Header cover image

Bulgarian (SOFIX) Consumer Staples Sector Analysis

UpdatedApr 18, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies14
  • 7D-3.4%
  • 3M-5.3%
  • 1Y0.1%
  • YTD-1.0%

Over the last 7 days, the Consumer Staples industry has dropped 3.4%, driven by a pullback from Gradus AD of 6.5%. Over the last year, the industry has been flat overall.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the Bulgarian Consumer Staples Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Thu, 18 Apr 2024лв791.1mлв670.7mлв37.1m6.8x21.4x1.2x
Sat, 16 Mar 2024лв888.0mлв921.2mлв38.1m12.6x23.3x1x
Mon, 12 Feb 2024лв880.9mлв924.4mлв34.3m8.3x25.7x1x
Wed, 10 Jan 2024лв853.3mлв925.0mлв34.2m8x24.9x0.9x
Fri, 08 Dec 2023лв865.0mлв887.7mлв62.3m8.9x13.9x1x
Sun, 05 Nov 2023лв846.5mлв711.0mлв39.2m14x21.6x1.2x
Tue, 03 Oct 2023лв833.3mлв697.0mлв37.9m10.4x22x1.2x
Thu, 31 Aug 2023лв678.2mлв610.8mлв32.6m13.1x20.8x1.1x
Sat, 29 Jul 2023лв684.7mлв616.3mлв35.1m13.7x19.5x1.1x
Mon, 26 Jun 2023лв676.5mлв769.0m-лв30,253,000.0012.7x-22.4x0.9x
Wed, 24 May 2023лв664.6mлв763.5m-лв20,839,000.006.3x-31.9x0.9x
Fri, 21 Apr 2023лв651.1mлв763.9m-лв20,848,000.007.1x-31.2x0.9x
Sun, 19 Mar 2023лв656.8mлв799.7mлв317.0k9.6x2071.9x0.8x
Tue, 14 Feb 2023лв679.3mлв768.8m-лв14,146,000.0013x-48x0.9x
Thu, 12 Jan 2023лв660.3mлв767.9m-лв14,101,000.0012.8x-46.8x0.9x
Sat, 10 Dec 2022лв665.8mлв799.1m-лв14,101,000.0012.5x-47.2x0.8x
Mon, 07 Nov 2022лв641.9mлв641.3mлв48.6m10.2x13.2x1x
Wed, 05 Oct 2022лв651.2mлв641.3mлв48.6m9.4x13.4x1x
Fri, 02 Sep 2022лв707.5mлв626.6mлв42.4m11.6x16.7x1.1x
Sun, 31 Jul 2022лв720.1mлв628.8mлв40.6m12x17.7x1.1x
Tue, 28 Jun 2022лв748.0mлв749.0mлв46.5m13.4x16.1x1x
Thu, 26 May 2022лв703.4mлв707.5mлв47.2m12.3x14.9x1x
Sat, 23 Apr 2022лв679.7mлв695.4mлв50.2m11.9x13.5x1x
Mon, 21 Mar 2022лв637.9mлв700.4mлв49.2m7.5x13x0.9x
Wed, 16 Feb 2022лв640.6mлв671.0mлв65.8m12.2x9.7x1x
Fri, 14 Jan 2022лв683.4mлв671.6mлв66.1m16.1x10.3x1x
Sun, 12 Dec 2021лв658.2mлв731.5mлв83.7m6.2x7.9x0.9x
Tue, 09 Nov 2021лв678.0mлв697.6mлв66.4m10.3x10.2x1x
Thu, 07 Oct 2021лв681.2mлв697.6mлв66.4m10x10.3x1x
Sat, 04 Sep 2021лв726.0mлв697.5mлв66.4m10.6x10.9x1x
Mon, 02 Aug 2021лв728.1mлв697.5mлв66.4m9.8x11x1x
Thu, 06 May 2021лв775.5mлв669.0mлв61.5m14.6x12.6x1.2x
Price to Earnings Ratio

12.6x


Total Market Cap: лв775.5mTotal Earnings: лв61.5mTotal Revenue: лв669.0mTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Bulgarian Consumer Staples Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 2.1x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Bulgarian Consumer Staples industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 21.4x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 2.1x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 0.99x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.2x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Consumer Staples industry have declined 16% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues have remained mostly flat.
  • This means that although sales have remained flat, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Bulgarian Consumer Staples sector?

BG Market0.68%
Consumer Staples-3.37%
Food and Staples Retail0%
Household Products0%
Personal Products0%
Beverage-1.27%
Tobacco-3.30%
Food-3.64%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Personal Products industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 23.3x.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
Forecasted GrowthThere is insufficient data on the sub-industries of this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
ZHBG Zarneni Hrani Bulgaria ADлв0.131.5%
+лв391.3k
-11.4%PE5.6x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.