Header cover image

Sri Lankan (CSE) Packaged Foods and Meats Industry Analysis

UpdatedMay 24, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies21
  • 7D-0.4%
  • 3M20.5%
  • 1Y16.0%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Packaged Foods and Meats industry has dropped 1.2%, driven by a pullback from Browns Investments of 4.5%. In the past year, the industry has gained 17%.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Sri Lankan Packaged Foods and Meats Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Fri, 24 May 2024LK₨268.1bLK₨492.2bLK₨35.5b6.1x7.5x0.5x
Sun, 21 Apr 2024LK₨249.7bLK₨492.5bLK₨35.4b5.7x7.1x0.5x
Tue, 19 Mar 2024LK₨245.9bLK₨492.2bLK₨33.8b7x7.3x0.5x
Thu, 15 Feb 2024LK₨225.3bLK₨512.6bLK₨9.4b6.3x23.9x0.4x
Sat, 13 Jan 2024LK₨291.2bLK₨595.4bLK₨20.7b5.9x14x0.5x
Mon, 11 Dec 2023LK₨300.5bLK₨594.4bLK₨9.4b5.9x32.1x0.5x
Wed, 08 Nov 2023LK₨306.3bLK₨618.9bLK₨13.7b4.7x22.3x0.5x
Fri, 06 Oct 2023LK₨311.9bLK₨619.8bLK₨14.7b4.9x21.3x0.5x
Sun, 03 Sep 2023LK₨312.4bLK₨612.3bLK₨21.0b5.4x14.8x0.5x
Tue, 01 Aug 2023LK₨323.9bLK₨620.9bLK₨41.8b5.2x7.8x0.5x
Thu, 29 Jun 2023LK₨298.8bLK₨620.7bLK₨40.2b4.8x7.4x0.5x
Sat, 27 May 2023LK₨288.8bLK₨594.9bLK₨84.9b3.3x3.4x0.5x
Mon, 24 Apr 2023LK₨306.1bLK₨588.4bLK₨80.0b3.7x3.8x0.5x
Wed, 22 Mar 2023LK₨322.0bLK₨588.4bLK₨80.0b3.8x4x0.5x
Fri, 17 Feb 2023LK₨301.2bLK₨571.9bLK₨84.0b3.6x3.6x0.5x
Sun, 15 Jan 2023LK₨298.7bLK₨526.4bLK₨84.3b3.5x3.5x0.6x
Tue, 13 Dec 2022LK₨331.9bLK₨526.4bLK₨84.3b3.8x3.9x0.6x
Thu, 10 Nov 2022LK₨301.4bLK₨455.2bLK₨80.5b4.7x3.7x0.7x
Sat, 08 Oct 2022LK₨320.2bLK₨438.8bLK₨77.2b4.8x4.1x0.7x
Mon, 05 Sep 2022LK₨354.5bLK₨438.8bLK₨77.2b5.5x4.6x0.8x
Wed, 03 Aug 2022LK₨306.9bLK₨372.8bLK₨59.9b6.1x5.1x0.8x
Fri, 01 Jul 2022LK₨290.3bLK₨360.8bLK₨58.1b4.2x5x0.8x
Sun, 29 May 2022LK₨338.4bLK₨295.4bLK₨17.4b8.9x19.5x1.1x
Tue, 26 Apr 2022LK₨259.6bLK₨291.0bLK₨19.4b8x13.4x0.9x
Thu, 24 Mar 2022LK₨362.8bLK₨291.0bLK₨19.4b8.3x18.7x1.2x
Sat, 19 Feb 2022LK₨434.6bLK₨288.2bLK₨17.9b10.1x24.3x1.5x
Mon, 17 Jan 2022LK₨496.4bLK₨266.3bLK₨16.1b12.3x30.8x1.9x
Wed, 15 Dec 2021LK₨426.9bLK₨266.0bLK₨16.1b10.7x26.5x1.6x
Fri, 12 Nov 2021LK₨385.4bLK₨253.1bLK₨15.4b8x25x1.5x
Sun, 10 Oct 2021LK₨362.4bLK₨252.4bLK₨15.5b9.3x23.4x1.4x
Tue, 07 Sep 2021LK₨351.9bLK₨252.4bLK₨15.5b9.2x22.7x1.4x
Thu, 05 Aug 2021LK₨296.4bLK₨251.6bLK₨15.9b8.2x18.7x1.2x
Price to Earnings Ratio

20.1x


Total Market Cap: LK₨277.3bTotal Earnings: LK₨13.8bTotal Revenue: LK₨228.6bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Sri Lankan Packaged Foods and Meats Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 13.6x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Sri Lankan Packaged Foods and Meats industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 7.6x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 13.6x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.84x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Packaged Foods and Meats industry have grown 37% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 29% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does Sri Lankan Packaged Foods and Meats compare with similar industries?

LK Market0.69%
Consumer Staples0.46%
Food-0.28%
Packaged Foods and Meats-0.43%
Agricultural Products0.015%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
NAMU.N0000 Namunukula PlantationsLK₨352.252.7%
+LK₨219.7m
-0.5%PE3.9x
LMF.N0000 Lanka Milk Foods (CWE)LK₨31.600.6%
+LK₨80.0m
127.3%PE6.3x
GRAN.N0000 Ceylon Grain ElevatorsLK₨179.250.6%
+LK₨60.0m
101.2%PE3.4x
BFL.N0000 Bairaha FarmsLK₨182.751.8%
+LK₨57.2m
36.9%PE53.2x
TSML.N0000 Tea Smallholder FactoriesLK₨42.404.2%
+LK₨51.0m
8.7%PE204.2x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

TSML.N0000

LK₨42.40

Tea Smallholder Factories

7D

4.2%

1Y

8.7%

KFP.N0000

LK₨153.50

Keells Food Products

7D

-1.0%

1Y

-4.1%

COCO.N0000

LK₨13.90

Renuka Foods

7D

-1.4%

1Y

-26.4%

RAL.N0000

LK₨3.60

Renuka Agri Foods

7D

-2.7%

1Y

-25.4%

CARS.N0000

LK₨280.00

Carson Cumberbatch

7D

-1.9%

1Y

5.9%

TPL.N0000

LK₨119.00

Talawakelle Tea Estates

7D

-1.7%

1Y

26.7%

TAFL.N0000

LK₨310.50

Three Acre Farms

7D

0.4%

1Y

131.7%

GRAN.N0000

LK₨179.25

Ceylon Grain Elevators

7D

0.6%

1Y

101.2%

MAL.N0000

LK₨55.80

Malwatte Valley Plantations

7D

-8.2%

1Y

-25.0%

NAMU.N0000

LK₨352.25

Namunukula Plantations

7D

2.7%

1Y

-0.5%

LMF.N0000

LK₨31.60

Lanka Milk Foods (CWE)

7D

0.6%

1Y

127.3%

UDPL.N0000

LK₨72.00

Udapussellawa Plantations

7D

1.0%

1Y

-1.4%

MASK.N0000

LK₨30.50

Maskeliya Plantations

7D

-3.2%

1Y

-17.3%

KOTA.N0000

LK₨6.30

Kotagala Plantations

7D

1.6%

1Y

5.0%

BFL.N0000

LK₨182.75

Bairaha Farms

7D

1.8%

1Y

36.9%