Header cover image

Jamaican (JSE) Capital Markets Industry Analysis

UpdatedApr 13, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies9
  • 7D3.2%
  • 3M4.2%
  • 1Y-9.7%
  • YTD1.8%

Over the last 7 days, the Capital Markets industry has risen 1.4%, driven by gains from Barita Investments of 5.3%. In the past year, the industry is down 12%.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Jamaican Capital Markets Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 14 Apr 2024JA$166.4bJA$49.0bJA$28.0b14.4x5.9x3.4x
Tue, 12 Mar 2024JA$145.7bJA$27.2bJA$26.5b14.8x5.5x5.4x
Thu, 08 Feb 2024JA$140.3bJA$28.3bJA$16.0b15.2x8.8x4.9x
Sat, 06 Jan 2024JA$148.1bJA$28.4bJA$16.0b19.3x9.2x5.2x
Mon, 04 Dec 2023JA$145.1bJA$28.4bJA$16.0b18.9x9.1x5.1x
Wed, 01 Nov 2023JA$148.7bJA$29.2bJA$14.9b11.9x10x5.1x
Fri, 29 Sep 2023JA$157.7bJA$29.2bJA$14.9b12.6x10.6x5.4x
Sun, 27 Aug 2023JA$156.4bJA$29.2bJA$14.9b12.2x10.5x5.4x
Tue, 25 Jul 2023JA$158.2bJA$30.4bJA$11.1b19.6x14.2x5.2x
Thu, 22 Jun 2023JA$172.4bJA$35.4bJA$16.4b18.7x10.5x4.9x
Sat, 20 May 2023JA$179.3bJA$35.0bJA$16.3b21.8x11x5.1x
Mon, 17 Apr 2023JA$181.3bJA$36.0bJA$17.5b18.8x10.4x5x
Wed, 15 Mar 2023JA$185.0bJA$39.1bJA$20.3b15.4x9.1x4.7x
Fri, 10 Feb 2023JA$194.3bJA$38.0bJA$20.3b15.5x9.6x5.1x
Sun, 08 Jan 2023JA$216.3bJA$39.2bJA$21.2b17x10.2x5.5x
Tue, 06 Dec 2022JA$205.7bJA$39.1bJA$21.2b12.9x9.7x5.3x
Thu, 03 Nov 2022JA$220.7bJA$40.4bJA$23.3b11.9x9.5x5.5x
Sat, 01 Oct 2022JA$236.3bJA$42.0bJA$24.9b8.6x9.5x5.6x
Mon, 29 Aug 2022JA$220.1bJA$42.0bJA$24.8b8.6x8.9x5.2x
Wed, 27 Jul 2022JA$231.8bJA$42.3bJA$25.1b8x9.2x5.5x
Fri, 24 Jun 2022JA$227.0bJA$38.3bJA$21.5b8x10.6x5.9x
Sun, 22 May 2022JA$237.0bJA$38.0bJA$19.9b10.8x11.9x6.2x
Tue, 19 Apr 2022JA$239.9bJA$38.1bJA$20.0b10.4x12x6.3x
Thu, 17 Mar 2022JA$213.8bJA$36.7bJA$18.5b14.2x11.6x5.8x
Sat, 12 Feb 2022JA$221.3bJA$34.1bJA$16.9b12.3x13.1x6.5x
Mon, 10 Jan 2022JA$222.3bJA$34.1bJA$16.9b13x13.2x6.5x
Wed, 08 Dec 2021JA$212.8bJA$33.4bJA$17.3b12.9x12.3x6.4x
Fri, 05 Nov 2021JA$216.9bJA$33.0bJA$15.7b12.3x13.8x6.6x
Sun, 03 Oct 2021JA$228.8bJA$32.7bJA$15.6b11.6x14.7x7x
Tue, 31 Aug 2021JA$206.2bJA$33.5bJA$16.2b11.6x12.8x6.2x
Wed, 07 Jul 2021JA$194.6bJA$33.5bJA$16.2b10.9x12x5.8x
Price to Earnings Ratio

13.7x


Total Market Cap: JA$187.2bTotal Earnings: JA$13.7bTotal Revenue: JA$29.8bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Jamaican Capital Markets Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 10.9x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Jamaican Capital Markets industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 5.9x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 10.9x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 5.6x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 3.4x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Capital Markets industry have grown 27% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 18% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Jamaican Financials industry?

JM Market0.88%
Financials1.08%
Capital Markets3.19%
Investment Banking and Brokerage4.49%
Diversified Capital Markets0%
Asset Management-0.17%
Financial Exchanges and Data-2.80%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Financial Exchanges and Data industry even though it's trading below its 3-year average PE ratio of 22.5x.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Investment Banking and Brokerage industry, which is trading below its 3-year average of 11.8x.
Forecasted GrowthThere is insufficient data on the sub-industries of this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
BIL Barita InvestmentsJA$73.004.3%
+JA$3.6b
-7.7%PE31x
JSE Jamaica Stock ExchangeJA$11.5811.9%
+JA$862.5m
-14.2%PE19.5x
JMMBGL JMMB GroupJA$25.451.0%
+JA$488.9m
-16.0%PE2.2x
MFS MFS Capital PartnersJA$1.8722.2%
+JA$136.0m
-46.3%PE-50.8x
PJX Portland JSXJA$10.700.9%
+JA$31.0m
-6.8%PB1x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

JSE

JA$11.58

Jamaica Stock Exchange

7D

11.9%

1Y

-14.2%

SIL

JA$2.40

Sterling Investments

7D

2.1%

1Y

-17.2%

JMMBGL

JA$25.45

JMMB Group

7D

1.0%

1Y

-16.0%

BIL

JA$73.00

Barita Investments

7D

4.3%

1Y

-7.7%

PROVENJA

JA$22.10

PROVEN Group

7D

-1.6%

1Y

-10.2%

MFS

JA$1.87

MFS Capital Partners

7D

22.2%

1Y

-46.3%

PJX

JA$10.70

Portland JSX

7D

0.9%

1Y

-6.8%

MJE

JA$10.85

Mayberry Jamaican Equities

7D

-0.09%

1Y

-4.8%