Header cover image

Swiss (SMI) Real Estate Industry Analysis

UpdatedMay 27, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies27
  • 7D-1.4%
  • 3M-1.4%
  • 1Y5.2%
  • YTD-1.6%

Over the last 7 days, the Real Estate industry has dropped 1.4%, driven by a pullback from Swiss Prime Site of 2.0%. On the other hand Varia US Properties is actually up 6.0%. Over the past 12 months, the industry was up 5.2%. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 25% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Swiss Real Estate Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Mon, 27 May 2024CHF25.1bCHF3.0bCHF261.6m35.7x95.9x8.4x
Wed, 24 Apr 2024CHF25.6bCHF3.0bCHF258.8m35.3x98.8x8.6x
Fri, 22 Mar 2024CHF25.6bCHF3.0bCHF297.3m34.7x86.2x8.6x
Sun, 18 Feb 2024CHF25.3bCHF3.1bCHF525.3m31x48.2x8x
Tue, 16 Jan 2024CHF25.7bCHF3.3bCHF712.7m27.7x36.1x7.8x
Thu, 14 Dec 2023CHF25.5bCHF3.3bCHF724.0m26.3x35.2x7.6x
Sat, 11 Nov 2023CHF24.5bCHF3.4bCHF771.4m24x31.8x7.3x
Mon, 09 Oct 2023CHF24.7bCHF3.3bCHF749.5m24.9x32.9x7.4x
Wed, 06 Sep 2023CHF24.5bCHF3.3bCHF827.1m21.5x29.6x7.3x
Fri, 04 Aug 2023CHF24.4bCHF3.2bCHF1.6b14.5x15x7.6x
Sun, 02 Jul 2023CHF23.7bCHF3.2bCHF1.6b14.4x14.6x7.3x
Tue, 30 May 2023CHF23.6bCHF3.2bCHF1.8b14.3x13.3x7.3x
Thu, 27 Apr 2023CHF24.4bCHF3.4bCHF1.8b12.8x13.9x7.2x
Sat, 25 Mar 2023CHF23.8bCHF3.4bCHF1.9b12.5x12.3x7.1x
Mon, 20 Feb 2023CHF25.2bCHF3.3bCHF2.3b12.1x11x7.7x
Wed, 18 Jan 2023CHF25.8bCHF3.1bCHF2.4b11.9x10.7x8.2x
Fri, 16 Dec 2022CHF25.0bCHF3.1bCHF2.4b11.6x10.4x8x
Sun, 13 Nov 2022CHF24.9bCHF3.1bCHF2.3b12x10.6x8.1x
Tue, 11 Oct 2022CHF23.2bCHF3.1bCHF2.4b11.2x9.8x7.6x
Thu, 08 Sep 2022CHF25.7bCHF3.1bCHF2.4b11.6x10.5x8.3x
Sat, 06 Aug 2022CHF26.4bCHF3.2bCHF2.6b11.5x10.3x8.3x
Mon, 04 Jul 2022CHF25.7bCHF3.2bCHF2.6b11.4x10x8.1x
Wed, 01 Jun 2022CHF28.2bCHF3.2bCHF2.6b12.8x11x8.9x
Fri, 29 Apr 2022CHF28.3bCHF3.1bCHF2.5b12.4x11.1x9x
Sun, 27 Mar 2022CHF28.5bCHF3.1bCHF2.5b12.5x11.5x9.2x
Tue, 22 Feb 2022CHF27.5bCHF3.0bCHF2.3b13.6x11.8x9.1x
Thu, 20 Jan 2022CHF27.2bCHF3.1bCHF2.4b12.8x11.3x8.8x
Sat, 18 Dec 2021CHF27.2bCHF3.1bCHF2.4b12.9x11.3x8.8x
Mon, 15 Nov 2021CHF27.9bCHF3.1bCHF2.4b12.9x11.6x9x
Wed, 13 Oct 2021CHF27.4bCHF3.1bCHF2.4b12.4x11.4x8.8x
Fri, 10 Sep 2021CHF27.4bCHF3.1bCHF2.4b14.8x11.3x8.8x
Sun, 08 Aug 2021CHF28.3bCHF3.1bCHF2.5b13.7x11.5x9.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

13x


Total Market Cap: CHF27.2bTotal Earnings: CHF2.1bTotal Revenue: CHF3.2bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Swiss Real Estate Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 21.7x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Swiss Real Estate industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 95.9x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 21.7x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 8.2x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Real Estate industry have declined 50% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues have remained mostly flat.
  • This means that although sales have remained flat, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Swiss Real Estate industry?

CH Market-0.60%
Real Estate-1.44%
Real Estate-1.44%
Real Estate Development0.52%
Real Estate Services0%
Real Estate Operating Companies-1.19%
Diversified Real Estate-2.34%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Real Estate Operating Companies industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 18.0x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 17.1%, which is higher than its past year's earnings decline of 62.7% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Diversified Real Estate industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 52% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 49% per year.
  • In contrast, the Real Estate Operating Companies industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 17% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
VARN Varia US PropertiesCHF36.906.0%
+CHF21.3m
-0.3%PS2.9x
SEAN Swiss EstatesCHF2.5025.0%
+CHF2.3m
-19.9%PE3.3x
SENIO SenioresidenzCHF30.852.5%
+CHF1.9m
-22.9%PS7.3x
ISN Intershop HoldingCHF124.200.2%
+CHF1.8m
2.5%PE13.9x
INA Ina InvestCHF18.500.5%
+CHF1.7m
2.8%PS15.2x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

SEAN

CHF2.50

Swiss Estates

7D

25.0%

1Y

-19.9%

MOBN

CHF254.00

Mobimo Holding

7D

-1.0%

1Y

7.4%

PSPN

CHF112.00

PSP Swiss Property

7D

-1.7%

1Y

14.8%

VARN

CHF36.90

Varia US Properties

7D

6.0%

1Y

-0.3%

EPIC

CHF71.40

EPIC Suisse

7D

-1.4%

1Y

12.3%

SENIO

CHF30.85

Senioresidenz

7D

2.5%

1Y

-22.9%

NREN

CHF33.60

Novavest Real Estate

7D

0.3%

1Y

-13.6%

CIE

CHF1.15

Compagnie Internationale pour la Communication

7D

2.7%

1Y

-55.8%

ZUGN

CHF1,695.00

Zug Estates Holding

7D

-3.7%

1Y

0%

ISN

CHF124.20

Intershop Holding

7D

0.2%

1Y

2.5%

SFPN

CHF93.00

SF Urban Properties

7D

-2.1%

1Y

8.8%

INA

CHF18.50

Ina Invest

7D

0.5%

1Y

2.8%