Header cover image

South African (JSE) Drug Retail Industry Analysis

UpdatedJan 27, 2023
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies2
  • 7D-2.7%
  • 3M-15.1%
  • 1Y-9.5%
  • YTD-1.6%

Over the last 7 days, the Drug Retail industry has dropped 3.0%, driven by a pullback from Clicks Group of 4.3%. The industry has fallen 11% in the last year. Earnings are forecast to grow by 8.5% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the South African Drug Retail Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Fri, 27 Jan 2023R90.6bR71.4bR3.7b24.8x24.6x1.3x
Sun, 25 Dec 2022R93.4bR71.4bR3.7b25x25.4x1.3x
Tue, 22 Nov 2022R98.4bR71.4bR3.7b26.3x26.8x1.4x
Thu, 20 Oct 2022R94.2bR69.4bR3.0b31.3x31.3x1.4x
Sat, 17 Sep 2022R97.9bR69.4bR3.0b32.7x32.5x1.4x
Mon, 15 Aug 2022R102.5bR69.4bR3.0b34.1x34.1x1.5x
Wed, 13 Jul 2022R96.4bR69.4bR3.0b32.2x32x1.4x
Fri, 10 Jun 2022R96.1bR69.4bR3.0b32.2x31.9x1.4x
Sun, 08 May 2022R97.5bR67.4bR2.9b35.3x33.3x1.4x
Tue, 05 Apr 2022R107.2bR65.7bR2.7b40.3x39.9x1.6x
Thu, 03 Mar 2022R104.1bR65.7bR2.7b38.7x38.7x1.6x
Sat, 29 Jan 2022R100.2bR65.7bR2.7b37.7x37.2x1.5x
Mon, 27 Dec 2021R105.2bR65.7bR2.7b39x39.1x1.6x
Wed, 24 Nov 2021R99.5bR65.7bR2.7b37.3x37x1.5x
Fri, 22 Oct 2021R93.6bR61.9bR2.6b37.6x36.1x1.5x
Sun, 19 Sep 2021R98.3bR61.9bR2.6b37.8x37.9x1.6x
Tue, 17 Aug 2021R99.6bR61.9bR2.6b39.4x38.4x1.6x
Tue, 01 Jun 2021R89.5bR61.9bR2.6b36.1x34.5x1.4x
Fri, 05 Mar 2021R80.1bR61.9bR2.6b30.2x30.9x1.3x
Mon, 07 Dec 2020R75.7bR60.6bR2.6b28.6x29.6x1.2x
Thu, 10 Sep 2020R72.9bR59.3bR2.5b27.5x28.9x1.2x
Wed, 03 Jun 2020R74.4bR58.1bR2.4b28.8x30.4x1.3x
Sat, 07 Mar 2020R77.8bR56.9bR2.4b32.2x32.8x1.4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

36.3x


Total Market Cap: R83.6bTotal Earnings: R2.3bTotal Revenue: R55.5bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
South African Drug Retail Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 33x202120222023
Current Industry PE
    There are only 2 companies in the South African Drug Retail industry, so there is insufficient data to make an industry-wide assessment of both the PE and PS ratio.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Drug Retail industry have grown 17% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 8.7% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does South African Drug Retail compare with similar industries?

ZA Market0.36%
Consumer Staples-0.58%
Food and Staples Retail0.085%
Drug Retail-2.67%
Food Distributors2.80%
Big Box Super Stores0%
Food Retail-0.74%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
DCP Dis-Chem PharmaciesR30.361.7%
+R447.2m
-13.1%PE25.1x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.