Header cover image

South African (JSE) Telecom Services and Carriers Industry Analysis

UpdatedJul 17, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies4
  • 7D-2.9%
  • 3M-6.8%
  • 1Y-12.9%
  • YTD-16.1%

Over the last 7 days, the Telecom Services and Carriers industry has dropped 2.9%, driven by Telkom SA SOC declining 3.9%. Meanwhile, TeleMasters Holdings actually outperformed within the industry, gaining 16% in the last week. Overall the industry is down 13% in 12 months. Looking forward, earnings are forecast to grow by 16% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the South African Telecom Services and Carriers Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Thu, 18 Jul 2024R15.5bR59.2bR2.2b8.5x6.9x0.3x
Sat, 15 Jun 2024R16.0bR60.4b-R8,883,936,552.0010.9x-1.8x0.3x
Mon, 13 May 2024R16.8bR60.4b-R8,873,611,326.0016.4x-1.9x0.3x
Wed, 10 Apr 2024R18.8bR60.4b-R8,873,611,326.0016.8x-2.1x0.3x
Fri, 08 Mar 2024R17.5bR60.4b-R8,874,561,582.0017.1x-2x0.3x
Sun, 04 Feb 2024R17.4bR62.6b-R9,357,802,582.0017.9x-1.9x0.3x
Tue, 02 Jan 2024R18.6bR62.6b-R9,357,802,582.0017.2x-2x0.3x
Thu, 30 Nov 2023R16.9bR62.6b-R9,312,978,582.0017.2x-1.8x0.3x
Sat, 28 Oct 2023R14.2bR62.1b-R9,612,978,582.0016.4x-1.5x0.2x
Mon, 25 Sep 2023R14.4bR62.1b-R9,616,486,975.009.6x-1.5x0.2x
Wed, 23 Aug 2023R16.1bR61.7b-R9,504,797,687.006x-1.7x0.3x
Fri, 21 Jul 2023R18.3bR62.1b-R9,504,797,687.006x-1.9x0.3x
Sun, 18 Jun 2023R20.4bR62.6b-R9,504,797,687.006.4x-2.1x0.3x
Tue, 16 May 2023R19.8bR61.2bR2.4b8.2x8.2x0.3x
Thu, 13 Apr 2023R21.3bR61.2bR2.4b8.7x8.8x0.3x
Sat, 11 Mar 2023R22.3bR61.2bR2.4b8.7x9.2x0.4x
Mon, 06 Feb 2023R22.1bR60.5bR3.0b4.5x7.4x0.4x
Wed, 04 Jan 2023R20.5bR60.5bR3.0b4.6x6.8x0.3x
Fri, 02 Dec 2022R22.2bR60.5bR3.0b4.1x7.4x0.4x
Sun, 30 Oct 2022R23.1bR60.6bR4.1b4.4x5.6x0.4x
Tue, 27 Sep 2022R30.1bR60.6bR4.1b5.3x7.3x0.5x
Thu, 25 Aug 2022R29.6bR61.1bR4.0b6.9x7.4x0.5x
Sat, 23 Jul 2022R26.3bR61.1bR4.0b6.3x6.6x0.4x
Mon, 20 Jun 2022R22.9bR61.7bR4.1b5.6x5.6x0.4x
Wed, 18 May 2022R28.1bR61.9bR4.1b4.5x6.9x0.5x
Fri, 15 Apr 2022R27.4bR61.9bR4.1b5.4x6.8x0.4x
Sun, 13 Mar 2022R22.5bR44.0bR3.1b4.6x7.2x0.5x
Tue, 08 Feb 2022R23.6bR44.0bR3.2b8.4x7.4x0.5x
Thu, 06 Jan 2022R26.5bR44.0bR3.2b9.7x8.3x0.6x
Sat, 04 Dec 2021R27.7bR44.1bR2.9b11.1x9.5x0.6x
Mon, 01 Nov 2021R25.9bR44.3bR2.5b14.6x10.5x0.6x
Wed, 29 Sep 2021R22.6bR44.3bR2.5b15.1x9.2x0.5x
Fri, 27 Aug 2021R19.8bR44.3bR2.5b17.1x8.1x0.4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

9x


Total Market Cap: R22.2bTotal Earnings: R2.5bTotal Revenue: R44.3bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
South African Telecom Services and Carriers Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 4.4x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the South African Telecom industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 6.9x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 4.4x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.38x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Telecom industry have declined 3.1% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 10% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the South African Telecom industry?

ZA Market0.55%
Telecom-1.92%
Telecom Services and Carriers-2.94%
Alternative Carriers-2.78%
Integrated Telecom Services-2.95%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Alternative Carriers industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 7.3x.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Integrated Telecom Services industry, although it looks like investor sentiment has improved given that it's trading above its 3-year average of 4.7x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Integrated Telecom Services industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 16% over the next 5 years.
  • However this is lower than its past earnings growth rate of 79% per year.
  • In contrast, the Integrated Telecom Services industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 16% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
BLU Blue Label TelecomsR4.301.4%
+R53.8m
29.9%PE5.1x
TLM TeleMasters HoldingsR1.0315.7%
+R7.9m
0%PE42.8x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.