Header cover image

New Zealand (NZX) Specialty Stores Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 24, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies7
  • 7D-2.3%
  • 3M-9.1%
  • 1Y-11.5%
  • YTD-4.5%

Over the last 7 days, the Specialty Stores industry has dropped 2.7%, driven by KMD Brands declining 14%. However, the industry is down 11% over the past year. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 4.3% per annum.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the New Zealand Specialty Stores Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 24 Feb 2024NZ$2.5bNZ$3.8bNZ$215.5m11.5x11.7x0.7x
Mon, 22 Jan 2024NZ$2.6bNZ$3.8bNZ$220.6m11.9x11.8x0.7x
Wed, 20 Dec 2023NZ$2.7bNZ$3.8bNZ$220.6m11.6x12.2x0.7x
Fri, 17 Nov 2023NZ$2.7bNZ$3.8bNZ$219.2m11.5x12.3x0.7x
Sun, 15 Oct 2023NZ$2.7bNZ$3.8bNZ$216.6m11.8x12.4x0.7x
Tue, 12 Sep 2023NZ$2.6bNZ$3.8bNZ$241.9m10.8x10.6x0.7x
Thu, 10 Aug 2023NZ$2.7bNZ$3.8bNZ$243.1m11.8x11.2x0.7x
Sat, 08 Jul 2023NZ$2.7bNZ$3.8bNZ$243.1m10.5x11x0.7x
Mon, 05 Jun 2023NZ$2.8bNZ$3.8bNZ$243.5m10.4x11.5x0.7x
Wed, 03 May 2023NZ$2.8bNZ$3.8bNZ$242.5m10.7x11.6x0.8x
Fri, 31 Mar 2023NZ$2.8bNZ$3.7bNZ$233.5m11.5x11.8x0.7x
Sun, 26 Feb 2023NZ$2.8bNZ$3.5bNZ$212.1m12.3x13.3x0.8x
Tue, 24 Jan 2023NZ$2.8bNZ$3.6bNZ$216.3m12.1x12.8x0.8x
Thu, 22 Dec 2022NZ$2.8bNZ$3.6bNZ$216.3m11.9x12.8x0.8x
Sat, 19 Nov 2022NZ$2.9bNZ$3.5bNZ$216.9m12.8x13.4x0.8x
Mon, 17 Oct 2022NZ$2.9bNZ$3.5bNZ$216.9m11.9x13.3x0.8x
Wed, 14 Sep 2022NZ$3.0bNZ$3.4bNZ$217.8m12.2x13.7x0.9x
Fri, 12 Aug 2022NZ$3.0bNZ$3.4bNZ$215.8m12.6x13.9x0.9x
Sun, 10 Jul 2022NZ$3.0bNZ$3.4bNZ$215.8m12.2x14x0.9x
Tue, 07 Jun 2022NZ$3.2bNZ$3.5bNZ$223.7m13.3x14.4x0.9x
Thu, 05 May 2022NZ$3.4bNZ$3.4bNZ$222.9m14x15.1x1x
Sat, 02 Apr 2022NZ$3.5bNZ$3.4bNZ$222.9m14.8x15.6x1x
Mon, 28 Feb 2022NZ$3.4bNZ$3.5bNZ$255.5m13.7x13.2x1x
Wed, 26 Jan 2022NZ$3.6bNZ$3.4bNZ$250.2m15x14.3x1.1x
Fri, 24 Dec 2021NZ$3.8bNZ$3.4bNZ$250.2m15.7x15.3x1.1x
Sun, 21 Nov 2021NZ$4.0bNZ$3.4bNZ$250.7m14.6x15.8x1.2x
Tue, 19 Oct 2021NZ$3.9bNZ$3.3bNZ$247.3m14.2x15.9x1.2x
Thu, 16 Sep 2021NZ$3.9bNZ$3.2bNZ$203.1m15.8x19.2x1.2x
Sat, 14 Aug 2021NZ$3.6bNZ$3.3bNZ$179.8m16.4x20.2x1.1x
Wed, 09 Jun 2021NZ$3.7bNZ$3.2bNZ$180.5m15.5x20.3x1.1x
Tue, 02 Mar 2021NZ$3.2bNZ$3.1bNZ$179.7m14.8x18x1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

18x


Total Market Cap: NZ$3.2bTotal Earnings: NZ$179.7mTotal Revenue: NZ$3.1bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
New Zealand Specialty Stores Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 14.4x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the New Zealander Specialty Retail industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 11.5x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 14.4x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.90x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Specialty Retail industry have grown 6.2% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 6.7% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the New Zealand Consumer Discretionary industry?

NZ Market0.049%
Consumer Discretionary-2.53%
Specialty Stores-2.31%
Apparel Retail1.97%
Home Furnishing Retail0.65%
Computer and Electronics Retail0%
Home Improvement Retail0%
Automotive Retail-0.75%
Specialty Stores-13.90%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Home Furnishing Retail industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 14.0x.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings decline of 0.009%, which is less than its past year's earnings decline of 0.6%.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Apparel Retail industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 11.9x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Specialty Stores industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 17% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 3.3% per year.
  • In contrast, the Apparel Retail industry is expected to see its earnings decline by 2.4% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
BGP Briscoe GroupNZ$4.650.6%
+NZ$6.7m
-3.5%PE12.1x
HLG Hallenstein Glasson HoldingsNZ$5.702.0%
+NZ$6.5m
7.3%PE10.6x
TRA Turners Automotive GroupNZ$4.701.1%
+NZ$4.4m
38.6%PE12.2x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

CMO

NZ$8.20

Colonial Motor

7D

-3.5%

1Y

-8.4%

JLG

NZ$0.25

Just Life Group

7D

-7.4%

1Y

-37.5%

TRA

NZ$4.70

Turners Automotive Group

7D

1.1%

1Y

38.6%

BGP

NZ$4.65

Briscoe Group

7D

0.6%

1Y

-3.5%

HLG

NZ$5.70

Hallenstein Glasson Holdings

7D

2.0%

1Y

7.3%