Header cover image

Mexican (IPC) Materials Sector Analysis

UpdatedFeb 27, 2024
DataAggregated Company Financials
Companies15
  • 7D-0.5%
  • 3M7.2%
  • 1Y5.6%
  • YTD-6.0%

Last week, the Materials industry hasn't moved much but CEMEX. de is up 3.3% in that time. As for the the longer term, the industry is up 7.4% over the past 12 months. As for the next few years, earnings are expected to grow by 16% per annum.

Sector Valuation and Performance

Has the Mexican Materials Sector valuation changed over the past few years?

DateMarket CapRevenueEarningsPEAbsolute PEPS
Tue, 27 Feb 2024Mex$1.3tMex$1.1tMex$70.2b12.2x18.2x1.2x
Thu, 25 Jan 2024Mex$1.3tMex$1.1tMex$89.6b16.1x14.2x1.1x
Sat, 23 Dec 2023Mex$1.4tMex$1.1tMex$88.4b17.5x15.6x1.2x
Mon, 20 Nov 2023Mex$1.2tMex$1.1tMex$89.5b15.2x13.6x1.1x
Wed, 18 Oct 2023Mex$1.2tMex$1.2tMex$94.6b14.7x12.6x1x
Fri, 15 Sep 2023Mex$1.2tMex$1.1tMex$90.6b17x13.7x1.1x
Sun, 13 Aug 2023Mex$1.3tMex$1.2tMex$95.6b16.5x13.5x1.1x
Tue, 11 Jul 2023Mex$1.3tMex$1.2tMex$100.9b14x12.4x1.1x
Thu, 08 Jun 2023Mex$1.3tMex$1.2tMex$103.0b14.1x12.5x1.1x
Sat, 06 May 2023Mex$1.3tMex$1.2tMex$106.8b13.5x12.3x1.1x
Mon, 03 Apr 2023Mex$1.3tMex$1.2tMex$112.8b11.3x11.3x1.1x
Wed, 01 Mar 2023Mex$1.2tMex$1.2tMex$116.2b10.7x10.5x1x
Fri, 27 Jan 2023Mex$1.3tMex$1.3tMex$124.6b10.2x10.4x1x
Sun, 25 Dec 2022Mex$1.2tMex$1.3tMex$128.0b9.2x9.1x0.9x
Tue, 22 Nov 2022Mex$1.2tMex$1.3tMex$128.5b9.4x9.3x0.9x
Thu, 20 Oct 2022Mex$1.0tMex$1.3tMex$130.3b7.5x7.9x0.8x
Sat, 17 Sep 2022Mex$1.2tMex$1.3tMex$129.3b8.3x9x0.9x
Mon, 15 Aug 2022Mex$1.2tMex$1.3tMex$128.5b8.5x9.7x1x
Wed, 13 Jul 2022Mex$1.2tMex$1.3tMex$137.4b9.1x8.9x0.9x
Fri, 10 Jun 2022Mex$1.3tMex$1.3tMex$131.2b9.9x10.2x1.1x
Sun, 08 May 2022Mex$1.4tMex$1.3tMex$129.6b8.5x10.5x1.1x
Tue, 05 Apr 2022Mex$1.6tMex$1.2tMex$129.9b11.2x12.3x1.3x
Thu, 03 Mar 2022Mex$1.5tMex$1.3tMex$149.7b8.9x10.2x1.2x
Sat, 29 Jan 2022Mex$1.3tMex$1.3tMex$150.7b7.7x8.9x1.1x
Mon, 27 Dec 2021Mex$1.4tMex$1.2tMex$149.2b8x9.3x1.1x
Wed, 24 Nov 2021Mex$1.4tMex$1.3tMex$152.8b7.7x9x1.1x
Fri, 22 Oct 2021Mex$1.5tMex$1.2tMex$116.9b11x12.5x1.2x
Sun, 19 Sep 2021Mex$1.4tMex$1.2tMex$115.6b11x11.9x1.2x
Tue, 17 Aug 2021Mex$1.5tMex$1.2tMex$115.2b10.7x12.7x1.2x
Tue, 01 Jun 2021Mex$1.5tMex$1.1tMex$86.4b12.9x17.6x1.4x
Fri, 05 Mar 2021Mex$1.5tMex$1.0tMex$29.2b15.6x50x1.4x
Price to Earnings Ratio

50x


Total Market Cap: Mex$1.5tTotal Earnings: Mex$29.2bTotal Revenue: Mex$1.0tTotal Market Cap vs Earnings and Revenue0%0%0%
Mexican Materials Sector Price to Earnings3Y Average 12.9x202220232024
Current Industry PE
  • Investors are optimistic on the Mexican Materials industry, and appear confident in long term growth rates.
  • The industry is trading at a PE ratio of 18.5x which is higher than its 3-year average PE of 12.9x.
  • The industry is trading close to its 3-year average PS ratio of 1.1x.
Past Earnings Growth
  • The earnings for companies in the Materials industry have grown 34% per year over the last three years.
  • Revenues for these companies have grown 2.9% per year.
  • This means that more sales are being generated by these companies overall, and subsequently their profits are increasing too.

Industry Trends

Which industries have driven the changes within the Mexican Materials sector?

MX Market-0.95%
Materials-0.51%
Basic Materials1.98%
Paper and Forestry Products0%
Chemicals-0.97%
Metals and Mining-1.38%
Packaging-2.17%
Industry PE
  • Investors are most optimistic about the Basic Materials industry which is trading above its 3-year average PE ratio.
    • Analysts are expecting annual earnings growth of 24.6%, which is lower than the prior year's growth of 32.8% per year.
Forecasted Growth
  • Analysts are most optimistic on the Chemicals industry, expecting annual earnings growth of 77% over the next 5 years.
  • This is better than its past earnings decline of 9.4% per year.
  • In contrast, the Metals and Mining industry is expected to see its earnings grow by 3.1% per year over the next few years.

Top Stock Gainers and Losers

Which companies have driven the market over the last 7 days?

CompanyLast Price7D1YValuation
CEMEX CPO CEMEX. deMex$13.893.3%
+Mex$6.5b
51.6%PE64.7x
MFRISCO A-1 Minera Frisco. deMex$3.404.3%
+Mex$846.4m
25.9%PE159.7x
ORBIA * Orbia Advance Corporation. deMex$33.00-0.6%
Mex$815.0m
-13.6%PE56.6x
ICH B Industrias CH S. A. B. de C. VMex$189.720.3%
+Mex$212.5m
-15.7%PE23.5x
CYDSASA A Cydsa. deMex$18.990.8%
+Mex$79.2m
10.7%PE5x
Simply Wall Street Pty Ltd (ACN 600 056 611), is a Corporate Authorised Representative (Authorised Representative Number: 467183) of Sanlam Private Wealth Pty Ltd (AFSL No. 337927). Any advice contained in this website is general advice only and has been prepared without considering your objectives, financial situation or needs. You should not rely on any advice and/or information contained in this website and before making any investment decision we recommend that you consider whether it is appropriate for your situation and seek appropriate financial, taxation and legal advice. Please read our Financial Services Guide before deciding whether to obtain financial services from us.

Latest News

AUTLAN B

Mex$10.25

Compañía Minera Autlán. de

7D

0.3%

1Y

-33.9%

ORBIA *

Mex$33.00

Orbia Advance Corporation. de

7D

-0.6%

1Y

-13.6%

ALPEK A

Mex$10.57

ALPEK. de

7D

-2.8%

1Y

-52.8%

CYDSASA A

Mex$18.99

Cydsa. de

7D

0.8%

1Y

10.7%