Header cover image

Bangladeshi (DSE) Utilities Sector Analysis

UpdatedNov 27, 2022
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies10
  • 7D0%
  • 3M-2.9%
  • 1Y-7.8%
  • YTD-9.7%

The Utilities industry has stayed flat over the last week. Unfortunately though, the industry is down 9.1% over the past 12 months.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the Bangladeshi Utilities Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Sun, 27 Nov 2022৳269.6b৳240.4b৳16.6b22.3x16.2x1.1x
Tue, 25 Oct 2022৳269.3b৳204.5b৳24.4b8.9x11x1.3x
Thu, 22 Sep 2022৳280.8b৳193.8b৳24.5b11.2x11.5x1.4x
Sat, 20 Aug 2022৳271.5b৳193.8b৳24.5b9.1x11.1x1.4x
Mon, 18 Jul 2022৳290.9b৳193.8b৳24.5b9.8x11.9x1.5x
Wed, 15 Jun 2022৳289.8b৳193.8b৳24.5b9.8x11.8x1.5x
Fri, 13 May 2022৳299.9b৳187.5b৳25.0b10.6x12x1.6x
Sun, 10 Apr 2022৳296.0b৳182.7b৳25.0b11.4x11.8x1.6x
Tue, 08 Mar 2022৳289.3b৳182.7b৳25.0b11.2x11.6x1.6x
Thu, 03 Feb 2022৳311.7b৳173.9b৳24.0b12.6x13x1.8x
Sat, 01 Jan 2022৳292.9b৳172.4b৳24.4b11.2x12x1.7x
Mon, 29 Nov 2021৳296.6b৳132.3b৳13.5b12.8x22x2.2x
Wed, 27 Oct 2021৳340.4b৳130.2b৳13.3b16.2x25.7x2.6x
Fri, 24 Sep 2021৳349.3b৳140.7b৳20.2b16.2x17.3x2.5x
Sun, 22 Aug 2021৳338.7b৳140.7b৳20.2b15.4x16.8x2.4x
Fri, 09 Jul 2021৳298.4b৳135.3b৳19.7b12.1x15.1x2.2x
Thu, 01 Apr 2021৳290.6b৳135.3b৳19.7b12.8x14.7x2.1x
Sun, 03 Jan 2021৳284.1b৳127.9b৳19.0b11.7x15x2.2x
Wed, 07 Oct 2020৳300.6b৳123.1b৳18.8b13.1x16x2.4x
Tue, 30 Jun 2020৳241.6b৳117.3b৳19.3b10.9x12.5x2.1x
Fri, 03 Apr 2020৳240.2b৳119.8b৳20.4b14.9x11.8x2x
Mon, 06 Jan 2020৳247.9b৳119.1b৳21.7b12x11.4x2.1x
Price to Earnings Ratio

12.9x


Total Market Cap: ৳264.5bTotal Earnings: ৳20.5bTotal Revenue: ৳121.1bTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Bangladeshi Utilities Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 14.2x202020212022
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Bangladeshi Utilities industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 16.2x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 14.2x.
  • The 3-year average PS ratio of 2.0x is higher than the industry's current PS ratio of 1.1x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Utilities industry have declined 6.8% per year over the last three years.
  • Meanwhile revenues for these companies have grown 26% per year.
  • This means that although more sales are being generated, either the cost of doing business or the level of investment back into businesses has increased, which has decreased profits.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Bangladeshi Utilities sector?

BD Market-0.047%
Utilities0%
Electric Utilities0%
Gas Utilities0%
Other Utilities0%
Water Utilities0%
Renewable Energy0%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Electric Utilities industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio of 12.4x.
    • It looks like they are confident that earnings will grow faster in the future than they have historically.
  • Investors are most pessimistic about the Renewable Energy industry, which is trading close to its 3-year average of 14.8x.
Forecasted GrowthThere is insufficient data on the sub-industries of this industry.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
No data available
Simply Wall St
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd
17-21 Bellevue Street, Surry Hills, Sydney
Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News