Header cover image

New Zealand (NZX) Food Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 25, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies11
  • 7D5.4%
  • 3M17.3%
  • 1Y-8.8%
  • YTD7.7%

In the last week, the Food industry is up 5.4%, with a2 Milk up 15%. However, the industry is down 8.9% over the past year. Earnings are forecast to grow by 19% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the New Zealand Food Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 25 Feb 2024NZ$10.8bNZ$31.8bNZ$1.5b10.6x7.4x0.3x
Tue, 23 Jan 2024NZ$10.2bNZ$31.9bNZ$1.4b7.5x7x0.3x
Thu, 21 Dec 2023NZ$9.9bNZ$31.9bNZ$1.4b6.9x6.8x0.3x
Sat, 18 Nov 2023NZ$8.9bNZ$31.9bNZ$1.4b7x6.1x0.3x
Mon, 16 Oct 2023NZ$9.7bNZ$31.8bNZ$1.5b6.3x6.5x0.3x
Wed, 13 Sep 2023NZ$10.5bNZ$33.3bNZ$1.5b11.2x6.9x0.3x
Fri, 11 Aug 2023NZ$11.1bNZ$33.3bNZ$1.5b15.3x7.2x0.3x
Sun, 09 Jul 2023NZ$11.3bNZ$33.2bNZ$1.5b19.3x7.3x0.3x
Tue, 06 Jun 2023NZ$11.2bNZ$32.7bNZ$1.1b18.7x9.9x0.3x
Thu, 04 May 2023NZ$10.7bNZ$32.7bNZ$1.1b18.3x9.6x0.3x
Sat, 01 Apr 2023NZ$11.8bNZ$32.7bNZ$1.1b19.7x10.5x0.4x
Mon, 27 Feb 2023NZ$11.9bNZ$30.5bNZ$872.1m19.4x13.6x0.4x
Wed, 25 Jan 2023NZ$12.4bNZ$30.3bNZ$876.1m15.3x14.2x0.4x
Fri, 23 Dec 2022NZ$12.3bNZ$30.3bNZ$876.1m15.5x14x0.4x
Sun, 20 Nov 2022NZ$11.8bNZ$30.3bNZ$875.8m14.8x13.5x0.4x
Tue, 18 Oct 2022NZ$11.6bNZ$30.3bNZ$828.6m18.2x14.1x0.4x
Thu, 15 Sep 2022NZ$12.3bNZ$28.7bNZ$686.0m18x17.9x0.4x
Sat, 13 Aug 2022NZ$11.3bNZ$28.3bNZ$588.9m18.1x19.3x0.4x
Mon, 11 Jul 2022NZ$11.4bNZ$28.3bNZ$601.7m13x18.9x0.4x
Wed, 08 Jun 2022NZ$10.9bNZ$28.3bNZ$601.7m13.7x18.1x0.4x
Fri, 06 May 2022NZ$10.8bNZ$28.3bNZ$609.0m14.4x17.7x0.4x
Sun, 03 Apr 2022NZ$12.2bNZ$28.3bNZ$670.1m14x18.2x0.4x
Tue, 01 Mar 2022NZ$12.6bNZ$27.2bNZ$609.0m14.1x20.6x0.5x
Thu, 27 Jan 2022NZ$12.2bNZ$27.1bNZ$661.5m7.8x18.5x0.5x
Sat, 25 Dec 2021NZ$12.4bNZ$27.1bNZ$661.5m12.2x18.7x0.5x
Mon, 22 Nov 2021NZ$13.2bNZ$27.1bNZ$661.6m14.5x19.9x0.5x
Wed, 20 Oct 2021NZ$13.7bNZ$27.1bNZ$664.9m13.8x20.6x0.5x
Fri, 17 Sep 2021NZ$12.4bNZ$26.3bNZ$758.7m12x16.3x0.5x
Sun, 15 Aug 2021NZ$12.9bNZ$26.3bNZ$758.7m12.8x17x0.5x
Thu, 10 Jun 2021NZ$12.8bNZ$26.5bNZ$872.5m14.4x14.6x0.5x
Wed, 03 Mar 2021NZ$18.4bNZ$26.7bNZ$988.2m20.9x18.6x0.7x
Price to Earnings Ratio

18.6x


Total Market Cap: NZ$18.4bTotal Earnings: NZ$988.2mTotal Revenue: NZ$26.7bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
New Zealand Food Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 14.4x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the New Zealander Food industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 7.4x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 14.4x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.42x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Food industry have grown 14% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 6.1% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the New Zealand Consumer Staples industry?

NZ Market0.066%
Consumer Staples5.36%
Food5.38%
Packaged Foods and Meats5.83%
Agricultural Products1.43%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Packaged Foods and Meats industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 13.9x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 15.3%, which is lower than the prior year's growth of 61.0% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Agricultural Products industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 45% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 28% per year.
  • In contrast, the Packaged Foods and Meats industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 15% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
ATM a2 MilkNZ$6.2014.8%
+NZ$578.3m
-11.0%PE26.8x
NZK New Zealand King Salmon InvestmentsNZ$0.2911.3%
+NZ$16.2m
28.3%PE4.3x
SCL ScalesNZ$3.252.5%
+NZ$11.4m
-3.0%PE88.8x
PGW PGG WrightsonNZ$3.272.2%
+NZ$5.3m
-24.1%PE14.1x
SEK SeekaNZ$2.653.9%
+NZ$4.2m
-13.1%PS0.4x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

SCL

NZ$3.25

Scales

7D

2.5%

1Y

-3.0%

ATM

NZ$6.20

a2 Milk

7D

14.8%

1Y

-11.0%

TGG

NZ$1.74

T&G Global

7D

-3.3%

1Y

-17.9%

FCG

NZ$2.30

Fonterra Co-operative Group

7D

-1.3%

1Y

6.2%

SEK

NZ$2.65

Seeka

7D

3.9%

1Y

-13.1%

LIC

NZ$1.00

Livestock Improvement

7D

2.0%

1Y

n/a

PGW

NZ$3.27

PGG Wrightson

7D

2.2%

1Y

-24.1%

SAN

NZ$3.89

Sanford

7D

-0.3%

1Y

-4.9%