Header cover image

South African (JSE) Steel Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 15, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies3
  • 7D3.7%
  • 3M-8.7%
  • 1Y-0.1%
  • YTDn/a

Over the last 7 days, the Steel industry has remained flat, although notably ArcelorMittal South Africa gained 7.1%. In line with that, the industry has also been flat over the past 12 months. As for the next few years, earnings are forecast to decline by 14% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the South African Steel Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Mon, 15 Apr 2024R161.7bR137.1bR20.6b4.4x7.9x1.2x
Wed, 13 Mar 2024R163.1bR136.3bR20.3b4.6x8x1.2x
Fri, 09 Feb 2024R179.9bR117.4bR13.8b7.8x13x1.5x
Sun, 07 Jan 2024R193.8bR117.4bR13.8b8.3x14.1x1.7x
Tue, 05 Dec 2023R198.0bR117.4bR13.8b8.4x14.4x1.7x
Thu, 02 Nov 2023R163.7bR117.4bR13.8b7.1x11.9x1.4x
Sat, 30 Sep 2023R150.8bR117.4bR13.8b6.6x10.9x1.3x
Mon, 28 Aug 2023R137.7bR117.4bR13.8b6.2x10x1.2x
Wed, 26 Jul 2023R163.3bR122.7bR19.0b2.2x8.6x1.3x
Fri, 23 Jun 2023R158.6bR122.7bR19.0b2x8.3x1.3x
Sun, 21 May 2023R157.1bR130.2bR25.5b2.1x6.2x1.2x
Tue, 18 Apr 2023R161.8bR122.7bR19.0b2.2x8.5x1.3x
Thu, 16 Mar 2023R149.0bR123.4bR19.6b1.7x7.6x1.2x
Sat, 11 Feb 2023R176.1bR133.3bR30.9b1.7x5.7x1.3x
Mon, 09 Jan 2023R181.3bR133.3bR30.9b1.6x5.9x1.4x
Wed, 07 Dec 2022R167.4bR132.8bR30.6b2x5.5x1.3x
Fri, 04 Nov 2022R122.3bR132.8bR30.6b1.9x4x0.9x
Sun, 02 Oct 2022R132.2bR132.8bR30.6b1.7x4.3x1x
Tue, 30 Aug 2022R147.4bR132.8bR30.6b2x4.8x1.1x
Thu, 28 Jul 2022R161.4bR149.9bR41.6b2.2x3.9x1.1x
Sat, 25 Jun 2022R172.9bR149.9bR41.6b2.4x4.2x1.2x
Mon, 23 May 2022R175.1bR149.9bR41.6b2.4x4.2x1.2x
Wed, 20 Apr 2022R223.7bR149.9bR41.6b2.5x5.4x1.5x
Fri, 18 Mar 2022R209.2bR139.5bR36.4b5.9x5.7x1.5x
Sun, 13 Feb 2022R233.8bR149.6bR40.8b5.8x5.7x1.6x
Tue, 11 Jan 2022R160.2bR149.6bR40.8b4.3x3.9x1.1x
Thu, 09 Dec 2021R161.0bR149.6bR40.8b4x3.9x1.1x
Sat, 06 Nov 2021R142.4bR149.6bR40.8b3.5x3.5x1x
Mon, 04 Oct 2021R162.1bR149.6bR40.8b4.1x4x1.1x
Wed, 01 Sep 2021R213.8bR149.6bR40.8b4.3x5.2x1.4x
Thu, 08 Jul 2021R212.9bR149.6bR40.8b3.1x5.2x1.4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

7.2x


Total Market Cap: R217.8bTotal Earnings: R30.3bTotal Revenue: R129.5bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
South African Steel Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 6.9x202220232024
Current Industry PE
    There are only 3 companies in the South African Steel industry, so there is insufficient data to make an industry-wide assessment of both the PE and PS ratio.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Steel industry have declined 12% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues have remained mostly flat.
  • This means that although sales have remained flat, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Comparison

How does South African Steel compare with similar industries?

ZA Market-0.18%
Materials8.42%
Metals and Mining9.24%
Steel3.75%
Diversified Metals and Mining20.38%
Gold10.47%
Precious Metals and Minerals9.29%
Silver0%
Copper-1.79%
Aluminum-5.33%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
KIO Kumba Iron OreR489.064.2%
+R6.4b
1.4%PE6.9x
ACL ArcelorMittal South AfricaR1.221.7%
+R22.3m
-66.7%PS0.03x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

KIO

R489.06

Kumba Iron Ore

7D

4.2%

1Y

1.4%

MRF

R1.35

Merafe Resources

7D

-14.0%

1Y

10.7%

ACL

R1.22

ArcelorMittal South Africa

7D

1.7%

1Y

-66.7%