Header cover image

New Zealand (NZX) Tech Sector Analysis

UpdatedApr 15, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies10
  • 7D0.06%
  • 3M7.4%
  • 1Y63.1%
  • YTD7.1%

In the last week, the Tech industry is flat overall, with Serko standing out by going down 6.4%. As for the the longer term, the industry is up 63% over the past 12 months. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 50% per annum.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the New Zealand Tech Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Mon, 15 Apr 2024NZ$2.4bNZ$801.6m-NZ$44,547,398.0034.9x-52.8x2.9x
Wed, 13 Mar 2024NZ$2.3bNZ$801.6m-NZ$44,547,398.0036.9x-51.2x2.8x
Fri, 09 Feb 2024NZ$2.2bNZ$804.3m-NZ$53,647,398.0037.2x-41.7x2.8x
Sun, 07 Jan 2024NZ$2.2bNZ$804.3m-NZ$53,647,398.0036.9x-40.7x2.7x
Tue, 05 Dec 2023NZ$2.0bNZ$804.3m-NZ$53,647,398.0018x-37.4x2.5x
Thu, 02 Nov 2023NZ$1.8bNZ$797.6m-NZ$43,077,466.006.5x-41.6x2.2x
Sat, 30 Sep 2023NZ$1.8bNZ$797.5m-NZ$44,351,466.007.2x-41.2x2.3x
Mon, 28 Aug 2023NZ$1.9bNZ$796.1m-NZ$37,916,466.008.4x-49.1x2.3x
Wed, 26 Jul 2023NZ$1.9bNZ$788.2m-NZ$47,453,466.0010.1x-40.5x2.4x
Fri, 23 Jun 2023NZ$1.8bNZ$788.2m-NZ$47,453,466.0010.5x-37.3x2.2x
Sun, 21 May 2023NZ$1.6bNZ$727.8m-NZ$53,295,090.009.6x-29.7x2.2x
Tue, 18 Apr 2023NZ$1.4bNZ$712.3m-NZ$64,052,090.009x-22x2x
Thu, 16 Mar 2023NZ$3.1bNZ$1.1b-NZ$21,126,019.0024.4x-149x2.8x
Sat, 11 Feb 2023NZ$3.4bNZ$1.1b-NZ$18,949,323.0026.7x-181.3x3.1x
Mon, 09 Jan 2023NZ$3.3bNZ$1.1b-NZ$19,120,019.0026.9x-171.3x3x
Wed, 07 Dec 2022NZ$3.4bNZ$1.1b-NZ$18,907,106.0026.3x-178.8x3.1x
Fri, 04 Nov 2022NZ$3.3bNZ$1.0b-NZ$563,472.0019.2x-5808.9x3.2x
Sun, 02 Oct 2022NZ$3.2bNZ$1.1b-NZ$23,184,824.0017.4x-137.6x3x
Tue, 30 Aug 2022NZ$3.5bNZ$1.0b-NZ$11,933,020.0020.5x-294.7x3.5x
Thu, 28 Jul 2022NZ$3.5bNZ$1.0b-NZ$12,108,781.0019.8x-288.5x3.5x
Sat, 25 Jun 2022NZ$3.4bNZ$1.0b-NZ$12,509,617.0020.8x-275.1x3.4x
Mon, 23 May 2022NZ$3.6bNZ$930.3mNZ$606.1k19.9x5908.9x3.8x
Wed, 20 Apr 2022NZ$3.7bNZ$890.1mNZ$4.6m18.8x798.1x4.2x
Fri, 18 Mar 2022NZ$3.8bNZ$886.9mNZ$3.9m19.5x991.4x4.3x
Sun, 13 Feb 2022NZ$4.2bNZ$873.9mNZ$4.8m19.1x863.1x4.8x
Tue, 11 Jan 2022NZ$4.8bNZ$870.8mNZ$4.2m42x1145.9x5.5x
Thu, 09 Dec 2021NZ$4.7bNZ$870.0mNZ$4.0m39.3x1153.6x5.4x
Sat, 06 Nov 2021NZ$5.3bNZ$801.8m-NZ$36,957,833.0035.8x-143.4x6.6x
Mon, 04 Oct 2021NZ$5.4bNZ$808.0m-NZ$35,887,172.0031.8x-149.3x6.6x
Wed, 01 Sep 2021NZ$5.0bNZ$806.0m-NZ$36,239,528.6036.9x-139.1x6.3x
Thu, 08 Jul 2021NZ$4.9bNZ$806.0m-NZ$36,239,528.6043.5x-134.8x6.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-85.5x


Total Market Cap: NZ$4.7bTotal Earnings: -NZ$55,192,228.60Total Revenue: NZ$799.9mTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
New Zealand Tech Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 65.5x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the New Zealander Information Technology industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 3.8x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 2.9x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Information Technology industry have improved over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues have remained mostly flat.
  • This means that companies overall are more efficiently conducting business since losses are shrinking while sales have been flat.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the New Zealand Tech sector?

NZ Market-0.82%
Tech0.061%
Electronic Equipment and Components2.50%
IT0%
Communications0%
Tech Hardware0%
Semiconductors0%
Software-0.58%
Industry PE
    Forecasted Growth
    • Analysts are most optimistic on the Electronic Equipment and Components industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 78% over the next 5 years.
    • This is better than its past earnings decline of 74% per year.
    • In contrast, the Software industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 42% per year over the next few years.

    Top Stock Gainers and Losers

    Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

    CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
    TWL Trade Window HoldingsNZ$0.1912.7%
    +NZ$2.5m
    -48.1%PS4x
    IKE ikeGPS GroupNZ$0.432.4%
    +NZ$1.6m
    -47.6%PS2.7x
    SDL Solution DynamicsNZ$1.421.4%
    +NZ$294.4k
    -39.3%PE6.1x
    Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

    Latest News

    ERD

    NZ$0.85

    EROAD

    7D

    -5.6%

    1Y

    41.7%

    GTK

    NZ$8.30

    Gentrack Group

    7D

    -0.8%

    1Y

    172.1%

    TWL

    NZ$0.19

    Trade Window Holdings

    7D

    12.7%

    1Y

    -48.1%

    SKO

    NZ$3.40

    Serko

    7D

    -7.6%

    1Y

    65.9%

    SDL

    NZ$1.42

    Solution Dynamics

    7D

    1.4%

    1Y

    -39.3%

    ENS

    NZ$0.37

    Enprise Group

    7D

    -11.9%

    1Y

    -56.0%

    IKE

    NZ$0.43

    ikeGPS Group

    7D

    2.4%

    1Y

    -47.6%

    BPG

    NZ$0.69

    Black Pearl Group

    7D

    -1.4%

    1Y

    130.0%