Header cover image

Egyptian (OMX) Food Industry Analysis

UpdatedMar 01, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies26
  • 7D-5.7%
  • 3M21.2%
  • 1Y107.3%
  • YTD15.6%

Over the last 7 days, the Food industry has dropped 6.2%, driven by Delta Sugar declining 28%. In contrast, Edita Food Industries Company (S.A.E) has gained 5.9%. This takes the industry's 12 month performance to a gain of 106%. Earnings are forecast to grow by 15% annually.

Industry Valuation and Performance

Has the Egyptian Food Industry valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Fri, 01 Mar 2024ج.م87.6bج.م75.0bج.م6.3b11.6x13.8x1.2x
Sun, 28 Jan 2024ج.م81.3bج.م72.1bج.م5.8b12x14x1.1x
Tue, 26 Dec 2023ج.م73.2bج.م69.0bج.م5.4b9.4x13.4x1.1x
Thu, 23 Nov 2023ج.م70.3bج.م67.2bج.م5.8b9.3x12x1x
Sat, 21 Oct 2023ج.م58.0bج.م63.9bج.م5.4b7.9x10.7x0.9x
Mon, 18 Sep 2023ج.م54.0bج.م65.2bج.م5.6b7.9x9.7x0.8x
Wed, 16 Aug 2023ج.م50.7bج.م57.1bج.م4.7b8.5x10.7x0.9x
Fri, 14 Jul 2023ج.م47.9bج.م54.4bج.م4.4b9.3x10.8x0.9x
Sun, 11 Jun 2023ج.م47.7bج.م637.9bج.م39.6b10.4x1.2x0.07x
Tue, 09 May 2023ج.م46.8bج.م50.3bج.م3.6b11.2x13x0.9x
Thu, 06 Apr 2023ج.م41.0bج.م50.3bج.م3.6b9.5x11.4x0.8x
Sat, 04 Mar 2023ج.م42.0bج.م49.6bج.م3.1b11.5x13.5x0.8x
Mon, 30 Jan 2023ج.م40.2bج.م47.1bج.م3.0b11.4x13.6x0.9x
Wed, 28 Dec 2022ج.م35.9bج.م47.0bج.م3.0b10.9x12.2x0.8x
Fri, 25 Nov 2022ج.م31.3bج.م46.6bج.م3.0b9.6x10.5x0.7x
Sun, 23 Oct 2022ج.م27.9bج.م45.5bج.م2.8b9x9.9x0.6x
Tue, 20 Sep 2022ج.م28.0bج.م45.0bج.م2.8b8.9x10x0.6x
Thu, 18 Aug 2022ج.م28.0bج.م42.6bج.م2.3b11.7x12x0.7x
Sat, 16 Jul 2022ج.م24.4bج.م42.0bج.م2.3b9.5x10.8x0.6x
Mon, 13 Jun 2022ج.م25.6bج.م41.5bج.م2.3b9.5x11.4x0.6x
Wed, 11 May 2022ج.م25.5bج.م39.3bج.م2.1b12.1x12.3x0.6x
Fri, 08 Apr 2022ج.م25.3bج.م39.0bج.م2.0b11.5x12.3x0.6x
Sun, 06 Mar 2022ج.م23.9bج.م38.0bج.م2.1b10.5x11.5x0.6x
Tue, 01 Feb 2022ج.م26.1bج.م37.5bج.م2.0b11.2x12.8x0.7x
Thu, 30 Dec 2021ج.م26.7bج.م36.6bج.م1.9b11.3x13.8x0.7x
Sat, 27 Nov 2021ج.م25.7bج.م36.2bج.م1.9b12.1x13.4x0.7x
Mon, 25 Oct 2021ج.م26.3bج.م34.8bج.م1.8b4.9x14.9x0.8x
Wed, 22 Sep 2021ج.م27.3bج.م34.7bج.م1.8b12.5x15x0.8x
Fri, 20 Aug 2021ج.م30.1bج.م34.4bج.م1.8b12.9x16.7x0.9x
Fri, 04 Jun 2021ج.م25.2bج.م33.8bج.م1.7b10.4x15x0.7x
Mon, 08 Mar 2021ج.م28.4bج.م34.0bج.م1.6b12.4x18.1x0.8x
Price to Earnings Ratio

18.1x


Total Market Cap: ج.م28.4bTotal Earnings: ج.م1.6bTotal Revenue: ج.م34.0bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Egyptian Food Industry Price to Earnings3Y Average 12.6x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Egyptian Food industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 14.9x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 12.6x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 0.78x is lower than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.2x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Food industry have grown 56% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 29% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Egyptian Consumer Staples industry?

EG Market-4.91%
Consumer Staples-0.70%
Food-5.71%
Packaged Foods and Meats-5.36%
Agricultural Products-9.74%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Agricultural Products industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Packaged Foods and Meats industry, although it looks like investor sentiment has improved given that it's trading above its 3-year average of 12.1x.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Packaged Foods and Meats industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 15% over the next 5 years.
  • However this is lower than its past earnings growth rate of 53% per year.
  • In contrast, the Packaged Foods and Meats industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 15% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
EFID Edita Food Industries Company (S.A.E)ج.م38.005.9%
+ج.م1.5b
137.6%PE17.6x
AFMC Alexandria Flour Millsج.م36.3526.7%
+ج.م251.6m
150.7%PE27.4x
OLFI Obour Land for Food IndustriesEج.م13.822.1%
+ج.م112.0m
33.5%PE14.3x
SCFM South Cairo and Giza Flour Mills and Bakeriesج.م39.8116.9%
+ج.م34.6m
95.1%PE4.1x
MILS North Cairo Flour Millsج.م42.882.4%
+ج.م10.7m
39.3%PE9.8x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

SUGR

ج.م62.25

Delta Sugar

7D

-27.6%

1Y

139.4%

SCFM

ج.م39.81

South Cairo and Giza Flour Mills and Bakeries

7D

16.9%

1Y

95.1%

EFID

ج.م38.00

Edita Food Industries Company (S.A.E)

7D

5.9%

1Y

137.6%

OLFI

ج.م13.82

Obour Land for Food IndustriesE

7D

2.1%

1Y

33.5%

MILS

ج.م42.88

North Cairo Flour Mills

7D

2.4%

1Y

39.3%

POUL

ج.م10.36

Cairo Poultry CompanyE

7D

-9.2%

1Y

185.4%

AFMC

ج.م36.35

Alexandria Flour Mills

7D

26.7%

1Y

150.7%

JUFO

ج.م20.00

Juhayna Food IndustriesE

7D

-7.6%

1Y

90.5%

ADPC

ج.م2.32

Arab Dairy Products

7D

-13.1%

1Y

28.2%

IFAP

ج.م16.00

International Company for Agricultural Crops

7D

-7.0%

1Y

232.2%

DOMT

ج.م16.40

Arabian Food Industries Company (DOMTY) -E

7D

-5.5%

1Y

184.7%

ISMA

ج.م11.16

Ismailia / Misr Poultry CompanyE

7D

-15.6%

1Y

74.1%