Header cover image

Chilean (IPSA) Telecom Sector Analysis

UpdatedFeb 27, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies6
  • 7D-1.4%
  • 3M3.4%
  • 1Y-10.1%
  • YTD-2.9%

Over the last 7 days, the Telecom industry has dropped 1.4%, driven by pullbacks from every company within the industry. The industry has fallen 10% in the last year. Earnings are forecast to grow by 13% annually.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the Chilean Telecom Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 28 Feb 2024CL$1.8tCL$6.0tCL$131.5b9.4x14x0.3x
Fri, 26 Jan 2024CL$1.8tCL$5.9tCL$65.1b13.4x27.8x0.3x
Sun, 24 Dec 2023CL$1.8tCL$5.9tCL$65.1b13.4x28.2x0.3x
Tue, 21 Nov 2023CL$1.7tCL$5.9tCL$64.9b13x26.8x0.3x
Thu, 19 Oct 2023CL$1.7tCL$5.9tCL$170.4b9.7x9.8x0.3x
Sat, 16 Sep 2023CL$1.8tCL$5.9tCL$170.2b10x10.6x0.3x
Mon, 14 Aug 2023CL$1.9tCL$6.0tCL$173.3b8.4x10.9x0.3x
Wed, 12 Jul 2023CL$1.9tCL$6.0tCL$662.0b8.2x2.8x0.3x
Fri, 09 Jun 2023CL$1.8tCL$6.0tCL$662.0b8x2.7x0.3x
Sun, 07 May 2023CL$1.9tCL$6.1tCL$733.1b11.5x2.6x0.3x
Tue, 04 Apr 2023CL$1.8tCL$6.1tCL$746.4b4.8x2.5x0.3x
Thu, 02 Mar 2023CL$2.0tCL$6.1tCL$745.4b6.6x2.7x0.3x
Sat, 28 Jan 2023CL$1.9tCL$6.1tCL$730.8b5.8x2.6x0.3x
Mon, 26 Dec 2022CL$1.9tCL$6.1tCL$688.5b5.9x2.7x0.3x
Wed, 23 Nov 2022CL$1.8tCL$6.1tCL$666.1b2.1x2.8x0.3x
Fri, 21 Oct 2022CL$1.7tCL$6.1tCL$903.4b1.8x1.8x0.3x
Sun, 18 Sep 2022CL$1.7tCL$6.1tCL$903.4b1.9x1.9x0.3x
Tue, 16 Aug 2022CL$1.7tCL$6.1tCL$902.2b1.9x1.9x0.3x
Thu, 14 Jul 2022CL$1.8tCL$5.9tCL$470.1b7.3x3.8x0.3x
Sat, 11 Jun 2022CL$2.0tCL$5.9tCL$469.9b8.3x4.2x0.3x
Mon, 09 May 2022CL$1.9tCL$5.8tCL$436.0b7.4x4.4x0.3x
Wed, 06 Apr 2022CL$1.9tCL$5.7tCL$414.3b11.4x4.7x0.3x
Fri, 04 Mar 2022CL$1.7tCL$5.7tCL$416.0b10.1x4x0.3x
Sun, 30 Jan 2022CL$1.9tCL$5.6tCL$432.9b6.3x4.4x0.3x
Tue, 28 Dec 2021CL$1.7tCL$5.5tCL$479.3b5.6x3.5x0.3x
Thu, 25 Nov 2021CL$1.9tCL$5.5tCL$479.4b6.5x3.9x0.3x
Sat, 23 Oct 2021CL$1.9tCL$5.3tCL$234.5b7.1x8.3x0.4x
Mon, 20 Sep 2021CL$2.0tCL$5.3tCL$234.5b7.4x8.7x0.4x
Wed, 18 Aug 2021CL$2.1tCL$5.3tCL$235.3b7.8x8.9x0.4x
Wed, 02 Jun 2021CL$2.2tCL$5.0tCL$188.0b9.2x11.7x0.4x
Sat, 06 Mar 2021CL$2.6tCL$4.9tCL$119.8b17x21.6x0.5x
Price to Earnings Ratio

21.6x


Total Market Cap: CL$2.6tTotal Earnings: CL$119.8bTotal Revenue: CL$4.9tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Chilean Telecom Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 7.4x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Chilean Communication Services industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 14.0x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 7.8x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.34x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Communication Services industry have grown 3.2% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 6.6% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Chilean Telecom sector?

CL Market-2.05%
Telecom-1.44%
Entertainment0%
Interactive Media and Services0%
Media0%
Telecom Services and Carriers0%
Wireless Telecom-1.98%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Entertainment industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average PE ratio of 33.9x.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Wireless Telecom industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 13% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 80% per year.
  • In contrast, the Wireless Telecom industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 13% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
No data available
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.