Header cover image

Jamaican (JSE) Insurance Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 24, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies5
  • 7D-0.5%
  • 3M6.0%
  • 1Y-14.4%
  • YTD-6.3%

The Insurance is pretty flat in the last 7 days, but Key Insurance has stood out, gaining 3.5%. Unfortunately though, the industry is down 15% over the past 12 months.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Jamaican Insurance Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sat, 24 Feb 2024JA$178.8bJA$129.4bJA$27.5b14.9x6.5x1.4x
Mon, 22 Jan 2024JA$171.0bJA$125.8bJA$27.7b10.7x6.2x1.4x
Wed, 20 Dec 2023JA$165.3bJA$125.8bJA$27.7b10.7x6x1.3x
Fri, 17 Nov 2023JA$171.0bJA$116.7bJA$19.7b9.1x8.7x1.5x
Sun, 15 Oct 2023JA$176.4bJA$118.7bJA$19.5b9x9.1x1.5x
Tue, 12 Sep 2023JA$181.2bJA$135.4bJA$19.5b8.9x9.3x1.3x
Thu, 10 Aug 2023JA$181.2bJA$120.9bJA$20.1b9x9x1.5x
Sat, 08 Jul 2023JA$193.5bJA$120.9bJA$20.1b9.6x9.6x1.6x
Mon, 05 Jun 2023JA$204.7bJA$120.0bJA$20.1b10.2x10.2x1.7x
Wed, 03 May 2023JA$210.6bJA$111.2bJA$17.1b12.4x12.3x1.9x
Fri, 31 Mar 2023JA$191.0bJA$111.2bJA$17.1b9.1x11.2x1.7x
Sun, 26 Feb 2023JA$208.8bJA$111.4bJA$14.9b10.2x14x1.9x
Tue, 24 Jan 2023JA$196.9bJA$111.4bJA$14.9b10.3x13.2x1.8x
Thu, 22 Dec 2022JA$194.5bJA$111.4bJA$14.9b10.2x13x1.7x
Sat, 19 Nov 2022JA$199.8bJA$111.2bJA$14.9b10.7x13.4x1.8x
Mon, 17 Oct 2022JA$205.2bJA$111.9bJA$19.0b11.5x10.8x1.8x
Wed, 14 Sep 2022JA$206.8bJA$111.7bJA$19.1b11.8x10.8x1.9x
Fri, 12 Aug 2022JA$221.6bJA$113.8bJA$18.9b12x11.7x1.9x
Sun, 10 Jul 2022JA$225.0bJA$113.7bJA$18.9b13.5x11.9x2x
Tue, 07 Jun 2022JA$221.1bJA$113.7bJA$19.1b12.2x11.6x1.9x
Thu, 05 May 2022JA$236.7bJA$105.3bJA$17.2b13.5x13.7x2.2x
Sat, 02 Apr 2022JA$234.4bJA$105.3bJA$17.2b13.1x13.6x2.2x
Mon, 28 Feb 2022JA$232.8bJA$105.3bJA$17.2b13.1x13.5x2.2x
Wed, 26 Jan 2022JA$214.3bJA$105.3bJA$17.2b12.5x12.4x2x
Fri, 24 Dec 2021JA$211.1bJA$105.3bJA$17.2b13.1x12.3x2x
Sun, 21 Nov 2021JA$214.2bJA$105.3bJA$17.2b13.5x12.4x2x
Tue, 19 Oct 2021JA$215.8bJA$101.4bJA$14.7b17.8x14.6x2.1x
Thu, 16 Sep 2021JA$219.8bJA$101.4bJA$14.7b17.6x14.9x2.2x
Sat, 14 Aug 2021JA$235.6bJA$101.4bJA$14.7b18.3x16x2.3x
Wed, 09 Jun 2021JA$215.0bJA$97.1bJA$15.2b18.3x14.1x2.2x
Tue, 02 Mar 2021JA$212.8bJA$91.1bJA$13.8b15.5x15.4x2.3x
Price to Earnings Ratio

15.4x


Total Market Cap: JA$212.8bTotal Earnings: JA$13.8bTotal Revenue: JA$91.1bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Jamaican Insurance Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 12.1x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Jamaican Insurance industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 6.4x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 12.1x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 1.9x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.4x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Insurance industry have grown 26% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 12% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Jamaican Financials industry?

JM Market0.35%
Financials0.054%
Insurance-0.46%
General Insurance0%
Reinsurance0%
Property and Casualty Insurance-0.41%
Life and Health Insurance-0.45%
Insurance Brokers-2.08%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Insurance Brokers industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 11.3x.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Life and Health Insurance industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 12.0x.
Forecasted GrowthThere is insufficient data on the sub-industries of this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
KEY Key InsuranceJA$2.393.5%
+JA$44.7m
-25.3%PE19.9x
GENAC General Accident Insurance Company JamaicaJA$5.400.2%
+JA$10.3m
8.2%PE14.9x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

ROC

JA$2.11

IronRock Insurance

7D

-15.9%

1Y

-8.3%

KEY

JA$2.39

Key Insurance

7D

3.5%

1Y

-25.3%

CABROKERS

JA$2.35

Caribbean Assurance Brokers

7D

-2.1%

1Y

13.0%

SJ

JA$43.80

Sagicor Group Jamaica

7D

-0.5%

1Y

-15.0%