Header cover image

South African (JSE) Automotive Retail Industry Analysis

UpdatedJan 26, 2023
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies3
  • 7D-0.5%
  • 3M5.6%
  • 1Y-1.3%
  • YTD9.3%

The Automotive Retail industry is up 2.4% in the last week, with Motus Holdings up 3.6%. In the past year, the industry is down 3.6%. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 7.4% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the South African Automotive Retail Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Thu, 26 Jan 2023R32.9bR150.0bR5.1b6.5x6.4x0.2x
Sat, 24 Dec 2022R30.1bR150.0bR5.1b5.7x5.9x0.2x
Mon, 21 Nov 2022R32.5bR150.0bR5.1b6.4x6.4x0.2x
Wed, 19 Oct 2022R31.3bR149.4bR5.0b6.1x6.2x0.2x
Fri, 16 Sep 2022R33.5bR149.4bR5.0b6.6x6.7x0.2x
Sun, 14 Aug 2022R32.6bR140.0bR4.1b7.9x8x0.2x
Tue, 12 Jul 2022R30.4bR140.0bR4.1b7.3x7.5x0.2x
Thu, 09 Jun 2022R32.2bR140.0bR4.1b7.3x7.9x0.2x
Sat, 07 May 2022R30.5bR140.0bR4.1b7.4x7.5x0.2x
Mon, 04 Apr 2022R32.0bR139.4bR4.0b7.4x7.9x0.2x
Wed, 02 Mar 2022R33.6bR139.4bR4.0b7.8x8.3x0.2x
Fri, 28 Jan 2022R35.2bR137.3bR3.5b10.2x10.2x0.3x
Sun, 26 Dec 2021R33.1bR137.3bR3.5b9.1x9.6x0.2x
Tue, 23 Nov 2021R32.1bR137.3bR3.5b9x9.3x0.2x
Thu, 21 Oct 2021R33.8bR135.3bR3.3b11.6x10.3x0.2x
Sat, 18 Sep 2021R33.5bR135.3bR3.3b10.6x10.2x0.2x
Mon, 16 Aug 2021R28.9bR135.3bR3.3b9.5x8.8x0.2x
Mon, 31 May 2021R30.6bR127.7bR1.8b14.5x16.7x0.2x
Thu, 04 Mar 2021R25.4bR120.1bR381.1m25x66.7x0.2x
Sun, 06 Dec 2020R20.5bR118.5bR292.3m20.9x70.1x0.2x
Wed, 09 Sep 2020R12.6bR117.0bR203.5m13.2x62x0.1x
Tue, 02 Jun 2020R12.1bR123.9bR1.7b5.1x7x0.1x
Fri, 06 Mar 2020R23.0bR130.7bR3.3b7.2x7x0.2x
Price to Earnings Ratio

8.1x


Total Market Cap: R26.5bTotal Earnings: R3.3bTotal Revenue: R130.8bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
South African Automotive Retail Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 21.9x202120222023
Current Industry PE
    There are only 3 companies in the South African Automotive Retail industry, so there is insufficient data to make an industry-wide assessment of both the PE and PS ratio.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Automotive Retail industry have grown 16% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 4.7% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does South African Automotive Retail compare with similar industries?

ZA Market-0.58%
Consumer Discretionary0.56%
Specialty Stores-1.78%
Automotive Retail-0.45%
Home Furnishing Retail2.15%
Computer and Electronics Retail0%
Specialty Stores0%
Apparel Retail-2.00%
Home Improvement Retail-2.55%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
CMH Combined Motor HoldingsR28.002.9%
+R59.1m
12.0%PE4.6x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

CMH

R28.00

Combined Motor Holdings

7D

2.9%

1Y

12.0%

MTH

R124.52

Motus Holdings

7D

-0.4%

1Y

6.0%

SPG

R27.56

Super Group

7D

-1.3%

1Y

-16.6%