Header cover image

New Zealand (NZX) Consumer Staples Sector Analysis

UpdatedFeb 28, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies17
  • 7D2.6%
  • 3M13.4%
  • 1Y-13.0%
  • YTD5.6%

Over the last 7 days, the Consumer Staples industry has risen 1.6%, driven by gains from a2 Milk of 4.0%. In the same time, PGG Wrightson was down 9.4%. However, the industry is down 12% over the past year. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 16% per annum.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the New Zealand Consumer Staples Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 28 Feb 2024NZ$11.8bNZ$33.2bNZ$1.5b11.9x7.7x0.4x
Fri, 26 Jan 2024NZ$11.2bNZ$33.2bNZ$1.5b11.7x7.3x0.3x
Sun, 24 Dec 2023NZ$11.1bNZ$33.2bNZ$1.5b11.7x7.2x0.3x
Tue, 21 Nov 2023NZ$10.5bNZ$33.2bNZ$1.5b11.3x6.7x0.3x
Thu, 19 Oct 2023NZ$11.1bNZ$33.2bNZ$1.6b11.9x7x0.3x
Sat, 16 Sep 2023NZ$11.9bNZ$34.7bNZ$1.6b13x7.3x0.3x
Mon, 14 Aug 2023NZ$12.7bNZ$34.6bNZ$1.6b14.1x7.7x0.4x
Wed, 12 Jul 2023NZ$12.7bNZ$34.5bNZ$1.6b16.8x7.7x0.4x
Fri, 09 Jun 2023NZ$12.8bNZ$34.0bNZ$1.2b14.6x10.4x0.4x
Sun, 07 May 2023NZ$12.3bNZ$34.2bNZ$1.3b14.4x9.8x0.4x
Tue, 04 Apr 2023NZ$13.1bNZ$34.2bNZ$1.3b14.3x10.5x0.4x
Thu, 02 Mar 2023NZ$13.6bNZ$32.0bNZ$988.4m14x13.7x0.4x
Sat, 28 Jan 2023NZ$14.1bNZ$31.8bNZ$1.0b14.4x14.1x0.4x
Mon, 26 Dec 2022NZ$13.9bNZ$31.8bNZ$1.0b14.1x13.9x0.4x
Wed, 23 Nov 2022NZ$13.6bNZ$31.8bNZ$1.0b14.4x13.6x0.4x
Fri, 21 Oct 2022NZ$13.2bNZ$31.7bNZ$957.4m17.6x13.8x0.4x
Sun, 18 Sep 2022NZ$14.2bNZ$30.2bNZ$814.8m17.7x17.4x0.5x
Tue, 16 Aug 2022NZ$13.4bNZ$29.8bNZ$709.1m19.7x18.9x0.4x
Thu, 14 Jul 2022NZ$13.1bNZ$29.8bNZ$721.9m18.5x18.2x0.4x
Sat, 11 Jun 2022NZ$13.1bNZ$29.8bNZ$722.2m13.7x18.2x0.4x
Mon, 09 May 2022NZ$12.6bNZ$29.6bNZ$704.6m20.7x17.8x0.4x
Wed, 06 Apr 2022NZ$14.3bNZ$29.6bNZ$765.7m21.2x18.7x0.5x
Fri, 04 Mar 2022NZ$14.6bNZ$28.5bNZ$708.4m21.5x20.5x0.5x
Sun, 30 Jan 2022NZ$14.3bNZ$28.4bNZ$760.3m16.7x18.8x0.5x
Tue, 28 Dec 2021NZ$14.7bNZ$28.4bNZ$758.3m24.7x19.4x0.5x
Thu, 25 Nov 2021NZ$15.3bNZ$28.2bNZ$753.2m19.1x20.3x0.5x
Sat, 23 Oct 2021NZ$15.8bNZ$28.2bNZ$756.6m23.6x20.9x0.6x
Mon, 20 Sep 2021NZ$14.4bNZ$27.5bNZ$850.4m18x16.9x0.5x
Wed, 18 Aug 2021NZ$15.1bNZ$27.5bNZ$850.4m21.9x17.7x0.5x
Wed, 02 Jun 2021NZ$14.9bNZ$27.6bNZ$971.0m21.3x15.3x0.5x
Sat, 06 Mar 2021NZ$20.5bNZ$27.8bNZ$1.1b19.8x18.8x0.7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

18.8x


Total Market Cap: NZ$20.5bTotal Earnings: NZ$1.1bTotal Revenue: NZ$27.8bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
New Zealand Consumer Staples Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 14.5x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the New Zealander Consumer Staples industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 7.7x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 14.5x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.45x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Consumer Staples industry have grown 12% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 6.0% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the New Zealand Consumer Staples sector?

NZ Market1.00%
Consumer Staples2.57%
Personal Products36.31%
Beverage7.76%
Food2.05%
Tobacco0%
Household Products0%
Food and Staples Retail-9.05%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Personal Products industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 22.5x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 36.4%, which is higher than its past year's earnings decline of 72.5% per year.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Food industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 14.2x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Personal Products industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 36% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 72% per year.
  • In contrast, the Food and Staples Retail industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 9.7% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
FCG Fonterra Co-operative GroupNZ$2.283.2%
+NZ$135.2m
6.0%PE3.5x
ATM a2 MilkNZ$6.203.0%
+NZ$130.1m
-13.4%PE26.8x
DGL Delegat GroupNZ$6.418.6%
+NZ$51.6m
-30.3%PE11.3x
CVT ComvitaNZ$2.4436.3%
+NZ$45.6m
-27.8%PE46.3x
SML Synlait MilkNZ$0.747.2%
+NZ$10.9m
-78.2%PS0.1x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

PGW

NZ$2.63

PGG Wrightson

7D

-15.7%

1Y

-39.0%

SML

NZ$0.74

Synlait Milk

7D

7.2%

1Y

-78.2%

DGL

NZ$6.41

Delegat Group

7D

8.6%

1Y

-30.3%

FWL

NZ$1.10

Foley Wines

7D

-0.9%

1Y

-21.4%

CVT

NZ$2.44

Comvita

7D

36.3%

1Y

-27.8%

SCL

NZ$3.16

Scales

7D

0.6%

1Y

-6.8%

ATM

NZ$6.20

a2 Milk

7D

3.0%

1Y

-13.4%

TGG

NZ$1.73

T&G Global

7D

-1.7%

1Y

-20.6%

FCG

NZ$2.28

Fonterra Co-operative Group

7D

3.2%

1Y

6.0%

SEK

NZ$2.80

Seeka

7D

5.7%

1Y

-7.0%

GXH

NZ$1.05

Green Cross Health

7D

-10.3%

1Y

-22.2%

LIC

NZ$1.02

Livestock Improvement

7D

4.1%

1Y

-17.1%

SAN

NZ$3.85

Sanford

7D

-0.3%

1Y

-4.7%