Header cover image

South African (JSE) Construction Industry Analysis

UpdatedJan 26, 2023
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies5
  • 7D-2.2%
  • 3M-10.9%
  • 1Y-39.7%
  • YTD-2.9%

Over the last 7 days, the Construction industry has dropped 2.2%, driven by declines in Aveng and Raubex Group of 7.4% and 2.6%, respectively. However, the industry is down 40% over the past year.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the South African Construction Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Thu, 26 Jan 2023R12.9bR91.6bR1.7b7.1x7.8x0.1x
Sat, 24 Dec 2022R12.9bR91.6bR1.7b6.9x7.8x0.1x
Mon, 21 Nov 2022R15.2bR85.9bR1.8b8.7x8.3x0.2x
Wed, 19 Oct 2022R14.1bR84.5bR1.8b8.7x7.9x0.2x
Fri, 16 Sep 2022R15.2bR84.5bR1.8b11.8x8.5x0.2x
Sun, 14 Aug 2022R17.7bR91.8b-R316,766,000.0014.9x-55.7x0.2x
Tue, 12 Jul 2022R17.1bR91.8b-R316,766,000.0014.1x-54.1x0.2x
Thu, 09 Jun 2022R17.6bR91.8b-R316,766,000.0015.2x-55.4x0.2x
Sat, 07 May 2022R17.4bR91.1b-R410,979,000.0016.7x-42.3x0.2x
Mon, 04 Apr 2022R18.7bR91.1b-R410,979,000.0018x-45.5x0.2x
Wed, 02 Mar 2022R19.1bR93.0bR781.3m16.4x24.5x0.2x
Fri, 28 Jan 2022R87.1bR92.6bR1.2b45.2x75x0.9x
Sun, 26 Dec 2021R87.1bR92.6bR1.2b46.5x74.9x0.9x
Tue, 23 Nov 2021R21.3bR97.7bR851.0m16.8x25x0.2x
Thu, 21 Oct 2021R20.9bR95.6bR551.4m28.3x37.8x0.2x
Sat, 18 Sep 2021R19.0bR95.6bR551.4m27.3x34.5x0.2x
Mon, 16 Aug 2021R19.4bR92.3b-R632,611,000.0034.1x-30.7x0.2x
Mon, 31 May 2021R18.6bR92.9b-R1,494,174,000.0037.6x-12.5x0.2x
Thu, 04 Mar 2021R13.0bR93.5b-R2,355,737,000.0026.2x-5.5x0.1x
Sun, 06 Dec 2020R13.4bR92.9b-R2,161,662,000.0036.6x-6.2x0.1x
Wed, 09 Sep 2020R13.1bR93.7b-R1,931,377,000.0049.4x-6.8x0.1x
Tue, 02 Jun 2020R10.5bR94.4b-R641,872,000.0019.7x-16.4x0.1x
Fri, 06 Mar 2020R13.1bR94.2b-R3,377,000.008.1x-3886.5x0.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-192.4x


Total Market Cap: R15.9bTotal Earnings: -R82,562,500.00Total Revenue: R94.3bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
South African Construction Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average -123x202120222023
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the South African Construction industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 7.8x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of -123x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.22x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Construction industry have gone up over the last three years, and the industry is now profitable.
  • Revenues have remained mostly flat. This means that the industry has become more efficient since profits are increasing while sales have been flat.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the South African Industrials industry?

ZA Market-0.58%
Industrials0.029%
Construction-2.23%
Construction and Engineering-2.23%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
No data available
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

MUR

R2.54

Murray & Roberts Holdings

7D

-3.8%

1Y

-81.4%

RBX

R27.15

Raubex Group

7D

-1.1%

1Y

-27.8%

SSK

R1.52

Stefanutti Stocks Holdings

7D

-7.9%

1Y

210.2%

AEG

R14.29

Aveng

7D

-4.7%

1Y

-46.3%

WBO

R93.56

Wilson Bayly Holmes-Ovcon

7D

-2.5%

1Y

-15.9%