Header cover image

Jamaican (JSE) Food Distributors Industry Analysis

UpdatedFeb 05, 2023
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies4
  • 7D0.3%
  • 3M-8.9%
  • 1Y-25.7%
  • YTD-3.4%

Over the last 7 days, the Food Distributors industry has remained flat, although notably Caribbean Producers (Jamaica) gained 7.4%. As for the longer term, the industry has declined 25% in the last year.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Jamaican Food Distributors Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 05 Feb 2023JA$101.6bJA$187.7bJA$10.0b10.5x10.1x0.5x
Tue, 03 Jan 2023JA$105.9bJA$187.3bJA$10.0b11.1x10.6x0.6x
Thu, 01 Dec 2022JA$106.1bJA$187.6bJA$10.0b11.2x10.6x0.6x
Sat, 29 Oct 2022JA$114.3bJA$182.9bJA$10.5b11.7x10.9x0.6x
Mon, 26 Sep 2022JA$117.6bJA$180.9bJA$10.6b11.8x11.1x0.7x
Wed, 24 Aug 2022JA$120.7bJA$180.5bJA$10.6b11.3x11.4x0.7x
Fri, 22 Jul 2022JA$127.2bJA$175.7bJA$10.5b12x12.1x0.7x
Sun, 19 Jun 2022JA$132.2bJA$175.1bJA$10.4b12.5x12.7x0.8x
Tue, 17 May 2022JA$139.4bJA$164.4bJA$9.2b13x15.1x0.8x
Thu, 14 Apr 2022JA$136.2bJA$164.4bJA$9.2b12.9x14.7x0.8x
Sat, 12 Mar 2022JA$131.3bJA$159.4bJA$8.5b13.9x15.5x0.8x
Mon, 07 Feb 2022JA$136.4bJA$159.6bJA$8.5b14.4x16.1x0.9x
Wed, 05 Jan 2022JA$125.9bJA$159.0bJA$8.5b13.3x14.8x0.8x
Fri, 03 Dec 2021JA$120.3bJA$159.0bJA$8.5b13x14.1x0.8x
Sun, 31 Oct 2021JA$122.0bJA$153.6bJA$7.5b14.2x16.2x0.8x
Tue, 28 Sep 2021JA$117.0bJA$151.0bJA$6.7b13.6x17.4x0.8x
Thu, 26 Aug 2021JA$119.8bJA$150.9bJA$6.8b14.2x17.7x0.8x
Fri, 02 Jul 2021JA$115.6bJA$150.9bJA$6.8b14.2x17.1x0.8x
Mon, 05 Apr 2021JA$106.6bJA$145.2bJA$6.2b14.6x17.3x0.7x
Thu, 07 Jan 2021JA$79.1bJA$144.9bJA$5.9b11.5x13.4x0.5x
Wed, 30 Sep 2020JA$71.4bJA$144.2bJA$5.5b11.6x13x0.5x
Sat, 04 Jul 2020JA$70.8bJA$142.4bJA$5.4b11.9x13.2x0.5x
Tue, 07 Apr 2020JA$71.5bJA$142.9bJA$5.5b13.1x13x0.5x
Price to Earnings Ratio

16.5x


Total Market Cap: JA$82.8bTotal Earnings: JA$5.0bTotal Revenue: JA$139.5bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Jamaican Food Distributors Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 14.2x202120222023
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are pessimistic on the Jamaican Food Distributors industry, indicating that they anticipate long term growth rates will be lower than they have historically.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 10.1x which is lower than its 3-year average PE of 14.2x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 0.66x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Food Distributors industry have grown 26% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 10% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Comparison

How does Jamaican Food Distributors compare with similar industries?

JM Market-0.12%
Consumer Staples-0.30%
Food and Staples Retail0.21%
Food Distributors0.28%
Food Retail1.48%
Big Box Super Stores0%
Drug Retail-1.64%
Industry PEThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.
Forecasted GrowthThere are no additional sub-industries under this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
CPJ Caribbean Producers (Jamaica)JA$11.533.4%
+JA$418.0m
-35.4%PE11x
EFRESH Everything FreshJA$1.464.3%
+JA$46.8m
-2.0%PE36.2x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

EFRESH

JA$1.46

Everything Fresh

7D

4.3%

1Y

-2.0%

CPJ

JA$11.53

Caribbean Producers (Jamaica)

7D

3.4%

1Y

-35.4%

GK

JA$78.80

GraceKennedy

7D

-0.3%

1Y

-23.9%