Header cover image

French (CAC) Insurance Industry Analysis

UpdatedDec 03, 2022
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies7
  • 7D0.5%
  • 3M10.7%
  • 1Y11.3%
  • YTD-0.4%

In the last week, the Insurance industry is flat overall, with Photonike Capital standing out by going down 9.6%. As for the the longer term, the industry is up 11% over the past 12 months. Earnings are forecast to grow by 8.5% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the French Insurance Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 03 Dec 2022€84.0b€174.4b€8.7b8.9x9.7x0.5x
Mon, 31 Oct 2022€77.5b€174.2b€8.9b8.1x8.7x0.4x
Wed, 28 Sep 2022€72.2b€174.2b€8.9b7.4x8.1x0.4x
Fri, 26 Aug 2022€73.1b€174.2b€8.9b7.5x8.2x0.4x
Sun, 24 Jul 2022€69.3b€187.7b€9.2b8x7.5x0.4x
Tue, 21 Jun 2022€73.1b€187.7b€9.2b8.3x7.9x0.4x
Thu, 19 May 2022€77.3b€187.5b€9.4b8.8x8.3x0.4x
Sat, 16 Apr 2022€86.3b€185.4b€9.3b9.5x9.3x0.5x
Mon, 14 Mar 2022€77.9b€173.4b€7.8b9.9x10x0.4x
Wed, 09 Feb 2022€90.6b€179.2b€7.6b11.5x11.9x0.5x
Fri, 07 Jan 2022€87.2b€179.2b€7.6b11.2x11.5x0.5x
Sun, 05 Dec 2021€81.8b€179.2b€7.6b10.7x10.8x0.5x
Tue, 02 Nov 2021€82.5b€185.9b€7.7b10x10.7x0.4x
Thu, 30 Sep 2021€72.0b€185.9b€7.7b8.4x9.4x0.4x
Sat, 28 Aug 2021€74.0b€185.9b€7.7b8.5x9.6x0.4x
Sun, 04 Jul 2021€67.5b€185.9b€7.7b8.5x8.8x0.4x
Wed, 07 Apr 2021€72.7b€171.0b€5.8b12.8x12.5x0.4x
Sat, 09 Jan 2021€61.9b€165.6b€4.6b15.6x13.4x0.4x
Fri, 02 Oct 2020€50.4b€170.6b€4.3b13.6x11.7x0.3x
Mon, 06 Jul 2020€57.0b€164.4b€4.3b16x13.1x0.3x
Thu, 09 Apr 2020€48.5b€187.2b€5.1b8.3x9.5x0.3x
Wed, 01 Jan 2020€81.4b€199.8b€5.6b16.5x14.6x0.4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

21.7x


Total Market Cap: €80.2bTotal Earnings: €3.7bTotal Revenue: €181.5bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
French Insurance Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 10.9x202020212022
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the French Insurance industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 9.7x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 10.9x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.39x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Insurance industry have grown 33% per year over the last three years, while revenues have remained mostly flat.
  • This means that companies overall are more efficiently conducting business since profits are increasing while sales have been flat.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the French Financials industry?

FR Market0.83%
Financials-0.39%
Insurance0.50%
Reinsurance4.13%
General Insurance0.44%
Insurance Brokers0%
Life and Health Insurance0%
Property and Casualty Insurance-0.11%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Life and Health Insurance industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 7.8x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 5.7%, which is lower than the prior year's growth of 20.0% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Reinsurance industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 70% over the next 5 years.
  • In contrast, the Property and Casualty Insurance industry is expected to see its earnings decline by 5.2% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
CS AXA€27.390.4%
+€282.6m
9.5%PE8.9x
SCR SCOR€18.914.1%
+€133.8m
-30.7%PS0.2x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

MLPHO

€1.18

Photonike Capital

7D

-9.6%

1Y

46.0%

SCR

€18.91

SCOR

7D

4.1%

1Y

-30.7%

CS

€27.39

AXA

7D

0.4%

1Y

9.5%