Header cover image

Vietnamese (HOSE) Telecom Sector Analysis

UpdatedDec 06, 2022
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies16
  • 7D12.3%
  • 3M-43.9%
  • 1Y-43.7%
  • YTD-54.0%

In the last week, the Telecom industry is up 12%, with Saigon Telecommunication & Technologies up 27%. During this same period, the Art Design and Communication underperformed, falling 16%. In the past year, the industry is down 44%.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the Vietnamese Telecom Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 06 Dec 2022₫4.0t₫1.1t₫117.8b5.7x34.1x3.7x
Thu, 03 Nov 2022₫3.2t₫1.1t₫111.8b6.1x28.3x2.9x
Sat, 01 Oct 2022₫4.1t₫940.9b₫112.3b6.6x36.7x4.4x
Mon, 29 Aug 2022₫5.3t₫940.9b₫112.3b6.5x47x5.6x
Wed, 27 Jul 2022₫5.1t₫946.8b₫107.0b6x47.2x5.3x
Fri, 24 Jun 2022₫4.8t₫2.1t-₫74,709,592,776.006.1x-64.7x2.3x
Sun, 22 May 2022₫5.6t₫2.1t-₫83,562,925,989.006.4x-66.5x2.7x
Tue, 19 Apr 2022₫6.0t₫3.1t-₫26,600,679,959.007.7x-226.9x1.9x
Thu, 17 Mar 2022₫6.1t₫3.1t-₫26,600,679,959.008.8x-230.1x2x
Sat, 12 Feb 2022₫5.2t₫3.1t-₫43,157,520,109.0010.2x-121.3x1.7x
Mon, 10 Jan 2022₫5.7t₫3.2t-₫68,444,248,680.0010.2x-83.5x1.8x
Wed, 08 Dec 2021₫4.6t₫3.2t-₫68,444,248,680.009x-67.9x1.5x
Fri, 05 Nov 2021₫4.9t₫3.2t-₫68,444,248,680.009.6x-71.9x1.5x
Sun, 03 Oct 2021₫4.5t₫3.4t-₫56,898,180,895.006.7x-79.6x1.3x
Tue, 31 Aug 2021₫3.8t₫3.6t-₫46,246,662,828.008x-82.8x1.1x
Wed, 07 Jul 2021₫3.8t₫3.6t-₫46,246,662,828.006.7x-83x1.1x
Sat, 10 Apr 2021₫4.3t₫3.4t-₫55,080,410,620.007.1x-77.4x1.3x
Fri, 01 Jan 2021₫2.7t₫3.3t-₫59,468,319,030.007.2x-44.8x0.8x
Mon, 05 Oct 2020₫2.4t₫3.4t-₫274,119,334,486.007.2x-8.8x0.7x
Thu, 09 Jul 2020₫2.6t₫3.2t-₫291,575,068,090.007.5x-8.8x0.8x
Wed, 01 Apr 2020₫2.2t₫3.4t-₫280,902,019,991.005.2x-7.7x0.6x
Sat, 04 Jan 2020₫2.0t₫3.7t-₫282,187,681,773.006.1x-7x0.5x
Price to Earnings Ratio

-7x


Total Market Cap: ₫2.0tTotal Earnings: -₫282,187,681,773.00Total Revenue: ₫3.7tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Vietnamese Telecom Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average -42.4x20212022
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Vietnamese Communication Services industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 34.1x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of -42.4x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.7x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 3.7x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • Total earnings for the Communication Services industry have gone up over the last three years and the industry is now profitable.
  • Revenues have declined 33% per year.
  • This means that less sales are being generated overall, but since the cost of doing business is lower, profits have been increasing.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Vietnamese Telecom sector?

VN Market8.45%
Telecom12.27%
Telecom Services and Carriers26.80%
Entertainment13.06%
Media0.94%
Interactive Media and Services0%
Wireless Telecom0%
Industry PE
    • Investors are most pessimistic about the Media industry, although it looks like investor sentiment has improved given that it's trading above its 3-year average of 13.1x.
    Forecasted GrowthThere is insufficient data on the sub-industries of this industry.

    Top Stock Gainers and Losers

    Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

    CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
    SGT Saigon Telecommunication & Technologies₫12.30k25.5%
    +₫370.0b
    -55.6%n/a
    YEG Yeah1 Group₫11.00k20.1%
    +₫57.6b
    -34.5%n/a
    EBS Educational Book JSC in Hanoi City₫9.80k4.3%
    +₫4.0b
    -10.9%PE9.3x
    LBE Long An Book and Educational Equipment JSC₫39.90k8.4%
    +₫3.4b
    69.8%n/a
    Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.