Header cover image

Swiss (SMI) Biotech Industry Analysis

UpdatedJul 23, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies6
  • 7D-5.2%
  • 3M49.3%
  • 1Y80.6%
  • YTD90.3%

Over the last 7 days, the Biotech industry has dropped 5.2%, driven by a pullback from Basilea Pharmaceutica of 4.9%. In the past year, the industry has gained 81%. Earnings are forecast to grow by 13% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Swiss Biotech Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 24 Jul 2024CHF 746.2mCHF 151.7m-CHF 146,197,264.001.6x-5.1x4.9x
Fri, 21 Jun 2024CHF 841.8mCHF 151.7m-CHF 146,197,264.001.6x-5.8x5.5x
Sun, 19 May 2024CHF 538.2mCHF 170.3m-CHF 131,508,021.161x-4.1x3.2x
Tue, 16 Apr 2024CHF 443.1mCHF 67.6m-CHF 173,113,459.400.09x-2.6x6.6x
Thu, 14 Mar 2024CHF 338.4mCHF 55.5m-CHF 173,248,004.840.3x-2x6.1x
Sat, 10 Feb 2024CHF 370.6mCHF 55.4m-CHF 173,281,198.021x-2.1x6.7x
Mon, 08 Jan 2024CHF 324.0mCHF 317.4m-CHF 176,097,332.000.5x-1.8x1x
Wed, 06 Dec 2023CHF 341.7mCHF 317.9m-CHF 209,011,437.00n/a-1.6x1.1x
Fri, 03 Nov 2023CHF 258.1mCHF 318.6m-CHF 211,390,599.00n/a-1.2x0.8x
Sun, 01 Oct 2023CHF 262.4mCHF 318.6m-CHF 213,557,748.00n/a-1.2x0.8x
Tue, 29 Aug 2023CHF 301.3mCHF 318.7m-CHF 188,662,518.00n/a-1.6x0.9x
Thu, 27 Jul 2023CHF 338.4mCHF 320.3m-CHF 179,711,882.00n/a-1.9x1.1x
Sat, 24 Jun 2023CHF 306.0mCHF 331.2m-CHF 180,872,814.00n/a-1.7x0.9x
Mon, 22 May 2023CHF 351.7mCHF 331.2m-CHF 183,199,380.00n/a-1.9x1.1x
Wed, 19 Apr 2023CHF 434.1mCHF 482.6mCHF 8.2m1.6x53.1x0.9x
Fri, 17 Mar 2023CHF 431.4mCHF 497.1mCHF 11.5m1.5x37.4x0.9x
Sun, 12 Feb 2023CHF 483.0mCHF 493.4mCHF 14.5m1.7x33.3x1x
Tue, 10 Jan 2023CHF 523.6mCHF 493.4mCHF 14.5m1.8x36.1x1.1x
Thu, 08 Dec 2022CHF 501.5mCHF 493.4mCHF 14.5m1.8x34.6x1x
Sat, 05 Nov 2022CHF 511.8mCHF 509.0mCHF 14.9m1.8x34.4x1x
Mon, 03 Oct 2022CHF 521.6mCHF 505.3mCHF 15.9m2x32.8x1x
Wed, 31 Aug 2022CHF 518.9mCHF 498.9mCHF 36.7m1.7x14.1x1x
Fri, 29 Jul 2022CHF 518.1mCHF 487.8mCHF 42.2m1.8x12.3x1.1x
Sun, 26 Jun 2022CHF 540.7mCHF 454.1mCHF 80.7m2.1x6.7x1.2x
Tue, 24 May 2022CHF 719.6mCHF 468.8mCHF 24.8m2.1x29x1.5x
Thu, 21 Apr 2022CHF 1.0bCHF 292.5m-CHF 142,439,302.001.5x-7.1x3.5x
Sat, 19 Mar 2022CHF 1.2bCHF 285.6m-CHF 139,004,039.002x-8.7x4.2x
Mon, 14 Feb 2022CHF 1.4bCHF 282.9m-CHF 138,870,474.001.8x-10x4.9x
Wed, 12 Jan 2022CHF 4.5bCHF 318.6m-CHF 658,849,851.001.5x-6.9x14.2x
Fri, 10 Dec 2021CHF 3.9bCHF 319.3m-CHF 658,754,388.001.5x-5.9x12.2x
Sun, 07 Nov 2021CHF 4.2bCHF 315.7m-CHF 659,265,261.002.3x-6.3x13.2x
Tue, 05 Oct 2021CHF 5.0bCHF 286.7m-CHF 590,951,147.004.9x-8.5x17.6x
Thu, 02 Sep 2021CHF 5.4bCHF 306.0m-CHF 612,309,374.801.1x-8.8x17.6x
Sat, 31 Jul 2021CHF 5.5bCHF 306.0m-CHF 612,309,374.801.1x-8.9x17.9x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-8.9x


Total Market Cap: CHF 5.5bTotal Earnings: -CHF 612,309,374.80Total Revenue: CHF 306.0mTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Swiss Biotech Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 5.6x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are relatively neutral on the Swiss Biotechs industry at the moment, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates to remain steady.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 4.5x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Biotechs industry have improved over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have declined 21% per year.
  • This means that less sales are being generated overall, but since the cost of doing business is lower, losses have been shrinking.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Swiss Healthcare industry?

CH Market0.24%
Healthcare1.69%
Biotech-5.17%
Biotech-5.17%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
SANN Santhera Pharmaceuticals HoldingCHF 9.258.3%
+CHF 6.5m
13.9%PE1.6x
IDIA IdorsiaCHF 2.311.6%
+CHF 6.5m
-64.0%PS2.9x
ADXN Addex TherapeuticsCHF 0.0646.3%
+CHF 373.6k
-29.1%PS4.5x
MOLN Molecular PartnersCHF 5.880.2%
+CHF 331.8k
6.9%PS29x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

MOLN

CHF 5.88

Molecular Partners

7D

0.2%

1Y

6.9%

ADXN

CHF 0.064

Addex Therapeutics

7D

6.3%

1Y

-29.1%

IDIA

CHF 2.31

Idorsia

7D

1.6%

1Y

-64.0%

RLF

CHF 1.15

Relief Therapeutics Holding

7D

-1.7%

1Y

-54.3%

BSLN

CHF 39.25

Basilea Pharmaceutica

7D

-7.1%

1Y

-6.5%

SPEX

CHF 0.054

Spexis

7D

-21.7%

1Y

-86.4%