Header cover image

New Zealand (NZX) Healthcare Sector Analysis

UpdatedApr 13, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies17
  • 7D1.0%
  • 3M0.08%
  • 1Y-7.3%
  • YTD1.0%

Over the last 7 days, the Healthcare industry has remained flat, although notably Arvida Group declined by 4.2%. As for the longer term, the industry has declined 7.3% in the last year. Earnings are forecast to grow by 12% annually.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the New Zealand Healthcare Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 14 Apr 2024NZ$29.7bNZ$17.3bNZ$1.3b24.2x23.1x1.7x
Tue, 12 Mar 2024NZ$29.0bNZ$17.0bNZ$1.3b18.9x22.6x1.7x
Thu, 08 Feb 2024NZ$30.1bNZ$16.5bNZ$1.1b18.7x26.7x1.8x
Sat, 06 Jan 2024NZ$29.4bNZ$16.7bNZ$1.1b23.4x26x1.8x
Mon, 04 Dec 2023NZ$28.8bNZ$16.6bNZ$1.1b24.1x25.4x1.7x
Wed, 01 Nov 2023NZ$26.9bNZ$16.6bNZ$1.1b24.3x24.3x1.6x
Fri, 29 Sep 2023NZ$27.7bNZ$16.4bNZ$1.1b28.9x25x1.7x
Sun, 27 Aug 2023NZ$28.8bNZ$16.5bNZ$1.1b28.9x26.3x1.7x
Tue, 25 Jul 2023NZ$30.9bNZ$15.9bNZ$1.1b29.7x28.7x1.9x
Thu, 22 Jun 2023NZ$30.0bNZ$16.0bNZ$1.1b29.1x27.8x1.9x
Sat, 20 May 2023NZ$32.4bNZ$15.4bNZ$1.6b18.8x20.5x2.1x
Mon, 17 Apr 2023NZ$31.8bNZ$15.6bNZ$1.6b18.9x20.1x2x
Wed, 15 Mar 2023NZ$30.8bNZ$15.5bNZ$1.6b18.8x19.5x2x
Fri, 10 Feb 2023NZ$31.3bNZ$14.8bNZ$1.7b18.7x18.4x2.1x
Sun, 08 Jan 2023NZ$29.5bNZ$14.6bNZ$1.7b20x17.3x2x
Tue, 06 Dec 2022NZ$30.0bNZ$14.4bNZ$1.7b21.6x17.7x2.1x
Thu, 03 Nov 2022NZ$27.7bNZ$14.9bNZ$1.9b17.6x14.4x1.9x
Sat, 01 Oct 2022NZ$27.3bNZ$15.4bNZ$1.9b16.7x14.1x1.8x
Mon, 29 Aug 2022NZ$28.9bNZ$15.2bNZ$1.9b18.2x14.9x1.9x
Wed, 27 Jul 2022NZ$29.4bNZ$14.0bNZ$2.1b20.5x14.3x2.1x
Fri, 24 Jun 2022NZ$28.6bNZ$13.9bNZ$2.1b19.3x13.9x2.1x
Sun, 22 May 2022NZ$30.2bNZ$14.1bNZ$2.0b23.1x15x2.1x
Tue, 19 Apr 2022NZ$31.9bNZ$14.0bNZ$2.0b24.8x15.8x2.3x
Thu, 17 Mar 2022NZ$33.4bNZ$13.7bNZ$2.0b23.8x16.6x2.4x
Sat, 12 Feb 2022NZ$36.7bNZ$13.2bNZ$2.0b24.4x18.8x2.8x
Mon, 10 Jan 2022NZ$39.7bNZ$13.1bNZ$1.9b24.4x20.4x3x
Wed, 08 Dec 2021NZ$37.8bNZ$12.9bNZ$1.9bn/a19.4x2.9x
Fri, 05 Nov 2021NZ$38.7bNZ$12.8bNZ$1.8b28x20.9x3x
Sun, 03 Oct 2021NZ$39.4bNZ$12.9bNZ$1.9b26.8x21.3x3.1x
Tue, 31 Aug 2021NZ$40.3bNZ$13.0bNZ$1.9b20.1x21.7x3.1x
Wed, 07 Jul 2021NZ$36.8bNZ$13.0bNZ$1.9b20.8x19.8x2.8x
Price to Earnings Ratio

22.7x


Total Market Cap: NZ$39.1bTotal Earnings: NZ$1.7bTotal Revenue: NZ$13.1bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
New Zealand Healthcare Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 20.3x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the New Zealander Healthcare industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 23.1x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 20.3x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 2.2x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.7x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Healthcare industry have declined 9.2% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 9.8% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the New Zealand Healthcare sector?

NZ Market-0.82%
Healthcare0.96%
Pharma2.86%
Biotech2.33%
Medical Equipment1.74%
Healthcare Services0.05%
Healthtech0%
Life Sciences0%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Medical Equipment industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 43.6x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 17.9%, which is higher than its past year's earnings growth of 4.3% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Biotech industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 39% over the next 5 years.
  • In contrast, the Healthcare Services industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 5.4% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
FPH Fisher & Paykel HealthcareNZ$26.231.7%
+NZ$262.8m
-0.8%PE58.5x
EBO EBOS GroupNZ$35.111.3%
+NZ$88.9m
-21.4%PE24.2x
AFT AFT PharmaceuticalsNZ$3.233.2%
+NZ$10.5m
-5.0%PE31x
PEB Pacific EdgeNZ$0.0882.3%
+NZ$1.6m
-81.1%PS2.8x
BLT BLIS TechnologiesNZ$0.0176.3%
+NZ$1.3m
-39.3%PS2x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

PEB

NZ$0.088

Pacific Edge

7D

2.3%

1Y

-81.1%

TRU

NZ$0.02

TruScreen Group

7D

-4.8%

1Y

-20.0%

MEE

NZ$0.096

Me Today

7D

18.5%

1Y

-89.3%

AFT

NZ$3.23

AFT Pharmaceuticals

7D

3.2%

1Y

-5.0%

SUM

NZ$11.28

Summerset Group Holdings

7D

-1.3%

1Y

34.3%

GFI

NZ$0.037

Greenfern Industries

7D

-11.9%

1Y

-53.2%

RUA

NZ$0.072

Rua Bioscience

7D

1.4%

1Y

-59.1%

OCA

NZ$0.64

Oceania Healthcare

7D

-1.5%

1Y

-8.6%

BLT

NZ$0.017

BLIS Technologies

7D

6.3%

1Y

-39.3%

PHL

NZ$0.001

Promisia Healthcare

7D

0%

1Y

0%