Header cover image

Chilean (IPSA) Utilities Sector Analysis

UpdatedFeb 27, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies24
  • 7D-0.6%
  • 3M1.2%
  • 1Y19.0%
  • YTD0.3%

Last week, the Utilities industry hasn't moved much but Compañía General de Electricidad is up 9.3% in that time. As for the the longer term, the industry is up 19% over the past 12 months. In the next few years earnings are forecast to be pretty stable.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the Chilean Utilities Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 28 Feb 2024CL$30.0tCL$38.4tCL$3.9t8.1x7.7x0.8x
Fri, 26 Jan 2024CL$29.2tCL$36.7tCL$4.1t7.8x7.2x0.8x
Sun, 24 Dec 2023CL$29.8tCL$36.3tCL$4.0t8.2x7.4x0.8x
Tue, 21 Nov 2023CL$29.4tCL$36.1tCL$4.0t9.8x7.3x0.8x
Thu, 19 Oct 2023CL$29.0tCL$38.2tCL$2.9t9.9x10.1x0.8x
Sat, 16 Sep 2023CL$29.0tCL$36.9tCL$2.8t10x10.2x0.8x
Mon, 14 Aug 2023CL$30.1tCL$36.5tCL$2.8t9.6x10.8x0.8x
Wed, 12 Jul 2023CL$29.7tCL$35.5tCL$3.0t8.8x9.9x0.8x
Fri, 09 Jun 2023CL$29.0tCL$34.8tCL$3.0t8.8x9.7x0.8x
Sun, 07 May 2023CL$28.7tCL$34.6tCL$3.0t7.9x9.7x0.8x
Tue, 04 Apr 2023CL$27.0tCL$34.2tCL$2.7t10.4x9.9x0.8x
Thu, 02 Mar 2023CL$25.5tCL$32.8tCL$402.6b11.3x63.3x0.8x
Sat, 28 Jan 2023CL$25.8tCL$32.4tCL$452.6b12.1x57x0.8x
Mon, 26 Dec 2022CL$25.9tCL$34.0tCL$401.2b13.1x64.7x0.8x
Wed, 23 Nov 2022CL$25.7tCL$34.8tCL$548.6b11x46.8x0.7x
Fri, 21 Oct 2022CL$25.1tCL$35.3tCL$2.0t10.5x12.5x0.7x
Sun, 18 Sep 2022CL$25.5tCL$34.2tCL$1.9t10.7x13.1x0.7x
Tue, 16 Aug 2022CL$24.5tCL$32.7tCL$1.9t10.6x13.1x0.7x
Thu, 14 Jul 2022CL$21.7tCL$34.5tCL$1.6t7.7x13.4x0.6x
Sat, 11 Jun 2022CL$22.5tCL$30.6tCL$1.5t7.9x15.3x0.7x
Mon, 09 May 2022CL$22.6tCL$30.9tCL$1.5t8.4x15.6x0.7x
Wed, 06 Apr 2022CL$23.6tCL$28.2tCL$1.2t10.2x19.3x0.8x
Fri, 04 Mar 2022CL$23.3tCL$28.8tCL$1.2t11.5x19.4x0.8x
Sun, 30 Jan 2022CL$25.3tCL$27.8tCL$2.5t12.8x9.9x0.9x
Tue, 28 Dec 2021CL$25.9tCL$27.2tCL$2.6t10.2x9.8x1x
Thu, 25 Nov 2021CL$27.1tCL$26.1tCL$2.4t12.4x11.1x1x
Sat, 23 Oct 2021CL$25.6tCL$24.1tCL$1.4t13.2x18.1x1.1x
Mon, 20 Sep 2021CL$28.6tCL$23.6tCL$1.4t15.1x20.4x1.2x
Wed, 18 Aug 2021CL$26.4tCL$22.5tCL$1.4t15.3x19.3x1.2x
Wed, 02 Jun 2021CL$26.2tCL$21.1tCL$721.8b17.1x36.4x1.2x
Sat, 06 Mar 2021CL$26.7tCL$21.0tCL$883.9b14.7x30.2x1.3x
Price to Earnings Ratio

30.2x


Total Market Cap: CL$26.7tTotal Earnings: CL$883.9bTotal Revenue: CL$21.0tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Chilean Utilities Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 20.1x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Chilean Utilities industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 7.7x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 20.4x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.89x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Utilities industry have grown 64% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 22% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Chilean Utilities sector?

CL Market-2.05%
Utilities-0.55%
Gas Utilities0.27%
Other Utilities0%
Renewable Energy-0.32%
Electric Utilities-0.45%
Water Utilities-1.85%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Water Utilities industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 15.1x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 17.3%, which is lower than the prior year's growth of 169.3% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Renewable Energy industry, although it looks like investor sentiment has improved given that it's trading above its 3-year average.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Water Utilities industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 17% over the next 5 years.
  • However this is lower than its past earnings growth rate of 169% per year.
  • In contrast, the Renewable Energy industry is expected to see its earnings decline by 15% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
CGE Compañía General de ElectricidadCL$240.7913.2%
+CL$56.9b
-44.2%PE8.1x
PEHUENCHE Empresa Eléctrica PehuencheCL$2.45k2.4%
+CL$35.3b
69.0%PE8.3x
GASCO Empresas GascoCL$1.26k5.7%
+CL$11.4b
38.0%PE12.3x
AGUAS-A Aguas AndinasCL$284.800.6%
+CL$11.0b
43.8%PE13.7x
IAM Inversiones Aguas MetropolitanasCL$735.000.7%
+CL$5.0b
56.4%PE11.8x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News