Header cover image

South African (JSE) Property and Casualty Insurance Industry Analysis

UpdatedJan 27, 2023
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies1
  • 7D7.0%
  • 3M8.1%
  • 1Y2.7%
  • YTD8.4%

Over the last 7 days, the Property and Casualty Insurance industry has risen 3.0%, driven by gains from every company within the industry. Despite this gain, the industry's performance has been flat over the past year. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 19% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the South African Property and Casualty Insurance Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Fri, 27 Jan 2023R31.3bR30.4bR2.3b13.6x13.6x1x
Sun, 25 Dec 2022R28.6bR30.4bR2.3b12.4x12.4x0.9x
Tue, 22 Nov 2022R28.5bR30.4bR2.3b12.4x12.4x0.9x
Thu, 20 Oct 2022R28.8bR30.4bR2.3b12.5x12.5x0.9x
Sat, 17 Sep 2022R28.2bR30.4bR2.3b12.3x12.3x0.9x
Mon, 15 Aug 2022R29.6bR30.5bR2.7b10.8x10.8x1x
Wed, 13 Jul 2022R28.0bR30.5bR2.7b10.2x10.2x0.9x
Fri, 10 Jun 2022R30.5bR30.5bR2.7b11.1x11.1x1x
Sun, 08 May 2022R32.7bR30.5bR2.7b11.9x11.9x1.1x
Tue, 05 Apr 2022R33.4bR30.5bR2.7b12.2x12.2x1.1x
Thu, 03 Mar 2022R31.3bR29.8bR1.5b21.4x21.4x1.1x
Sat, 29 Jan 2022R30.5bR29.8bR1.5b20.8x20.8x1x
Mon, 27 Dec 2021R30.0bR29.8bR1.5b20.5x20.5x1x
Wed, 24 Nov 2021R28.1bR29.8bR1.5b19.1x19.1x0.9x
Fri, 22 Oct 2021R28.3bR29.8bR1.5b19.3x19.3x0.9x
Sun, 19 Sep 2021R26.9bR29.8bR1.5b18.3x18.3x0.9x
Tue, 17 Aug 2021R29.2bR29.8bR1.5b19.9x19.9x1x
Tue, 01 Jun 2021R30.5bR29.0bR1.0b30.3x30.3x1x
Fri, 05 Mar 2021R27.4bR28.3bR542.0m50.5x50.5x1x
Mon, 07 Dec 2020R27.7bR28.0bR836.5m33.1x33.1x1x
Thu, 10 Sep 2020R27.6bR27.7bR1.1b24.4x24.4x1x
Wed, 03 Jun 2020R30.5bR28.0bR1.7b18.3x18.3x1.1x
Sat, 07 Mar 2020R28.2bR28.2bR2.2b12.8x12.8x1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

14.5x


Total Market Cap: R31.9bTotal Earnings: R2.2bTotal Revenue: R28.2bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
South African Property and Casualty Insurance Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 22x202120222023
Current Industry PE
    There is only one company in the South African Property and Casualty Insurance industry, so there is insufficient data to make an industry-wide assessment of both the PE and PS ratio.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Property and Casualty Insurance industry have remained mostly flat over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 2.6% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased and as a result, profits have held steady.

Industry Comparison

How does South African Property and Casualty Insurance compare with similar industries?

ZA Market0.36%
Financials1.34%
Insurance2.43%
Property and Casualty Insurance6.97%
Life and Health Insurance2.04%
Insurance Brokers0%
General Insurance0%
Reinsurance0%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
SNT SantamR277.207.0%
+R2.0b
2.7%PE13.6x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

SNT

R277.20

Santam

7D

7.0%

1Y

2.7%