9bLK₨319.1m29.9x42.3x2x
Tue, 14 Mar 2023LK₨12.3bLK₨4.7bLK₨293.3m50.3x41.9x2.6x
Thu, 09 Feb 2023LK₨12.0bLK₨4.6bLK₨308.3m37x38.8x2.6x
Sat, 07 Jan 2023LK₨12.1bLK₨4.6bLK₨308.3m37.2x39.1x2.6x
Mon, 05 Dec 2022LK₨11.2bLK₨4.0bLK₨207.6m56.6x54.1x2.8x
Wed, 02 Nov 2022LK₨10.4bLK₨4.0bLK₨282.2m20.6x36.9x2.6x
Fri, 30 Sep 2022LK₨13.1bLK₨4.0bLK₨282.2m25x46.4x3.3x
Sun, 28 Aug 2022LK₨9.5bLK₨4.0bLK₨282.2m21.1x33.7x2.4x
Tue, 26 Jul 2022LK₨8.8bLK₨4.3bLK₨575.0m17.4x15.3x2.1x
Thu, 23 Jun 2022LK₨8.8bLK₨4.3bLK₨575.0m17.4x15.3x2.1x
Sat, 21 May 2022LK₨185.4bLK₨15.4bLK₨5.2b27.7x35.8x12.1x
Mon, 18 Apr 2022LK₨184.5bLK₨15.5bLK₨5.3b27.6x34.5x11.9x
Wed, 16 Mar 2022LK₨201.6bLK₨15.6bLK₨5.4b28.9x37.4x12.9x
Fri, 11 Feb 2022LK₨265.0bLK₨13.1bLK₨4.3b41.3x61.8x20.3x
Sun, 09 Jan 2022LK₨212.6bLK₨13.1bLK₨4.3b34.1x49.6x16.3x
Tue, 07 Dec 2021LK₨220.2bLK₨13.1bLK₨4.3b35.2x51.4x16.8x
Thu, 04 Nov 2021LK₨464.0bLK₨10.8bLK₨2.7b95x174.1x43.1x
Sat, 02 Oct 2021LK₨178.5bLK₨10.8bLK₨2.7b40.9x67x16.6x
Mon, 30 Aug 2021LK₨146.1bLK₨10.8bLK₨2.7b34.4x54.8x13.6x
Price to Earnings Ratio

21.1x


Total Market Cap: LK₨56.2bTotal Earnings: LK₨2.7bTotal Revenue: LK₨10.8bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Sri Lankan Diversified Financial Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 22.6x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Sri Lankan Diversified Financial industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 6.0x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 22.6x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 6.3x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.1x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Diversified Financial industry have declined 9.4% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues have remained mostly flat.
  • This means that although sales have remained flat, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Sri Lankan Financials industry?

LK Market-1.12%
Financials-1.70%
Diversified Financial0.79%
Other Diversified Financial Services6.00%
Specialized Finance0.52%
Multi-Sector Holdings0%
Transaction and Payment Processing Services0%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Specialized Finance industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Other Diversified Financial Services industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average of 20.6x.
Forecasted GrowthThere is insufficient data on the sub-industries of this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
MBSL.N0000 Merchant Bank of Sri Lanka & FinanceLK₨5.306.0%
+LK₨157.4m
1.9%PE19.8x
PMB.N0000 People's Merchant FinanceLK₨5.102.0%
+LK₨40.5m
-1.9%PE20.1x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

PMB.N0000

LK₨5.10

People's Merchant Finance

7D

2.0%

1Y

-1.9%

MBSL.N0000

LK₨5.30

Merchant Bank of Sri Lanka & Finance

7D

6.0%

1Y

1.9%