Header cover image

Sri Lankan (CSE) Life and Health Insurance Industry Analysis

UpdatedJun 23, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies5
  • 7D0.2%
  • 3M1.5%
  • 1Y26.1%
  • YTDn/a

In the last week, Life and Health Insurance has been flat. The past year has been better, since the industry has gained 26% in that time.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Sri Lankan Life and Health Insurance Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 23 Jun 2024LK₨47.3bLK₨86.4bLK₨5.9b7.5x7.9x0.5x
Tue, 21 May 2024LK₨47.8bLK₨84.2bLK₨3.7b7.6x12.8x0.6x
Thu, 18 Apr 2024LK₨48.3bLK₨82.4bLK₨3.7b7.6x13.2x0.6x
Sat, 16 Mar 2024LK₨47.9bLK₨82.6bLK₨4.3b16.2x11x0.6x
Mon, 12 Feb 2024LK₨41.9bLK₨79.8bLK₨3.0b16x14x0.5x
Wed, 10 Jan 2024LK₨43.0bLK₨79.8bLK₨3.0b15.2x14.3x0.5x
Fri, 08 Dec 2023LK₨41.6bLK₨79.8bLK₨3.0b16.1x13.9x0.5x
Sun, 05 Nov 2023LK₨45.8bLK₨75.0bLK₨3.2b15.9x14.4x0.6x
Tue, 03 Oct 2023LK₨48.5bLK₨75.0bLK₨3.2b17.4x15.2x0.6x
Thu, 31 Aug 2023LK₨49.6bLK₨75.0bLK₨3.2b16.4x15.6x0.7x
Sat, 29 Jul 2023LK₨44.8bLK₨68.6bLK₨2.6b7.1x17.1x0.7x
Mon, 26 Jun 2023LK₨37.5bLK₨68.6bLK₨2.6b6.2x14.3x0.5x
Wed, 24 May 2023LK₨34.2bLK₨66.9bLK₨2.1b8.4x16.6x0.5x
Fri, 21 Apr 2023LK₨39.4bLK₨64.1bLK₨1.4b20.3x27.5x0.6x
Sun, 19 Mar 2023LK₨40.9bLK₨64.1bLK₨1.4b20x28.6x0.6x
Tue, 14 Feb 2023LK₨44.7bLK₨61.8bLK₨1.9b21.2x23.1x0.7x
Thu, 12 Jan 2023LK₨43.4bLK₨61.8bLK₨2.4b10.3x18.1x0.7x
Sat, 10 Dec 2022LK₨28.2bLK₨61.8bLK₨2.4b7.8x11.8x0.5x
Mon, 07 Nov 2022LK₨28.5bLK₨58.9bLK₨2.9b8.7x9.9x0.5x
Wed, 05 Oct 2022LK₨29.9bLK₨58.9bLK₨2.9b8.7x10.4x0.5x
Fri, 02 Sep 2022LK₨30.5bLK₨58.9bLK₨2.9b8.8x10.6x0.5x
Sun, 31 Jul 2022LK₨28.1bLK₨56.9bLK₨3.4b7.8x8.2x0.5x
Tue, 28 Jun 2022LK₨28.5bLK₨56.9bLK₨3.4b8x8.3x0.5x
Thu, 26 May 2022LK₨35.0bLK₨55.7bLK₨4.1b8.8x8.6x0.6x
Sat, 23 Apr 2022LK₨31.7bLK₨55.9bLK₨4.1b6.4x7.7x0.6x
Mon, 21 Mar 2022LK₨38.6bLK₨56.0bLK₨3.7b11.2x10.3x0.7x
Wed, 16 Feb 2022LK₨45.5bLK₨54.4bLK₨2.8b13.9x16.4x0.8x
Fri, 14 Jan 2022LK₨42.6bLK₨52.9bLK₨2.6b14.2x16.1x0.8x
Sun, 12 Dec 2021LK₨33.2bLK₨50.3bLK₨2.6b9.9x12.6x0.7x
Tue, 09 Nov 2021LK₨27.9bLK₨49.3bLK₨2.2b11.1x12.9x0.6x
Thu, 07 Oct 2021LK₨27.6bLK₨49.3bLK₨2.0b11.2x13.6x0.6x
Sat, 04 Sep 2021LK₨27.6bLK₨49.3bLK₨2.0b11.5x13.6x0.6x
Mon, 02 Aug 2021LK₨28.7bLK₨49.3bLK₨2.0b11.7x14.1x0.6x
Price to Earnings Ratio

14.1x


Total Market Cap: LK₨28.6bTotal Earnings: LK₨2.0bTotal Revenue: LK₨49.3bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Sri Lankan Life and Health Insurance Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 14.4x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Sri Lankan Life and Health Insurance industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 7.9x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 14.4x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.59x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Life and Health Insurance industry have grown 43% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 21% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does Sri Lankan Life and Health Insurance compare with similar industries?

LK Market-0.72%
Financials-0.65%
Insurance-0.035%
Life and Health Insurance0.19%
Property and Casualty Insurance0.17%
Insurance Brokers0%
Reinsurance0%
General Insurance-0.17%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
UAL.N0000 Union AssuranceLK₨48.200.4%
+LK₨117.9m
51.6%PE7.5x
JINS.N0000 Janashakthi InsuranceLK₨39.600.5%
+LK₨45.3m
46.7%PE2.1x
AINS.N0000 Arpico InsuranceLK₨22.101.8%
+LK₨26.5m
10.5%PS0.6x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

JINS.N0000

LK₨39.60

Janashakthi Insurance

7D

0.5%

1Y

46.7%

AINS.N0000

LK₨22.10

Arpico Insurance

7D

1.8%

1Y

10.5%

SCAP.N0000

LK₨7.20

Softlogic Capital

7D

-1.4%

1Y

-28.0%

UAL.N0000

LK₨48.20

Union Assurance

7D

0.4%

1Y

51.6%