Header cover image

South African (JSE) Coal and Fuels Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 13, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies2
  • 7D9.5%
  • 3M-4.3%
  • 1Y-11.9%
  • YTDn/a

All of the companies in the Coal and Fuels industry have been up over the last week, with the industry up 3.6%. However, the industry is down 18% over the past year. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to decline by 23% per year.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the South African Coal and Fuels Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 14 Apr 2024R65.0bR69.3bR16.5b3.9x3.9x0.9x
Tue, 12 Mar 2024R58.4bR81.9bR22.6b2.6x2.6x0.7x
Thu, 08 Feb 2024R60.1bR81.9bR22.6b2.6x2.7x0.7x
Sat, 06 Jan 2024R67.5bR81.9bR22.6b3x3x0.8x
Mon, 04 Dec 2023R66.1bR81.9bR22.6b2.9x2.9x0.8x
Wed, 01 Nov 2023R67.9bR81.9bR22.6b3x3x0.8x
Fri, 29 Sep 2023R64.7bR81.9bR22.6b2.9x2.9x0.8x
Sun, 27 Aug 2023R59.3bR81.9bR22.6b2.6x2.6x0.7x
Tue, 25 Jul 2023R58.9bR97.1bR30.8b2x1.9x0.6x
Thu, 22 Jun 2023R60.6bR97.1bR30.8b2.1x2x0.6x
Sat, 20 May 2023R62.4bR97.1bR30.8b2.1x2x0.6x
Mon, 17 Apr 2023R73.8bR97.1bR30.8b2.5x2.4x0.8x
Wed, 15 Mar 2023R73.5bR82.4bR27.8b2.7x2.6x0.9x
Fri, 10 Feb 2023R81.5bR82.4bR27.8b3x2.9x1x
Sun, 08 Jan 2023R86.2bR82.4bR27.8b3.2x3.1x1x
Tue, 06 Dec 2022R92.1bR82.4bR27.8b3.4x3.3x1.1x
Thu, 03 Nov 2022R85.5bR82.4bR27.8b3.1x3.1x1x
Sat, 01 Oct 2022R93.3bR82.4bR27.8b3.4x3.4x1.1x
Mon, 29 Aug 2022R102.0bR82.4bR27.8b3.7x3.7x1.2x
Wed, 27 Jul 2022R84.6bR59.1bR17.6b5x4.8x1.4x
Fri, 24 Jun 2022R79.7bR59.1bR17.6b4.6x4.5x1.3x
Sun, 22 May 2022R85.5bR59.1bR17.6b5x4.9x1.4x
Tue, 19 Apr 2022R89.6bR59.1bR17.6b5.1x5.1x1.5x
Thu, 17 Mar 2022R67.9bR32.8bR11.2b4.3x6.1x2.1x
Sat, 12 Feb 2022R62.5bR30.0bR9.8b4.7x6.4x2.1x
Mon, 10 Jan 2022R50.8bR30.0bR9.8b4x5.2x1.7x
Wed, 08 Dec 2021R49.1bR30.0bR9.8b3.9x5x1.6x
Fri, 05 Nov 2021R49.9bR30.0bR9.8b4.2x5.1x1.7x
Sun, 03 Oct 2021R52.6bR30.0bR9.8b4.1x5.4x1.8x
Tue, 31 Aug 2021R53.6bR30.0bR9.8b4.6x5.5x1.8x
Wed, 07 Jul 2021R47.6bR30.0bR9.8b4.3x4.9x1.6x
Price to Earnings Ratio

4.5x


Total Market Cap: R38.3bTotal Earnings: R8.5bTotal Revenue: R29.5bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
South African Coal and Fuels Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 3.8x202220232024
Current Industry PE
    There are only 2 companies in the South African Coal and Consumable Fuels industry, so there is insufficient data to make an industry-wide assessment of both the PE and PS ratio.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Coal and Consumable Fuels industry have grown 25% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 33% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does South African Coal and Fuels compare with similar industries?

ZA Market0.60%
Energy9.56%
Oil and Gas9.56%
Coal and Fuels9.51%
Oil and Gas Exploration and Production11.26%
Integrated Oil and Gas0%
Oil and Gas Refining and Marketing0%
Oil and Gas Storage and Transportation0%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
EXX Exxaro ResourcesR185.137.7%
+R3.2b
-2.8%PE4x
TGA Thungela ResourcesR147.7813.8%
+R2.5b
-26.9%PE3.9x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.