Header cover image

Chilean (IPSA) Electric Utilities Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 21, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies12
  • 7D4.2%
  • 3M0.8%
  • 1Y14.4%
  • YTD1.2%

In the last week, the Electric Utilities industry is up 4.2%, with Enel Américas up 3.9%. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 14%. Looking forward, earnings are expected to remain mostly flat in the next few years.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Chilean Electric Utilities Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 21 Feb 2024CL$18.5tCL$24.2tCL$2.1t7.6x8.9x0.8x
Fri, 19 Jan 2024CL$17.5tCL$23.5tCL$2.2t7.8x8x0.7x
Sun, 17 Dec 2023CL$18.4tCL$22.7tCL$2.2t8.4x8.5x0.8x
Tue, 14 Nov 2023CL$17.9tCL$23.6tCL$2.2t9.5x8.2x0.8x
Thu, 12 Oct 2023CL$18.2tCL$24.1tCL$1.2t8.7x15.4x0.8x
Sat, 09 Sep 2023CL$18.1tCL$23.6tCL$1.2t8.1x15.1x0.8x
Mon, 07 Aug 2023CL$19.1tCL$23.2tCL$1.2t8.3x15.8x0.8x
Wed, 05 Jul 2023CL$18.3tCL$22.5tCL$1.3t8.2x14.5x0.8x
Fri, 02 Jun 2023CL$17.8tCL$22.3tCL$1.2t7.9x14.2x0.8x
Sun, 30 Apr 2023CL$18.4tCL$22.6tCL$1.3t8x14.1x0.8x
Tue, 28 Mar 2023CL$16.2tCL$22.1tCL$1.2t8x13.6x0.7x
Thu, 23 Feb 2023CL$16.3tCL$21.6tCL$96.0b10.5x169.3x0.8x
Sat, 21 Jan 2023CL$17.4tCL$21.9tCL$366.4b10.5x47.4x0.8x
Mon, 19 Dec 2022CL$17.7tCL$23.0tCL$331.9b10.8x53.3x0.8x
Wed, 16 Nov 2022CL$16.2tCL$22.8tCL$327.6b11x49.6x0.7x
Fri, 14 Oct 2022CL$17.1tCL$23.9tCL$1.1t11x15.5x0.7x
Sun, 11 Sep 2022CL$16.7tCL$22.9tCL$1.0t11x15.9x0.7x
Tue, 09 Aug 2022CL$15.7tCL$23.1tCL$1.1t11.7x14.7x0.7x
Thu, 07 Jul 2022CL$14.0tCL$23.6tCL$1.2t10.5x11.6x0.6x
Sat, 04 Jun 2022CL$14.6tCL$20.7tCL$1.0t11.8x14x0.7x
Mon, 02 May 2022CL$14.8tCL$20.6tCL$911.3b15.2x16.2x0.7x
Wed, 30 Mar 2022CL$15.9tCL$19.3tCL$837.2b17.9x19x0.8x
Fri, 25 Feb 2022CL$15.9tCL$19.1tCL$1.2t13.1x13x0.8x
Sun, 23 Jan 2022CL$17.2tCL$18.8tCL$1.2t14x13.9x0.9x
Tue, 21 Dec 2021CL$17.2tCL$18.5tCL$1.3t11.9x13.5x0.9x
Thu, 18 Nov 2021CL$16.9tCL$17.6tCL$1.2t12.5x13.8x1x
Sat, 16 Oct 2021CL$18.1tCL$15.9tCL$1.3t14.7x14.4x1.1x
Mon, 13 Sep 2021CL$17.9tCL$16.1tCL$1.2t15.2x14.6x1.1x
Wed, 11 Aug 2021CL$16.4tCL$14.5tCL$1.2t15x14x1.1x
Sun, 06 Jun 2021CL$17.0tCL$13.6tCL$690.2b18.6x24.6x1.2x
Wed, 10 Mar 2021CL$15.7tCL$13.7tCL$828.6b13.4x18.9x1.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

18.9x


Total Market Cap: CL$15.7tTotal Earnings: CL$828.6bTotal Revenue: CL$13.7tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Chilean Electric Utilities Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 21.4x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Chilean Electric Utilities industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 8.9x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 21.4x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.87x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Electric Utilities industry have grown 36% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 21% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Chilean Utilities industry?

CL Market3.87%
Utilities2.77%
Electric Utilities4.17%
Electric Utilities4.17%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
ENELAM Enel AméricasCL$101.953.9%
+CL$406.6b
1.8%PE13.8x
ENELCHILE Enel ChileCL$58.108.4%
+CL$309.9b
62.9%PE2.9x
ECL Engie Energia ChileCL$850.001.3%
+CL$11.5b
76.1%PS0.4x
CGE Compañía General de ElectricidadCL$212.622.1%
+CL$8.9b
-50.7%PE7.2x
PEHUENCHE Empresa Eléctrica PehuencheCL$2.39k0.3%
+CL$4.8b
65.0%PE8.2x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.