Header cover image

Jamaican (JSE) Food Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 21, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies10
  • 7D-1.0%
  • 3M7.1%
  • 1Y11.1%
  • YTD1.3%

Last week, the Food industry hasn't moved much but Salada Foods Jamaica is up 21% in that time. As for the the longer term, the industry is up 15% over the past 12 months.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Jamaican Food Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Wed, 21 Feb 2024JA$158.2bJA$244.7bJA$25.3b15.9x6.3x0.6x
Fri, 19 Jan 2024JA$162.6bJA$240.0bJA$24.1b20x6.7x0.7x
Sun, 17 Dec 2023JA$151.0bJA$239.8bJA$24.2b18.5x6.3x0.6x
Tue, 14 Nov 2023JA$145.9bJA$243.5bJA$25.6b13.8x5.7x0.6x
Thu, 12 Oct 2023JA$142.5bJA$243.1bJA$25.5b15.6x5.6x0.6x
Sat, 09 Sep 2023JA$140.6bJA$242.7bJA$25.3b14.5x5.6x0.6x
Mon, 07 Aug 2023JA$143.1bJA$238.7bJA$14.3b14.4x10x0.6x
Wed, 05 Jul 2023JA$151.9bJA$237.2bJA$14.2b16.2x10.7x0.6x
Fri, 02 Jun 2023JA$149.7bJA$237.0bJA$14.2b16.4x10.6x0.6x
Sun, 30 Apr 2023JA$149.2bJA$220.4bJA$13.5b17.7x11.1x0.7x
Tue, 28 Mar 2023JA$138.5bJA$216.7bJA$13.2b15x10.5x0.6x
Thu, 23 Feb 2023JA$142.5bJA$216.5bJA$13.2b16x10.8x0.7x
Sat, 21 Jan 2023JA$139.9bJA$200.2bJA$12.9b18.7x10.9x0.7x
Mon, 19 Dec 2022JA$146.2bJA$200.0bJA$12.8b19x11.4x0.7x
Wed, 16 Nov 2022JA$137.0bJA$180.9bJA$10.9b18.1x12.5x0.8x
Fri, 14 Oct 2022JA$141.0bJA$180.9bJA$10.9b20.9x12.9x0.8x
Sun, 11 Sep 2022JA$144.3bJA$173.9bJA$10.1b20.4x14.3x0.8x
Tue, 09 Aug 2022JA$146.9bJA$167.6bJA$9.9b20.2x14.9x0.9x
Thu, 07 Jul 2022JA$148.2bJA$162.4bJA$9.4b21.9x15.7x0.9x
Sat, 04 Jun 2022JA$154.0bJA$155.2bJA$8.8b20.7x17.4x1x
Mon, 02 May 2022JA$150.9bJA$148.9bJA$8.1b20.9x18.7x1x
Wed, 30 Mar 2022JA$150.2bJA$148.3bJA$7.9b20.7x19x1x
Fri, 25 Feb 2022JA$144.7bJA$148.3bJA$8.0b21.2x18.2x1x
Sun, 23 Jan 2022JA$140.7bJA$147.6bJA$7.9b21.5x17.8x1x
Tue, 21 Dec 2021JA$141.7bJA$147.5bJA$7.9b21.2x17.9x1x
Thu, 18 Nov 2021JA$143.6bJA$138.1bJA$8.1b21.8x17.8x1x
Sat, 16 Oct 2021JA$141.6bJA$135.7bJA$10.1b17.8x14.1x1x
Mon, 13 Sep 2021JA$144.7bJA$135.7bJA$10.1b17.6x14.4x1.1x
Wed, 11 Aug 2021JA$156.9bJA$135.7bJA$10.1b16.6x15.6x1.2x
Sun, 06 Jun 2021JA$161.5bJA$132.6bJA$9.7b17.5x16.7x1.2x
Wed, 10 Mar 2021JA$137.3bJA$131.0bJA$9.0b17.8x15.2x1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

15.2x


Total Market Cap: JA$137.3bTotal Earnings: JA$9.0bTotal Revenue: JA$131.0bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Jamaican Food Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 13x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Jamaican Food industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 6.3x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 13.0x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.85x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Food industry have grown 41% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 23% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Jamaican Consumer Staples industry?

JM Market1.17%
Consumer Staples-1.09%
Food-1.05%
Packaged Foods and Meats0.42%
Agricultural Products-8.76%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Packaged Foods and Meats industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 14.4x.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Agricultural Products industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 10.3x.
Forecasted GrowthThere is insufficient data on the sub-industries of this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
SALF Salada Foods JamaicaJA$3.7620.5%
+JA$664.9m
4.4%PE21.3x
LASM Lasco ManufacturingJA$5.091.8%
+JA$372.0m
25.1%PE8.7x
SPURTREE Spur Tree Spices JamaicaJA$2.403.4%
+JA$134.2m
-13.0%PE48x
CFF Caribbean Flavours and FragrancesJA$1.706.3%
+JA$89.9m
4.9%PE16.1x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

SEP

JA$82.50

Seprod

7D

-0.6%

1Y

25.0%

SALF

JA$3.76

Salada Foods Jamaica

7D

20.5%

1Y

4.4%

HONBUN

JA$6.45

Honey Bun (1982)

7D

-3.6%

1Y

-13.2%

SPURTREE

JA$2.40

Spur Tree Spices Jamaica

7D

3.4%

1Y

-13.0%

JAMT

JA$2.50

Jamaican Teas

7D

-3.1%

1Y

0%

LASM

JA$5.09

Lasco Manufacturing

7D

1.8%

1Y

25.1%

JP

JA$22.08

Jamaica Producers Group

7D

-8.8%

1Y

1.1%

CFF

JA$1.70

Caribbean Flavours and Fragrances

7D

6.3%

1Y

4.9%

KREMI

JA$3.77

Caribbean Cream

7D

-3.1%

1Y

7.7%